13
Apr
09

I am starting to see a pattern here!

Caped MaxRUNNING = EATING. 

That is the pattern.  Since my 35 miler, I have not been doing well on weight watchers.  That would be two weeks of not doing good on weight watchers.  This is a dang pattern.  The more I run the worse I eat.  I truly don’t believe that my body “NEEDS” a lot of extra food and especially bad food, but I think it is me telling myself, “Oh I can have this because I bet the running will make up for it”.  I hate this pattern.  I am scared of this pattern.  It is true, the last two weeks have been very big running weeks for me but that does not mean it is time to just eat whatever.  I still think that I might be ok at my Tuesday night weigh-in but I am not sure nor am I confident about it.

Nights and weekends

I have really had to make a conscious effort to count my points at night and on weekends lately.  Sometimes I do ok and other times I don’t count at all and just end up “estimating”.  I don’t like this at all.  I don’t like feeling a little out of control with the food.

Groceries and Organization

One of the biggest reasons for the struggle lately is that fact that I have not taken care of myself in the area of preparation with groceries.  As you know I have been busy working in the yard and running so I have not been to the grocery store for a long time now.  I went yesterday and stocked up on lots of good healthy foods.  I also came home right away and prepared a good portion of my daily lunches for the week.  This should help me get back on track with my points and monitoring.

Do you make the excuse to eat more or badly because you had a big exercise day?

Do you have a hard time with counting points/calories at night and on weekends?

Does grocery shopping and planning help you succeed?

26 Responses to “I am starting to see a pattern here!”


  1. April 13, 2009 at 4:38 am

    Oh my god can I ever relate!
    I am the same!! The more I run the more I eat! I am on an awful eating pattern as well.
    You’re not alone.
    Darrell

    • 2 run4change
      April 13, 2009 at 4:41 am

      THanks Darrel. You honest comment really helped me feel normal again. I guess we all go through it one way or the other. 🙂

  2. April 13, 2009 at 5:35 am

    Have you considered talking to a nutritionist about your dietary needs now that you’re training for a longer race? Since I started running 5 days/20-30 miles a week, I know I need to adjust my diet accordingly, but I don’t know how. I’m afraid of eating too little and putting my body in starvation mode, but I’m also afraid of allowing myself the freedom to eat a lot more and gain weight. Because we’ve both had (ok, still have!) weight issues, it may be good to speak to a professional. I know I do my best when I’m following some kind of program, so simply guessing will most likely set me up for failure.

    • 4 run4change
      April 13, 2009 at 5:39 am

      Hi Kristen. It is not that I don’t know WHAT or HOW. I am pretty sure I know how much I need to eat and when, it is just that I trick myself into thinking I have more liberty than I actually do. Maybe I am wrong too, maybe I will find that I just stay the same at WI and that I actually do have more liberty when running more. BUt one thing I know for sure is that I can make better food choices even if I do have liberty. You know what I mean.

  3. April 13, 2009 at 5:57 am

    Do you make the excuse to eat more or badly because you had a big exercise day?
    Yes, I do. I convince myself that I can “run it off”.

    Do you have a hard time with counting points/calories at night and on weekends?
    Not really.

    Does grocery shopping and planning help you succeed?
    Absolutely! It also helps our checkbook. I have 2 teenage boys who will eat anything that is not nailed down. Making big (low point) meals really helps us all.

  4. April 13, 2009 at 6:23 am

    I really have issues with eating the right foods when I haven’t got the right things stocked in my fridge and cupboards. It’s one of the first things I did when starting Weight Watchers and it’s helped with my success, I’m sure.

    I was listening to a Jillian Michaels (Biggest Loser fitness coach) radio talk show (online archive) and she talked about ingredients in processed foods and how some of them set us up for further cravings of that food – like something in the Doritos chips. It’s true. I don’t recall what the incredient is, but wow. It was eye opening for me.

    You know what to do. You know what’s causing your bad eating – I hear it in your posts. Don’t skip your meetings either! Last week (or the week before) the topic was self-control. 🙂 They say that’s something we get better at with practice. I know that is true for me. My daughter left some Girl Scout shortbread cookies out on the counter this morning and they sure look like they’d be good with my coffee. NOT. GOING. TO. HAVE. THEM.!!!

    Have a great Monday!

  5. April 13, 2009 at 6:33 am

    Oh no, I didn’t intend to come across arrogant or know-it-all or bossy. Really. 😦 I was talking about me too! I can relate to what you go through. 🙂

    • 10 run4change
      April 13, 2009 at 6:36 am

      Oh I did not think you were arrogant or bossy little miss. I am just saying that the truth (You were speaking the truth in love about both of us) woke me up. Particularly the “don’t skip your meetings” part. That is true 100% and I know it and I talked myself into skipping last meeting. That was my fault and it was an excuse to work in my yard. I am glad that you brought that up becuase I never do as well when I don’t go to meetings. I will always have to go for the rest of my life and that is a good thing

  6. April 13, 2009 at 6:43 am

    Oh good, cuz sometimes I worry about sounding a little too sanctimonious. You are such an inspiration – you truly are. Oh, meant to tell you, one of my WW buddies and I are toying with the idea of a triathlon… how cool is that? I am not sure I can sustain the running part – have to check with my doctor – but I can do the swimming and bicycling, with some training, of course. I’m going to try. We’ll see how I do over time.

  7. 13 athlete
    April 13, 2009 at 8:39 am

    Do you make the excuse to eat more or badly because you had a big exercise day? Sometimes. There is certainly always that temptation. Usually, I do better if I have done a lot of exercise because I don’t want it to be for nothing. Where I have trouble is when I don’t make/can’t find the time to exercise, I don’t usually see that (as I should) as a time when I need to tighten up the reigns on the eating, but rather it becomes a time when I throw in the towel and eat poorly too–bad mentality to have.

    Do you have a hard time with counting points/calories at night and on weekends? YES! YES! YES! I have such a hard time when I’m hanging out with friends, eating out, or spending time with my family. It is so easily to unconsciously eat a lot without being accountable for it.

    Does grocery shopping and planning help you succeed? YES! I’m dead in the water when I don’t plan AND prep ahead of time.

  8. April 13, 2009 at 9:28 am

    Oh my I certainly do relate!

    For me the main problem is planning. I have a mantra that I have to remind myself of often: Fail to plan, plan to fail.

    This is just very true for me! When I slack off on planning my meals AND my exercise routine then I slack off. More slacking off equals more bad eating and less exercise.

    I’ve been in this rut for the past few weeks so over the long weekend I sat down and spent an hour planning out this week! Today is so easy when I know what I’ll have for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I also know what my plan is for exercise. I can win this way!

    I’m certainly not running the mileage you are, but I’ve heard the more you run the hungrier you get. Just remember you can feed that hunger with healthy foods! But you know this. 😉

    Keep up the great work, Jason. We all get side-tracked now and then, the important factor is that we know how to and want to get back on course.

    • 16 run4change
      April 13, 2009 at 9:57 am

      Great insights Michelle. Thanks for your response to this post. I enjoy reading your comments and they are very helpful

  9. 17 RobFitness
    April 13, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Hey man, sorry that I haven’t been around for awhile…:-(
    Like me with my sleeping, I see that you also have had a good revelation as well. We do get into these patterns of thinking that gets us into trouble of eating and I feel I act the same way. I feel that I will burn off the extra calories in my workout so why not treat myself to some goodies now. It’s not good thinking but we (in the past) have allowed us to get heavy in the first place. The only way to stop that thinking is to reflect on the past and see that it didn’t get us anywhere then and if we continue with that thinking it sure will not get us anywhere today. I hope that makes sense, my friend.

    • 18 run4change
      April 13, 2009 at 10:07 am

      It does make sense but it has been difficult to do that in the moment lately. Also about your post on sleep, i never stay up for 24-36 hours but when I don’t get sleep I tend to get the same way man. I try and get up at 4:30 am everyday but if I stat up until 11 every night I am a piece of work by thurdays-friday. Thanks for stopping by. I was hoping you would. Thanks 🙂

  10. 19 RobFitness
    April 13, 2009 at 10:16 am

    I can see your point as well. It is hard to see our errors in the moment when they happen. It’s later on that we realize that our thinking wasn’t that great. By then some real damage could have been done and it’s to late. hopefully you, myself and others can catch our bad thinking quicker so we don’t get into the old patterns again. I know because I have been i some bad patterns of bad eating as well and by the time I realize it, it’s to late. Like you, so far I am doing good today and I hope you are as well. I am lucky though. I get to go to bed in a couple of hours and my day is basically over 🙂
    by the way it’s only on Monday night into Tuesday that I stay up that long. I do it to make full use of my first day of the week-end. It’s not good because boy I do get moody and am a piece of work as well 🙂 I am glad to be back seeing your posts…

    • 20 run4change
      April 13, 2009 at 10:36 am

      I just get soooo negative about everything when I am badly sleep deprived. Glad I am not the only one. Once I realize it is because of sleep deprivation it is too late. I try everyday to go to bed early but I feel that I am wasting my day since I work from 4:30- 5:00 pretty much every day. THen I go running and get home and have like hardly anytime.

  11. 21 RobFitness
    April 13, 2009 at 10:41 am

    That’s exactly my thinking as well. We always to realize it when it’s to late and hopefully we both can catch it next time so we don’t get into that negative thinking. It’s not easy, but it is possible. I am glad I am not the only one that acts this way. It’s not good but I’m glad I am not alone in this thinking.

  12. 23 Lara
    April 13, 2009 at 10:56 am

    I can definately relate. This happened to me when I jumped from 25-30 mpw to 40-50 mpw. There was an increase in hunger. And technically, I did need more food. But suddenly, I developed a horrible entitlement complex. I would tell myself I DESERVED a pint of Ben and Jerrys after all that running. It didn’t catch up with me immeadietly, but I did eventually see that weight creep up.

    What has helped me, at this point, is that I actually plan a pint into my ap budget for the week. I got the idea from reading Nancy Clarke’s Sports Nutrition Handbook. She says that it is a bad idea to cut out your absolute favorite food – the more you deprive yourself, the more you obsess about how much you want it, the more you are setting yourself up to go crazy with it. Instead of having one cause I deserved it or it was a long day or the kids were cranky, or I ran 17 miles, I would just admit that I knew I was going to do it and save 28 points worth of aps for it. I make sure everything else that day is uber healthy. And then I make sure to enjoy the heck out it. No hiding with it and scarfing it while no one is looking and then hiding it in the bottom of the trash can. (Why – who knows? It’s not like anyone was going to chew me out over it, but that’s what I used to do!)

    So, I guess my point is that maybe you should plan a couple small or one big treat into your weekly plan. And use your aps for them. Cause we may not deserve all the treats in the world just because we run, but we do deserve some ;o)

    • 24 run4change
      April 13, 2009 at 11:01 am

      Lara- Your comment blessed me soooooo much. 🙂 I appreciate your view point and advice very much. It makes a lot of sense and I used to plan like that but have gotten out of the habit really. Thanks for reminding me of this and i will do just what you are saying. I will plan a couple of “special” things into my week. As I have always said since I started WW, “IT IS NOT CHEATING IF YOU PLAN AND COUNT IT!!!”

  13. April 14, 2009 at 5:30 am

    Do you make the excuse to eat more or badly because you had a big exercise day?

    Yep.

    Do you have a hard time with counting points/calories at night and on weekends?

    Heck yeah! I inhale profusely at counting points at night and on weekends. I was feeling pretty guilty about not doing it. So then I ate more out of guilt. I finally decided that for now, I’m not going to count per se, but I am going to make the better choices on the weekends. It’s a compromise, I know. But for me personally, I think it’s one that I needed to make in order to prevent more of that guilty eating. And it seems to be working so far. This weekend being Easter weekend, we had tons of family visiting and lots of rich and sweet foods. I ate but didn’t overindulge.

    Does grocery shopping and planning help you succeed?

    Absolutely. And I save money by shopping and planning too. No more last minute runs to the nearest fast food place to try and order the healthiest thing on their menu. Or lunching on pretzels from the vending machine because they are the only low point item available.

    • 26 run4change
      April 14, 2009 at 5:41 am

      THanks Amy. I think your compromise is pretty wise of you. All or nothing thinking is usually not the best on this journey


Leave a Reply

