13
Apr
09

If hunger is not the problem, food is not the answer!!!

pizza-001Kick me when I’m down gosh darnit.  I am trying to kind of start over today with eating right and counting.  I am on the verge of the negative guilt cycle but not there yet.  Then, two giant beautifully yummy pizzas are brought to me and my boss as a business gift.  I take one pizza in hand to deliver it myself to the ladies in the front office.  I really felt like I got kicked in the nads.  I am just going to list a couple of the ways I was feeling.

 

  • I felt like I couldn’t be a normal person and indulge.
  • I was mad that it is not healthy to just chow down.
  • I was sad that I chose to miss out on the pizza.
  • Why? Why? Why?

So I walked back to my office thinking of the title to this post.  If hunger is not the problem then food is not my answer.  I told myself that I am strong and healthy.  I told myself that I am not more of a complete person just because I eat pizza.  I am no less of a person if I chose not too eat it either.  I tried talking myself into believing that pizza doesn’t really matter to me and that food temptation usually only lasts around 5 minutes.  It was not the taste I was wanting, it was not the fullness that I wanted, it was the emotional feeling of being a normal person that I wanted.

Freakin A.  I am a normal person. HAHAHA  Only now I am a healthy normal person.  I don’t have to drown out feelings of insecurity or inferiority with food.  Screw that.  I will walk on and be strong.  I will not eat the pizza.  I will stay within my points which is designed to keep me satisfied for the day.  I know my points allowance for the day is enough.  One piece of pizza right now would put me at zero points for dinner.  I don’t want just veggies for dinner.  I want a real dinner and a real dinner I will have because I am going to make the healthy choice.  In fact, I already have.  I don’t have my camera to take a pic but I wish I did.  They cut the piece extra huge and the first thing I thought of was that I could count it as one piece even though it is big enough to be two.

See you later.

26 Responses to “If hunger is not the problem, food is not the answer!!!”


  1. 1 RobFitness
    April 13, 2009 at 11:08 am

    I’m glad I read the whole post because I was wondering why you couldn’t just have one piece but I didn’t realize that it would only allow 0 points left. So your thinking of skipping the pizza was a good choice, even though maybe a hard one as well. It’s the thinking that allowed yourself to think it through before you acted. At least you caught yourself before it was too late. So I commend you for thinking it through before your actions set in. Man, that has to be a great feeling to know that you did it and you made the right choice. Therefor there is not guilt to be had and only positive reinforcement that you can do this when temptation strikes.
    Have you ever thought about leaving some extra points a side just in case a situation like this ever develops again? That way you can have that piece of pizza, stay within your points and yet have a fulfilling dinner once you get home. Just a thought 🙂

    • 2 run4change
      April 13, 2009 at 11:13 am

      Well, to be honest. I have enough points to eat a piece if I don’t finish off the rest of my lunch. The problem is that I KNOW I will finish off my lunch before I get home even if I do have a piece of pizza. Points management I guess.

      Also, I am proud on one hand but mad on the other. Kind of like a kid who gets told they can’t have what they want. I am just pouting about it. I did the right thing but the right thing does not always “FEEL” good. :

  2. 3 RobFitness
    April 13, 2009 at 11:20 am

    It might not feel good now, and again I understand that feeling, but boy will it feel GREAT when you see a nice loss come WI. Which is tomorrow,correct? 🙂

    • 4 run4change
      April 13, 2009 at 11:24 am

      Tomorrow is right but I don’t plan on seeing a loss. If I do lose it will be a miracle of God. I do plan on seeing a loss of what I gain this week next week.

  3. 5 RobFitness
    April 13, 2009 at 11:35 am

    Have Faith my friend. As you know miracles from God happen daily.:-) Well now before I get sleep deprived I better head off to bed, since I have to work tonight. Keep staying on track and I know you will do well. Look at what you have already accomplished today. You can do it and you will. I have faith and the confidence in you as well.
    Catch you tomorrow. have a great and healthy night…

  4. 7 maggieapril
    April 13, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    I hate it when I have to fight with myself to keep from eating something I used to eat with abandon. And all too often “fat me” wins the fight. And afterwards I don’t feel any better or happier that I ate what I wanted, so WHY do I do it? No idea, I may never figure it out…

    Good job on resisting!

  5. April 13, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Hang in there buddy. Hang in there. You are doing great. Even when you don’t feel like it you are still making the right choices. I’m proud of you man. Keep on Keepin’ on and remember God will help you make it through these hard times. Just call on Him. Remember it says in Psalms, “Taste and See that the Lord is good.” When we rely on Him he will see us through all different kinds of situations and He will continue to see you through this journey.

    Take care,
    Melissa

    • 10 run4change
      April 13, 2009 at 3:04 pm

      Thanks Melissa. I needed that. I just got pretty down just a couple of minutes ago over my brother trying to take my designated “off weekend” for himself. It just makes me so mad. Very timely comment and support.

  6. April 13, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    No problem. I need to remember that for myself cause there is no way that I can do this journey on my own. When I try it just blows up in my face. KABOOM. When I rely on Him it goes so much more smoothly. Step back, take a deep breath, and pray.

  7. 13 donna
    April 13, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    Jason you should be proud of youreself,I am proud of you for resisting,not sure I couldve done it,sure looks good.Please dont worry you will be just fine and worrying causes wrinkles believe me I know,ha.Like I said you are a lifer now and you just have to maintain and besides you dont have prove anything anymore,youre there.God was with you when you lost all the weight and he is still with you now,keep your eyes on him.

    • 14 run4change
      April 13, 2009 at 6:35 pm

      Yes He is. And goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life. I just finished my cross sculpture area. Can’t wait till I get the cross in the ground.

  8. April 13, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    I really like the title of this post. I haven’t heard that before, but I’m sure going to keep that in mind! And it was nice to read your thought process…you were right on everything, and it was very encouraging to read. It’s hard not to feel “normal” somedays…but I’m sure other people were wishing they had the motivation you did to not eat that pizza! Keep up the good work 🙂

  9. April 14, 2009 at 5:37 am

    You would probably enjoy that slice of pizza more if you were able to enjoy it guiltfree. Knowing you had planned for it. Knowing that you were going to sit down and have a slice (or two) with your beautiful wife over the weekend.

    Thoughts similar to those are what I try to keep in mind when I’m fighting off an unplanned craving. “that scoop of mint chocolate chip ice cream sounds really good(as I’m driving frantically back to work during my lunch hour), but I’ll enjoy it more as I watch a movie with Brian.” or “a snow cone sounds perfect but I promised Ethan I’d buy him one after his game this week. it’s a good excuse to get a kiddie cone when you take another kid with you for a treat”

  10. April 14, 2009 at 5:42 am

    oh yeah. that pizza picture? not helping. it’s not even 9am and I’m craving pizza.

    😛

    • 20 run4change
      April 14, 2009 at 5:44 am

      I was born with a natural craving for pizza that arrives in my mind about three minutes after I awake. 🙂

  11. 21 Angela
    April 14, 2009 at 5:49 am

    I love it! I can’t decide whether my favorite part is the extra large piece being counted as 1, (I do that waaaaaaaay too much) the fact that you said why why why why why, (which I say about 10 times a day) or the fact that you said Freakin A! For all of these reasons your insanity speaks to me. Thanks for the kick in the “nads.” ha ha ha…so funny…..

  12. 23 Angela
    April 14, 2009 at 6:14 am

    Ah yes, the proverbial nads. I prefer jittles, but both are extremely funny! If you see either in one of my blog titles, I’ve finally lost it and please do some kicking. I need it this week anyway!

  13. 25 Sheila
    April 14, 2009 at 7:57 am

    GREAT POST! And perfect timing – I am activities coordinator for my running club and have to buy pizza for 35 tonight and was boo-hooing about how I was going to resist it.

    Another way to look at this whole thing? (Although you have a VERY GOOD handle on it already) You are not a “normal person”. You are an athlete in training for a serious event. Do you think elite athletes eat free pizza two weeks before their events? Heck no!!! So, you just eat your FUEL as planned and bask in the glory of your fabulousness!

    Hugs 🙂

    • 26 run4change
      April 14, 2009 at 8:03 am

      Oh wow. What an encouraging comment Sheila. this comment is rockin’. I love it.

      …..sits back a relaxes while basking in the glory of his fabulousness! 🙂


Leave a Reply

