15
Apr
09

Weigh-in results and last night’s biggest loser

100 lbs of fat    Image credit: mypetfat.typepad.com

100 lbs of fat Image credit: mypetfat.typepad.com

One hundred and twenty four pounds.  That is my weight loss since I started weight watchers.  I gained 3 pounds since my last meeting two weeks ago.  I was hoping to not gain more than 3 pounds so I hit exactly where I thought I would on the scale.  Of course I hate to gain but when I am in maintenance I have to gain because you just never stay the same every week.  Still don’t like it though.  The meeting was about points values for certain things and what we can have that would be more filling.  Pretty good meeting overall.  I did not feel too guilty about the gain. 

As usual, I went to my sisters to watch the biggest loser.  I was disappointed in the make-over episode.  Usually it is very awesome and emotional but this time it just didn’t touch me like normal.  They did look wonderful.  Tara is going to be a skinny Minni at the finale.  I liked Ron without the beard.  I got all paranoid about hurting my leg bones after watching how Laura hurt her hip.  I got afraid that I would mess myself up running these ultra-marathons but I guess if I do I will just have to stop doing them.  As for now I will just train properly and wisely to ensure a reduction in injury risk. 

I stand firm on who I like still.  I want Kristen or Mike to win it. 

Come back later to read my post on my struggle and issue regarding my goal weight.  I need your advice I just don’t have time to do the post right now.  It will be up around 1 am pacific time.

14 Responses to “Weigh-in results and last night’s biggest loser”


  1. April 15, 2009 at 6:41 am

    I’m with you on last night’s episode. The makeover was disappointing. Good makeovers show a dramatic change and Tara and Helen looked the same, only dressed up. Loved what they did with Kristen, Mike, and Laura. I felt bad for Laura with the hip fracture. That scares me a bit too, which is why I’m glad I’m leaning toward cycling rather than running as my exercise of choice – lower impact to my back and hips. My daughter said Tara gained 100 lbs in 2 years (which Tara confirmed on last night’s episode) and thought maybe she gained it to get on the show. I doubt that, but it also shows that she hasn’t had the lifelong weight struggle like some of the others have had. Not that that diminishes her success, but I think you know the difference, as do I. I’m really liking Kristen and Mike these days, and I sort of am hoping that Kristen wins. I know Tara is a huge athlete and competitor, but she doesn’t have that much farther to go. I still don’t like Helen or Ron. Never will.

    Question about your goal weight. Once you hit Lifetime, do you still have to have a set goal weight? Can that change? How does that work? Mine is 155 (for my height, top of range) so what happens when I hit lifetime and I go below that?

    • 2 run4change
      April 15, 2009 at 6:53 am

      THanks for the comment. I love what you had to say about the show. I truly want Kristen to win the whole thing. I like her the best.

      Goal weight issues: HAHAHA, that snuck up on me I thought I deleted it out of the post. It is gone now and a post will come up later talking in more detail on it.

      …. but to answer your Q. Technically, you are supposed to have a goal weight (one number like 155). Then you get to go for free as long as you stay within two pounds of that weight. You are allowed to go below that goal weight and choose your own but it cannot be lower than the WW low range goal weight. They will kick you out if you are determined to go below the low range. Your WW goal weight range never changes but you can change your personal preference on where you would like to be within that range. I want to be a lot lower than the high goal weight because it gives me so much cushion as far as being able to go for free. In reality, I could eb and flow between 157 and 196 forever and still be within the range and they could do anything about it. But they don’t want you to be yo-yo dieting within their range either which is why they want you to pick a number and stay within 2 lbs up or down from that.

  2. April 15, 2009 at 7:01 am

    When I saw Mike’s makeover I was like “whoa!” He looked awesome!! Everyone looked good but yeah not terribly dramatic. I didn’t care for the red hair on Laura.

    That poor girl, I felt so bad for her but happy to see her rehabbing appropriately and getting her life going at home.

    I also just wanted to reach out and hug Max and tell him “You can do this!” Seems like a sweet kid that just needs some help and encouragement.

    At this point I hope the top 3 are Kristin, Mike, and Tara. I like them all.

  3. 5 RobFitness
    April 15, 2009 at 7:16 am

    Didn’t get to watch and I forgot to TIVO last nights show 😦
    Boy you really know your body, don’t ya 🙂 To anticipate gaining 3 pounds and then going to WI and gain 3 pounds. You sure called that one. Still I am glad you don’t feel guilty about and you shouldn’t. I am sure next week you’ll see the loss.
    Right now I think it’s nap time. I never did take the nap yesterday and stayed up to 1 AM., then got up at 4 this morning.
    Hope you have a good day and look forward to seeing what you have to say about your goal weight issue.
    Take it easy and don’t let the boss get to ya…
    You did good last night 🙂

  4. 7 athlete
    April 15, 2009 at 8:54 am

    I was really sad for Laura. That stinks to be out of it due to an injury. I was really glad that they voted to keep Kristin there. I think it would have been easy for them to vote Kristin out due to worry about her being a bigger threat.

    My heart also broke for Max. I think it would be fun to see him as a cast member in the next episode.

  5. 10 donna
    April 15, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    I want Mike to win and become a personal trainer and give his little brother the help he needs and some money too.I still dont like Kristin,shes sneaky like Ron.And so what if you gained 3lbs you can afford it,theres not a lot some of us can afford these days but that is one thing I know you can.Youre doing great maintaining so quit worrying.Your landscaping is looking great too.

    • 11 run4change
      April 16, 2009 at 3:52 am

      Thanks for all the compliments. I just don’t see the sneaky side of Kristen. I may be blind to it or something. Not sure.

  6. April 21, 2009 at 3:32 am

    I was just wondering if you wore your jeans to weigh in. i know that’s what you were going to start doing cause that could have made your weight a little heavier.

    • 13 run4change
      April 21, 2009 at 4:44 am

      No, I did not wear the jeans. I just could not get myself to do it. I wore my normal shorts and t-shirt


Leave a Reply

