16
Apr
09

Goal weight discussion?????? Part 2 with explanation

Which goal should I pic

Which goal should I pic

What should my goal weight be was the question of the day yesterday.  Many of you voted and submitted great and profound comments yesterday on my post about goal weight.  Although I really loved the comments, I felt a bit mis-understood which happens easily via blog land.  So this post is an explanation.

THE NUMBER!

Wow!  What a response I got from “the number” on the scale issue.  HAHAHA  That is good.  I am glad that it could stir up our thoughts about what we want to weigh or if we even care what we weigh.  I can assure you that I am not obsessed with the number on the scale.  Once per week I go to my WW meeting and weigh in.  On that particular day I think a good deal about my “number’.  On any other normal day I do not.  THE NUMBER is a very important, meaningful, and useful indicator of my overall performance regarding nutrition, exercise, and emotional eating.  I know that many of you tell me to throw the number out the door and focus on how I feel health wise.  Well, this is what I have always done in the past and every single time I have gained the weight back.  Throwing the measuring stick out (the number) removes all objective measurement and only allows for possibly deceptive subjectivity.

HIGH SCHOOL WEIGHT

HAHAHA.  This was also a topic of controversy. HAHAHA  The truth is that while losing weight I was curious as to the possibility of weighing what I did in high school.  Many of you said that would be impossible.  It is in fact not impossible.  I actually at the present time weigh about 20 pounds less than I did my senior year and 3 pounds more than I did my sophomore year.  All at the same time I am at least 2% lower on body fat.  So there is nothing evil about weighing the same as I did in high school for I already do and I am maintaining that range comfortably.  For years I thought it would be impossible because I did not want to believe that I needed to go lower than 225.  I just thought that it would be unhealthy for me, a grown man, to try and weigh less than 225 but at that time I was 307.  Once I got to 225, I realized that it was not the healthy weight for me to be at.  I still had a significant amount of body fat and it was not in the healthy range.  For the health of my own body and soul, I needed to be in the healthy/lean body fat % range.  To be there I needed to weigh in the 170’s – 180’s, the same as I was in high school.

FOCUS ON THINGS OTHER THAN SCALE WEIGHT

Scale weight or even the health journey, is not my only focus in life.  I actually have a somewhat balanced focus portfolio.  I have God as one focus, Wife/family as another, then I have running, then weight watchers, then recreation and yard work, then lastly work. HAHAAHA. I am a very goal oriented person so I have to make sure I have goals in each of these areas to keep them as part of my focus.  No goal no focus.  No scale weight, no goal, no focus.  It only appears that I have no other focus because I primarily blog about weight loss and it’s issues.  I try to keep it all on topic with the exception of landscaping.

FEEDBACK LOOP AND FOCUS ON OTHER HEALTH JOURNEY STUFF.

I must say that I don’t think it is wise to focus on other various aspects of the health journey while at the same time throw out the scale weight.  This is my opinion of course.  I can’t judge the quality of my nutrition with the scale.  The scale is only one measure of nutrition quality but without it you get only part of the picture.  It is extremely difficult to judge my hydration levels without the scale but hydration is a key component to health.  I need to know how much I lose from water while doing my long runs and the only way I can is weigh myself and then I can adjust my intakes for future runs.  Focusing on training for my exercise journey is also benefited by the scale weight.  The lighter I am the easy it is to run and the more efficiently I can run for longer distances.  My weight is a minimal part of running becoming easier but carrying ten extra pounds for 40 miles sucks. 🙂  My weight watchers weigh in’s help to stay accountable regarding my overall health picture of eating according to the healthy guidelines.

Anyways, hopefully you all have a better understanding of where I am coming from.  Don’t forget to share your thoughts on this post by commenting.  I always love to read and reply to your comments.

27 Responses to “Goal weight discussion?????? Part 2 with explanation”


  1. 1 RobFitness
    April 16, 2009 at 5:10 am

    Like you said the scale is a tool that we use to judge our progress. It does tell us a lot about a variety of aspects of out journey. We need to judge our progress and journey by a variety of other factors as well. Like how our clothes fit, what our energy level is at, how well we sleep. All these things can easily change if we gain weight. So with the scale and our body telling us what is good for us, all this helps us determine what works for us. I know I will be able to get my weight lower than what I weighed in high school. When I graduated from high school I weight 217 pounds. yes, i was way heavy back then as well. So I look forward to getting below that mark.
    You do have a great variety of things in your life to focus on, like you said and it’s that balance that will keep you focused on what is good for you and what works for you. I too am a goal oriented person as well. If I don’t have a goal than I feel I have nothing to work towards. I know this is odd to say, but if I don’t have a goal then I feel like something is missing in my life. I always need something to work towards.
    I guess I have rambled on enough… Maybe I need more sleep. 🙂

  2. April 16, 2009 at 5:27 am

    I love what you say about not throwing out the measuring stick (scale) as the tool to your continued weight maintenance. I agree with what you say here completely. The scale keeps me accountable. I know precisely the one to one ratio between weight gain and overeating. Every time I overeat – or eat the wrong foods – I gain. I’m also encouraged to know that the “myth” of naturally weighing more as you get older is just that – a myth. Man, if I could weigh and be the size I was when I started school – Woohoo. I had a 23″ waist and weighed about 135. Whoopee. My first goal, though, is 155, but like you, I’ll probably go lower than that when all is said and done. And balance – yes, that’s so important. That’s one thing I think WW is great at teaching, and you totally exhibit that here as well. Excellent post!

    • 6 run4change
      April 16, 2009 at 5:46 am

      You make excellent points here Little Miss. Thank you for sharing. The whole thing ends up being so different than what you think is possible when you start the journey. Like I said, I thought that weighing less than 225 would be impossible and that at that weight I would look like a skeleton. Well, I got there and I was wrong, so I adjusted. I am now finally getting to a place where I have a concret pad to stand on and that pad is 180-185. Or to the WW leader, 183 lbs as my maintenance goal. I am right there too. HAHAHA Kind of funny I had to gain three pounds to get to where I want to be. HAHAHA

  3. April 16, 2009 at 6:28 am

    Jason… I am just catching up on blog reading this morning and I have to say, unforutnatately it is really hard to just throw out the scale, I did that as I felt pressured by others to forget it. Then when the movers took my scale for a few months.. yikes..

    I am wondering if you have had your body fat measurement taken. I had that done about 6 weeks ago and I was surprised at the results, it is also a good measurement of progress. Do you lift weights or just run?

    I hear you with water intake and I am actually working on a little project about that now for school. It really is hard to measure it. Funny when babies are nursing (it seems off topic huh?) This is exactly how they measure how much the baby is eating, on the scale before and after nursing. Seems it would work somewhat with water intake as well. It is hard to find a balance, but it seems that you are really working towards whats best for you.

    I have a friend who’s father has lost over 100 lbs, and is a marathon runner. He said it was decades then things leveled out for him… guess I have a long way to go.

    Thanks as always for the motivation and sharing. I am curious have you registered for the national weight loss registry?

    • 8 run4change
      April 16, 2009 at 6:37 am

      I don’t register for anything if I can help it. HAHAHA I do take my body fat % and it is a very meaningful calculation when combined with scale weight. Without both, you cannot calculate your lean body mass and with out lean body mass lbs. you cannot most accurately calculate BMR calories. Thanks so much for your comment. I really appreciate all of them and your visits as well.

  4. 9 RobFitness
    April 16, 2009 at 7:43 am

    Do you also use the scale to determine your body fat or do you use a caliper and measurements to. Just curious. If you use the scale do you feel that that is an accurate measurement of the body fat%. A curious mind needs to know 🙂

    • 10 run4change
      April 16, 2009 at 7:47 am

      I use the scale which goes off of bio-electical impedence or something like that. HAHA It is not that accurate when done at one random point in time. This is the way I do it and it is a fantastic way to show a trend over time. You check you body fat% with the scale everyday at the same time under the same conditions. Then at the end of the week you add all those days up and divide by 7 so that you get the average. If you do it this way it is far more accurate because with the scale many variables can confound the reliability. also my wife does do the calipers sometimes and it always matches my average over a week pretty much.

  5. April 16, 2009 at 8:15 am

    I know I dont leave a comment everytime, but I sure love your blog. You inspire me so much. When I read your blog I feel like I can actually do it. Thanks for your honesty.

    • 12 run4change
      April 16, 2009 at 8:20 am

      Thank you so much Janice. I am always delighted when I see that you comment. Thanks. I love your blog too. I don’t always get there but I am often wishing I could run fast like you. I like to hear/read about your running.

  6. 13 RobFitness
    April 16, 2009 at 8:42 am

    Thanks for that information, dude. I basically think I have the same type of scale but I never though about taking an average. Plus I never did it everyday. I would do it just once a week. Now I have something else to look forward to doing. 🙂 Hopefully this way will give me a better idea of my progress.

    • 14 run4change
      April 16, 2009 at 8:47 am

      Just try and close your eyes when you get to the weight part. It is not good to weigh everyday. I always close my eyes. I have it timed perfectly so that I don’t see the lbs.

  7. 15 RobFitness
    April 16, 2009 at 8:55 am

    I was thinking the same thing. I was worried about seeing my weight and then how it fluctuates day by day. I don’t need that added stress 🙂 I weighed myself just a few minutes ago and the weight and the body fat were really depressing to me. I am so embarrass to even mention what they were. 😦 I usually do weigh myself when I get up at 10 Pm. though. It is usually a lot less both ways.

    • 16 run4change
      April 16, 2009 at 8:57 am

      The key is to consistantly do it at the same time under the same conditions and then average over days.

  8. 17 RobFitness
    April 16, 2009 at 9:45 am

    Will do my friend. Thanks for the help and suggestions. It’s something new I am going to try.

  9. 18 donna
    April 16, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    My daughter Kelly use to weigh 240lbs and she now weighs 132 lbs and she lost it by determination and the need to be healthy and fit,she is like you jason she is a very dedicated athelete now and never misses work outs,she weighs once a week on wed.and if shes up a pound or two then she adjusts her calories and exercise.She devised her own healthy diet and lost the weight,she eats a lot of vegetables,fruits,dairy and little meat protein,she gets her protein from leaner choices like beans etc.But she feels like she has to weigh weekly to be sure she is still on track cause she never wants to go back to the way she was,being her mom I say she doesnt have to worry because shes beautiful inside and out no matter what weight she is.Bet your mom says the same about you too.

  10. 20 mik
    April 16, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    I just read your post from yesterday. Wow, you’ve had such a journey so far. My only advice is to pick a goal wait that is reasonably easy to maintain. My first trip through WW in 2003 was a fast and easy weight loss down to a 137 lbs, what I weighed in high school, but it required a very regimented lifestyle to maintain that, and a rate of exercise that I unfortunately can’t keep up with career and baby now. I think that if the original goal had not been so hard to maintain, the “giving up” and “letting go” might not have been so dramatic as I started to put on weight–you know, the feeling–“Well, I’m already off, so I might as well blow it big. . .”
    My belated vote is that you stay where you are for a true lifetime goal–ie. do not exceed 190. Make your ultimate goal something that sits easily in your life, you know?
    Good luck to you. Thank you so much for this blog.

    • 21 run4change
      April 16, 2009 at 8:03 pm

      I like what I am hearing from you. Profound, yet understanding and compassionate. Muchas gracias or sharing your wisdom with me. I appreciate it a whooooole lot.

  11. 22 donna
    April 16, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    Shes numero uno in MY life for sure.Thanks Jason.

  12. April 16, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    I don’t see what the big controversy is over reaching your goal weight and trying to maintain it with feedback from the scale. You’ve kept your weight off for several years now and are obviously doing something right. You’re an example to others of effective ways to lose weight and keep it off long-term. I think you’re doing great. I personally watch the scale every so often, and have no shame in trying to stay within 2-3 pounds of my usual weight.

  13. April 22, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    Hey Jason, I recently posted about gaining 1.2 last week, even after working out a lot, and I got similar comments about how not to focus on the number so closely. That it’s all about balance, yada yada, and it is – to an extent. However, I just realized where I went wrong when I calculated something about Subway sandwich condiments. Please check out my last two blog posts – if you have time – and let me know what you think. It shows why numbers *are* important. I thought of you, cuz of this post of yours, and I knew you’d understand what I’m trying to say.

  14. May 20, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    Good writing Hope to definitely visit soon=D


Leave a Reply

