17
Apr
09

6 mile easy run

Here I am at mile 14 as Audrey joins in on my run with me.

Here I am at mile 14 as Audrey joins in on my run with me.

Yesterday was my “easy” running day.  It is a day the seperates hard workouts with easier paced running that aids in recovery while maintaining fitness.  I enjoy the easy days.  I am thrilled to report that my “easy” pace is about 2 minutes per mile faster than it was about this time last year.  That is pretty cool.

I ran around the lake where I work.  My route is three miles exactly and it is very flat.  It is the perfect route for an easier run.  My legs were tired though.  Maybe it was from my 6 miles with 6 hill repeats from the day before.  I guess that is why I get easy run days.  Tomorrow I have 12×400 repeats at 5K pace at the track.  The run will also total 6 miles with warm up and cool down running.

10 Responses to “6 mile easy run”


  1. 1 the Ringmaster
    April 17, 2009 at 8:49 am

    That is some amazing improvement!

    Isn’t it nice to have these easy days? Though a lot of the mass advertising of the running gear bugs me, I so relate to the one that says “our easy runs used to be our long runs.” Because I know for me, it wasn’t so long ago that I set out to run 6 miles as part of my long run training toward my first half marathon. And like you, 6 to 8 miles is now my daily base mileage.

    Now if I could only apply that kind of discipline to my spiritual “base mileage” building . . .

    • 2 run4change
      April 17, 2009 at 9:10 am

      Oh I so know what you mean ringmaster. My spiritual base milage could definitely use some of that same constant improvement as my running. Thanks for that reminder.

  2. 3 RobFitness
    April 17, 2009 at 9:01 am

    Sounds like you are right on track, no pun intended 🙂
    Your doing so well and I hope I can one day be were you are in your journey. I sometimes really doubt that I can do this then I read your posts, especially the last one and it had me literally in tears. I am sick and tired of using other things to help me deal with what ever I am going through. Your right once you get off that “high” you’re still were you were before you did it. Maybe even sometimes a bit further behind as well.
    What I need to do is think before I act on my impulses. Hopefully that’s a good start.
    It was also refreshing to read your comment on my last post. I guess there is hope for me, cause if you can do it I am sure I can too. The only thing and advantage you have is that you have a loving family that supports you all the way. That’s something I don’t have. I know I have all you to support me, but yet it still doesn’t feel the same. I feel alone in this journey and maybe that’s something I just have to accept.
    OK maybe why I am feeling this way is because I am sick again with the allergies and that prevented form going to the gym today. It just seems like I have more setbacks then I have advances..
    Sorry I didn’t mean to ramble on here. I just wanted to say that I could really relate to your last post. It was an awesome one and one of your bests to date 🙂
    Keep up the great running. You’re doing awesome on that as well.

    • 4 run4change
      April 17, 2009 at 9:11 am

      You are free to ramble anytime Rob. It must not be easy to not have the fam around to support. Sorry about that.

  3. 5 RobFitness
    April 17, 2009 at 9:17 am

    At least I have you and the others to set me straight when I need it 🙂

  4. April 17, 2009 at 11:25 am

    Glad to read that. I have been wondering if I’ll ever get faster. Two minutes per mile faster is amazing progress. Very encouraging. Glad you got in a good run.

  5. 9 Sheila
    April 18, 2009 at 9:59 am

    I’ve taken to listening to “The extra mile” podcast lately. Have you ever thought about sending in a submission? Sure would be great to virtually run with you!

    http://theextramilepodcast.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

