18
Apr
09

Surprise dinner attack

farrars-bistroThursday night presented me with a lovely yet challenging dinner out with my wife Audrey.  How could I say no to my beautiful wife just because I didn’t have that many points left.  I had to make it work and I think I did a pretty good job.  We went to a special little bistro in our town that my wife just loves.  I wanted it to be special for her so I “tried” not to grumble about my points to much.  The menu was limited but I took control of the situation by requesting my dinner to be prepared the way I need it to be prepared.

Normally this is very uncomfortable but I only had 8 points left for the day.  I also ran 6 miles which gave me 6 activity points for the day.  That moved me up into the 14 points for dinner range.  That may seem like a lot of points but for eating dinner out it is not that many at all.  Here is what I ordered:

  • 8 oz portion of salmon (9 points)
  • Small sweet potato (3 points)
  • Half of a roll (2 points)

So there you have it.  I did not eat the veggies because I knew they were prepared with butter and cheese.  I had forgotten to tell them not to put that stuff on the veggies.  I did tell them no butter or oil for the salmon and the potato.  Always remember if you order salmon at a restaurant.  They cook it and then put a pile of butter on top of it to keep it nice and moist until you get it.  The butter is completely melted by the time you see it so you may not have known this.

All in all I did very well and was pleased that I got to be with my wife at one of her favorite places.  I stayed within my points perfectly by using my activity points.  This is WW in a real life situation.  I had no time to plan but I had the courage to ask for my meal the way I needed it.

10 Responses to “Surprise dinner attack”


  1. April 18, 2009 at 2:51 am

    wow talk about a GREAT ‘review’ for WW huh?

    I used to always tell my clients to be careful (as you were with the veggies) and just ENJOY THE COMPANY. The atmosphere. The NOT having to cook or clean 🙂

    • 2 run4change
      April 19, 2009 at 4:29 am

      THanks MizFIt. I appreciate your visits and comments alot. Thanks for stopping by. NOT have to cook….. HAHAHA I love that part

  2. 3 road2beautiful
    April 18, 2009 at 4:57 am

    awesome job Jason! I had no idea they did that to Salmon! GOod to know!!!

  3. April 18, 2009 at 6:01 am

    Awesome. That sounds like a great dinner. You’re right – 14 points for eating out goes very quickly. Eating in restaurants is my biggest challenge in my weight loss.

    • 6 run4change
      April 19, 2009 at 4:30 am

      I think it is a pretty big challenge for all of us little miss, no matter what healthy eating program we are following

  4. 7 enjoytheday
    April 18, 2009 at 6:12 am

    Thank you honey for going with me and making it work!

  5. April 19, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    I cried ordering food in a restaurant today. I was so frustrated and the waitress was getting quite annoyed and rude. I ended up with a Bison Burger and a side of broccoli. I told her I was losing weight and trying to be careful and once I got my order the brocc had butter on it. It did not say that anywhere on the menu. It was a small serving, so I just ate it, but I actually cried. My husband felt bad because he picked the restaurant, but I told him it was ok. I felt like you did the other day when you just wanted to feel normal eating pizza at work. I was looking around at everyone just eating whatever and just wanted that, but then I looked down at my new, smaller shirt, remembered I just lost 43.8 pounds the day before, wiped my eyes and quit crying. I enjoyed my food and had a great afternoon. I still think the waitress was rude, but oh well. We will always run into that won’t we?

    Bad side of this whole story is this. . .
    OH MY GOSH I forgot how awesome veggies are with butter. Don’t worry I will not start doing that again, but oh man that was good.

    • 10 run4change
      April 20, 2009 at 6:14 am

      Meepa- It is good with butter huh? i ask for no butter on the veggies now. I always use to wonder why I liked them more eating out than at home. Now I understand. I totally feel ya about your dinner experience.


Leave a Reply

