20
Apr
09

Weekend was ok

Hello everyone.  Reporting in after a long weekend.  I had Saturday off and that was awesome.  🙂  Saturday was off from running and I got lots and lots of yard work done.  I did not eat all day pretty much but had a hefty dinner of salmon and potatos and peanuts for dinner.  Did not count the points in it because I had so many points left over to use.  I also had a good workout in the yard because I am still sore from it today. HAHAHA

Sunday I had my taper long run 15 miles and I finished it with a constant average pace of 8:53 miles.  During the run at one point I was just laughing becuase it for some odd reason dawned on my that I was just running, running, running for like 15 miles.  No stopping or anything.  It just seemed like crazyness at the time.  I ate very good on Sunday except for a small portion or Orange chicken from panda express.  That was not the best choice but it was tasty.  Not sure how this weeks weigh in will go but for the last couple of days my body looks leaner in the mirror and I think it is because of the “resistance” exercise that I have been doing in the yard.

See you later.

9 Responses to “Weekend was ok”


  1. April 20, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Orange chicken is my favorite.

    Here’s a link to a seasoning you might want to try if you want to make it yourself. The recipe on the packet says beef, but I use chicken. I usually find these packets at WalMart Supercenter but it looks like you can buy them online and they are worth it. Part of the recipe calls for sugar and soy sauce. I use half the soy sauce or none at all and I use a few packets of splenda in place of the sugar. You can add all kinds of veg(carrots, peppers, broccoli, zucchini, etc…) and you don’t have to coat the chicken in corn starch…I normally don’t.

    http://www.asianfoodgrocer.com/product/sun-bird-spicy-orange-beef

  2. April 20, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Oh, yum, I love orange chicken. Will definite have to find and try these.

  3. 4 Ren
    April 20, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Hi, I’ve been enjoying your blog very much. I was just wondering at what weight did you start running? Did you run at your heaviest or did you lose a significant amount before really putting on the miles? Just curious, as I am trying to lose weight and run again and every time I even do the “run/walk” thing I have knee pain.

    It is inspiring that you are now up to such distances – good for you!

    • 5 run4change
      April 21, 2009 at 4:52 am

      Thank you so much for commenting and encouraging me Ren. I really do appreciate it. Comments like yours make blogging more fun and enjoyable. I lost 60 pounds before I started running. Basically, I think I could have started earlier as many readers are running at weights higher than what I started out at. I never really did a lot of miles until I was at my goal weight or lower. Before I used to run 30 minutes on Tue. and Thur. and then my long run on sunday which varied from 2 miles to 27 miles. It lengthened over a 7 month period to 27.

      Knee pain could be from your shoes. Make sure that you go to an actually running/walking shop where they will watch you run on a treadmill or outside to make sure that you get into the shoes that a perfect for the way your foot hits the ground. This does not cost extra, it is just what a quality shop does as they fit your shoes. Do not buy running shoes from a general athletic store.

  4. April 21, 2009 at 3:40 am

    Running does feel like craziness sometimes, doesn’t it? 🙂 What a great pace you have…I would love to be able to run that fast! I thought of you for motivation this weekend during my race as a girl I was running with started chatting about people who do ultra-marathons. After finishing my first 26.2, I have no idea how anyone could do any more than that!! I have an entirely new appreciation for what you do! 🙂

    • 7 run4change
      April 21, 2009 at 4:44 am

      Thanks for the compliment Sara. You could do it! It is all by degree, just a little bit further than last time. 🙂 Thanks again

  5. 8 Ren
    April 21, 2009 at 8:04 am

    Thanks for answering my questions regarding when you started running. Funny enough I just got new “good” running shoes yesterday. I got fit properly for my running style so I am hoping that will help. Thanks for the insight I appreciate it.

    • 9 run4change
      April 21, 2009 at 8:09 am

      It will make more of a difference than you can imagine. It will make running easier on your body and you will not get as sore.


Leave a Reply

