23
Apr
09

Tired! Tired! Tired!

exhuasted-runner1I am tired.  My legs are tired and a bit sore and they have remained that way since Saturday.  It is not a big deal but my body is definitely talking to me.  Last night I did 14×400’s at 5K pace.  What a great workout it was and I hit my pace very well for each rep, but I was tired.  I made the best out of a bad running day.  I accomplished much with the workout.  However, there were no good feelings, no runner’s high, no euphoric revelations, no sun, no scenery…………..

I still finished it up though and that is where character building comes into a persons running program.  You make the best out of a bad running day.

I have also woke up late for the last two days now.  I hate it when I wake up late.  I pack a crappy unplanned lunch, hurry out the door, and just tend to have an overall unorganized work day.  I think my tiredness is normal and it is coming from the cumulative effects of my training over the last four months.  I had a very good 4 months of running and now it is time to taper off until the big race.  I am glad to be in taper mode and I will be taking today off completely even though I have an easy 6 miler on the schedule.  It won’t hurt me and I need the rest.  I just need it.  I know I need it and my body knows I need it.  Taking today off I have 4 more runs before the race.  A 6 mile tempo run, two easy 3 mile runs, and a 1o miler at race pace.  Then I will have 3 or 4 days off completely from exercise.

Here’s to getting some rest.  See you later.

12 Responses to “Tired! Tired! Tired!”


  1. April 23, 2009 at 6:21 am

    I know the tired feeling all too well. When I get tired, I like to think of it as my body’s way of telling me to slow down so it can catch up to me. 🙂

  2. April 23, 2009 at 7:21 am

    REST already. You make me tired just talking about all your running! Your commitment is so inspiring. Thanks for your posts!

  3. April 23, 2009 at 8:07 am

    Does this mean that you will also rest from your landscaping plans for today too?

    I’m glad that you’re listening to your body’s needs first and foremost – you deserve a day of total rest.

    • 6 run4change
      April 23, 2009 at 8:32 am

      No, I will not be resting from the landscaping today. In fact, not running will give me more time to work on the landscaping because my wife will be coming home late tonight so I will be out there ’till dark. 🙂

  4. 7 Kim
    April 23, 2009 at 9:23 am

    Glad you are listening to your body! And you are right…this is where the rubber meets the road….where your character counts and really where the battle is in teh mind of what you are capable of! ENjoy your day of rest….although your “rest” days are like nothing I ever heard of….Perhaps you shoudl revisit the sabbath! HAHAHAHAH

    • 8 run4change
      April 23, 2009 at 9:33 am

      I do take Sunday to be with my wife. It is our day together. That is why I have to get up so early to run my long runs. HAHAHAA

  5. 9 Kim
    April 23, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    good…thought I might have to come out to the west coast and beat you down!!!

  6. 11 donna
    April 23, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    Well I would think that your landscaping and other building you do to your home would be a good kind of tired,you know like a proud tired and thats good to be that way.But,you do need to try and rest both your body and your mind at times right?Right.I tell you what I will give you the weekend off and I wont write to you about ww until Monday,now wasnt that nice of me,ha,ha.Have a good one.


Leave a Reply

