29
Apr
09

3 days and counting. Ultra-marathon #5.

Boy running for funIT IS COMING!!!!  The strolling Jim 40 miler marks the celebration of my 2 year anniversary for running.  April 27, 2007 I started running at my gym with a long run of 2 miles at a 13:30 pace.  I tried to maintain a 10 minute mile that day but I just couldn’t do it.  NOW!!!  I am going to run 40 miles at that 10 minute pace.  During this past two years my life has shifted from barley believing that I could run a marathon to being blessed enough to be part of a group of runners takes up about 1/100th of a percent of the total population on earth.  Ultramarathoner.  Yes, that is what I am even if I don’t believe it my own mind, that is the fact.

Today I will run an easy 3 miles, another easy 3 miles tomorrow, and then take Friday off.  On Saturday morning at 7 a.m. I will listen for the conch shell to blow as I embark on a fantastic journey.  A journey of self-realization.  A journey of testing mind and body.  A journey of celebration and fun.  This 41.2 mile  journey will have approximately 62,000 foot strikes that will exert around 6,180 tons of force per foot by the time I finish.  Work work work fun fun fun!!

After the race I plan to indulge in the post-race southern barbecue.  Only a few hours later I will be at a remote location indulging once again with fine dining inside of a restaurant built inside of a 100 year old mill with the original wood flooring and machinery.  I will be sitting near the window looking out on a water fall that used to power the mill all the while rubbing my sore and restless legs.  HAHAHA

In the morning I will wake up, limp to the shower, and then take off with my wife, dad, and step-mom to the Jack Daniels Whisket Factory to take a tour.  Then it is on the plane to come home.

17 Responses to “3 days and counting. Ultra-marathon #5.”


  1. April 29, 2009 at 8:55 am

    In case I don’t get to do so later, best wishes for a safe and enjoyable race! Eat some of that yummy southern BBQ for us! :-9

  2. 3 Shannon
    April 29, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    I am so excited for you! What a huge accomplishment you have made in just 2 short years. Great job! I hope to follow in your footsteps and achieve my dreams as well!! Have a safe trip and you will do great!

    • 4 run4change
      April 30, 2009 at 4:34 am

      THanks SHannon. I know that you too will do awesome with your dream of the marathon. It will be a wonderful experience and i am excited for you

  3. 5 Ren
    April 29, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    I just posted about peaks and valleys in this weight loss/fitness journey on my blog and then I came over to check you out and I noticed your symbolic roller coaster post and it made me feel better. So thank you! It made me feel better because WoW look at what you have accomplished with your fitness and goals and running! I think it is amazing that you are doing this big race. GOOD LUCK to you and may it be everything you imagined and more – you deserve it!

    Ren

    • 6 run4change
      April 30, 2009 at 4:34 am

      Thank you so much fitgirl/Ren. Your comment was very touching and encouraging. HAve a great day.

  4. 7 RobFitness
    April 30, 2009 at 4:10 am

    As you embark on this marathlon I just wanted to wish you the best. May your journey there be safe and may your time there be filled with great accomplishments, some good eating and some quality time with family. It all sounds like a fun time, but the marathlon sounds a bit grueling. The after celebration I am sure will make up for that.
    So my best to you and I look forward to see some pictures and whether you beat any of your personal records. Which I am sure you will.
    Happy Anniversary too 🙂

    • 8 run4change
      April 30, 2009 at 4:35 am

      Hey Rob. Thanks a lot for your encouragement. The race might be grueling but at the same time it is exhilarating too. 🙂

  5. 9 Kim
    April 30, 2009 at 7:53 am

    Run FOrrest Run!!!! so excited for you!!! I do not think a regular marathon will be in my sights….but I can appreciate the work you have done to get here! Well DOne!

    • 10 run4change
      April 30, 2009 at 8:12 am

      You could to a full marathon if you really want to, but if you don’t I don’t blame you. They are crazy. HAHAHAH So am I HAHAHA 🙂

  6. April 30, 2009 at 9:07 am

    I am sure I could…I jsut don’t have the want to…I have a crazy Triathlon in my sights!! 2 legs this summer…all 3 next summer!

  7. 13 Sheila
    April 30, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    Oh Jason, have the most wonderful adventure possible out there! May you have as many miles in “the zone” as possible where you barely feel your body as you float along enjoying the scenery. (How you can sightsee after that effort is BEYOND ME! “You The Man”!)

  8. May 2, 2009 at 6:25 am

    Just wanted to say good luck! You are an inspiration.

  9. May 11, 2009 at 11:48 am

    I just found your blog..I’m training for my first ultra right now. Can’t believe I’m about to join the cool kids club! I need to catch up on your blog!

    • 17 run4change
      May 12, 2009 at 4:37 am

      You ARE going to be cool. You are already cool just because you are running. HAAHAHAHA 🙂


Leave a Reply

