06
May
09

Questions, Questions, ultra-running questions.

rocky-raccoon-100

Now that the Strolling Jim is over, I look to my future goals for running.  I alway have a goal in mind prior to the attainment of my first goal.  That way I can keep the momentum going even after I achieve my goals.  Never resting, never sitting still without a purpose.  that is my theory.  Anyway, I have so many questions about this 100 miler thing.  I am caught up in my thoughts regarding the training, nutrition, run/walk strategy,logistics of the aid stations, night running, etc.

One thing about me if you haven’t figured out already, is that I like to know and be prepared.  It brings my confidence up a lot to know that what I am doing is the best way to prepare for the particular race.  When I get to the starting line and have doubts, I like to be able to know that I did the physical training part of the preparation the best I could.  I helps to know that I am ready physically but how does one know that they are ready to run 100 miles??????  I don’t think anyone ever really knows.  They go into it in the best shape possible but just finishing the 100 miles and making it through all of the obstacles that “could” happen is the main goal for each runner.

I just thought I would write this out to make myself feel better.

16 Responses to “Questions, Questions, ultra-running questions.”


  1. 1 AmyJoGo
    May 6, 2009 at 5:20 am

    I watched the first bit of Biggest Loser last night and I’m curious to know your reaction to Jillian’s shock when she learned they would be running a marathon? Of course as soon as I heard that, I thought of you and my friend Nick. And then there was Jillian’s statement that she herself had NEVER run a marathon. Somehow that really surprised me.

    • 2 run4change
      May 6, 2009 at 7:18 am

      I have not seen any of the last episode. Also, only 1% of the population finish a marathon. Most runners, even elite runners, will never run a marathon. It is not for everyone

  2. 3 AmyJoGo
    May 6, 2009 at 7:28 am

    Awww nuts! I thought you were going to watch it last night!! Sorry if I ruined a bit of it for ya!

    • 4 run4change
      May 6, 2009 at 7:39 am

      No worries. I don’t feel like watching it so I was just going to ask my sister what happened.

  3. 5 the Ringmaster
    May 6, 2009 at 10:06 am

    Just 1%, huh? It’ll be a while before I can train for an ultra, but what an elite population that is!

    • 6 run4change
      May 6, 2009 at 10:10 am

      Ringmaster, 1% of the population finishes a marathon not an ultra. You are in the 1%, is that not totally cool. Not elitist or anything, just an interesting fact that speaks about the unique personalities of those who run 26 miles or more in one pop.

  4. 7 Shannon
    May 6, 2009 at 10:07 am

    I have a friend who has done 3 100 mile runs…crazy! He told me you don’t know you can run it until you do it! He said your body will amaze you what it can do, even when your mind says you can’t!

    • 8 run4change
      May 6, 2009 at 10:11 am

      That is cool shannon. I find it to be the other way around. My body wants or feels like it should to stop but my mind keeps it going. HAHAHA

  5. May 6, 2009 at 10:13 am

    Jason

    This is akazooey from the ww runners board. Hi!

    Wow! I am amazed at your accomplishment in the Strolling Jim. That has to feel so good especially with the frustrations you had been having. You know those are self imposed, right? You can obviously accomplish anything you want to. You are so determined! I look forward to hearing about the training for the 100 miler! Keep it coming!

    I have been planning out my events for the summer and fall and am getting super excited!

    • 10 run4change
      May 6, 2009 at 10:18 am

      Erin (zooey friend), thanks so much for stopping by. With limited time I have not been posting to faithfully on the WW boards so thanks for coming here. I appreciate your encouragement and completely understand the excitement you are experiencing. I too am picking races for my build up to the 100 miler. It is exciting for me too. I love the planning of the training.

  6. 11 RobFitness
    May 6, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    Sorry that it’s been a bit since I got back to ya.
    I wanted to Congratulate you on a job well done at your “Ultra”. You did such an outstanding job and the time you did it in is quite impressive . So proud of you , man! Now you just have to chill and start preparing yourself for the 100 miler. Well I guess you have a bit of time to prepare. I am sure you’ll do great on that as well. Your high spirited and so motivated. A quality that is good to have and is probably needed as a runner.

  7. May 6, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Here is an interesting read. It is written by my coach, Chris Twiggs. He has run the Hardrock 100 miler 3 (or is it 4?) times now. And, will be running it again this Summer.

    http://www1.fccj.edu/ctwiggs/12-13.pdf

  8. 15 seanv2
    May 8, 2009 at 8:50 am

    Wow, good luck on this one. I have dreams of one day doing an ultra, but that is probably a couple of years off for me. Did you do a fifty before you a hundred, or did you just jump straight from 26.2 to 100?

    Keep up the great work.

    • 16 run4change
      May 8, 2009 at 8:54 am

      Hi sean,

      I have not done a 100 miler YET. I will hopefully fulfill that dream in Feb. 2010. I did a thorough progress of distance except for before a marathon. I have not done any races less than marathon distance. Here is my progression in order.

      26.2 mi
      31.02 mi
      34.2 mi
      41.2 mi
      50 mi


Leave a Reply

