08
May
09

Ultra-marathon and southern food!!

dscn2344

Well here I am a little more than 20 miles into the Strolling Jim 40 miler.  Relaxed, happy, and full of energy. HAHAHA  My wife took this picture as she drove away from giving me some of my Hammer Nutrition Perpetuem.  At this point in the race I was of course actually feeling a bit tired.  Five miles more though and I hit a serious second wind and took right off.  This is a good example of the scenery that I ran in too.

dscn2368 

After the race I ate the traditional barbecued chicken lunch with coke, but a couple hours after that we went to the historic bell buckle cafe.  Bell Buckle is the birth place of the Moon Pie and RC Cola.  It is also home to a fantastic cafe with real southern cooking.  Southern is short hand for deep fried and tasty fatty yumminess. HAHAHA  I had pulled pork, fried corn bread, blue berry salad that was actually a cobbler thing, fries,  and something else that I can’t remember.  The picture is of my wife’s food.  It was great.

7 Responses to “Ultra-marathon and southern food!!”


  1. 1 donna
    May 8, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    Jason you just look so happy in that picture like youre on top of the world.Then to get to eat that wonderful southern cooking,lord fried cornbread is my favorite!I use to cook just like that back home in Texas and a lot of it too.Oh how I miss it,unfortunately I brought all the weight with me when I moved.Tell your Mom I wish her a very happy mothers day and everyone else out there who is a mommy.

  2. May 9, 2009 at 4:20 am

    You look great in that picture.
    Congrats again on a job well done.

  3. May 9, 2009 at 5:01 am

    Hi Jason, what a great picture of you! You are so strong and so healthy!
    Congratulations, you should be so proud!
    (((hugs)))
    Darrell

  4. May 9, 2009 at 8:32 am

    I did the same thing after my (measly) marathon last week. And posted about it, too. It’s all good!

  5. 6 RobFitness
    May 9, 2009 at 11:01 am

    I never had southern food so i guess i have missed out on on the good stuff. You really do look happy and content with things. It’s your positive attitude that will always get you far in this journey. I hope you have a great week-end and rest up some. You deserve it. Don’t go to wild though 🙂


Leave a Reply

