09
May
09

Emotional eating and anger.

Well, today and for several weeks now I hate my job.  I hate the things I have to do.  I hate lots of the people I work with.  I hate being caught between a rock and a hard place.  I hate getting up really early.  I hate getting off so late.  I hate working 6 days a week.  I hate the meaninglessness of my job………………

So I ate a giant chicken melt from the gas station that I haven’t eaten at for 2.5 years.  I ate two peices of pepperoni.  I bought a whole bag of doritos but have not finished them yet.  I will probably eat some more later too.  I am freakin pissed.  Oh well, tomorrow will be a better day.

Geesh!

7 Responses to “Emotional eating and anger.”


  1. May 9, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    Do you have other options you could explore for work? Sounds like a toxic environment!

  2. May 9, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Hey!! I feel for you. It’s gotta be so hard to be in a job day in and day out where you are not happy. When you are not happy in one area of your life it tends to spread to the other areas. Like you have told us before one day of messing up is not going to derail the whole journey. Ask yourself why you think you went to the gas station? What caused it? Why are you eating stuff you haven’t in a long time? Reflect on the day, learn from it, and move on. I encourage you not to finish the Doritoes. Throw them away if you can. You’ll just be more pissed after you finish them.

    I don’t mean to sound preachy. I have been where you are. I’m here for you and if you need to talk you know my email. I will also be praying for you.

    I just had a final reception at the end of my last college class. I am graduating next Saturday with my elementary education degree. I am graduating from a Christian college and the director or the Education department left of with these words. She said, “You need to remember to always spend time with God above everything else. If you do not fill yourself with him how can you expect to give of yourself daily?” I encourage you to fill up everyday with the Lord and he will help you through that job, through your healthy eating, and through the tough times. You are such a giving person. Please just make sure that you give yourself time with the Lord and he will fill you up and see you through.

    I’m also saying this to myself as that has been lacking in my own life lately. When my director said that to us it really hit home to me.

    Thanks again for always being so real on here through the ups and downs. It really helps us all.

    Take care,
    Melissa

  3. 3 Sheila
    May 10, 2009 at 5:14 am

    I really don’t know what you do, but if you continue to feel this way I’m one of those people who feel that “life’s short” and you should leave…Every situation has it’s downsides of course, but you could have a whole new career as a landscape artist, a motivational speaker, a coach, a stay at home Dad (haha) and the list goes on and on. Now, Step AWAY from the Doritos…;)

  4. 4 darrellnurse
    May 10, 2009 at 5:39 am

    HI Jason…. Bad day….. bad bad day….. we all have them and the wagon seems so far away and so high. You’ll get back on the wagon and it seems like a perfect time time to pursue your dream of becoming an RN just like your friend Darrell here on Prince Edward Island.
    Hope all is better today….
    (((hugs)))
    Darrell (RN)—–> just like you SHOULD be! 🙂

  5. 5 hope59
    May 10, 2009 at 7:13 am

    I am so very sorry that you had a bad day! I know how badly it feels. Let me tell you, I have journaled almost identically what you posted! I know that I can mentally say things to myself that no one else ever would!
    We have to realize that we cannot be perfect. We know what we have to do to be healthy, but those old habits just seem to leark in the shadows waiting for us to have a down moment. I can relate to having to work so much that it makes staying on our plan much harder! We just have to do our best, forgive ourselves when we slip up and just strive to do better. There are only so may hours in a day.
    What you have posted shows that you are human. You are helping others out in this world that go through the same thing and can relate to you. Take a deep breathe, say a prayer and go on doing what you know how to do. I think that’s why God gave us a new day, so that we can start over!

  6. 6 AmyJoGo
    May 10, 2009 at 9:43 am

    I feel your pain. Are doing something about it? Honestly Jason, no amount of money is worth spending even another week being that miserable.

    I’ve been reflecting on what I can do to change my career circumstances too. You’re not alone.

  7. May 10, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    It sounds like you are having a rough day and a rough time at work. It sure is hard when we are in the position you are in. Here are three Bible verses that may help you right now:

    Romans 8:28 “And we know that to them that love God all things work together for good”,
    Colossians 3:23 “whatsoever ye do, work heartily, as unto the Lord, and not unto men”, and
    James 1:2 “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds”

    I would love to tell you that I use these three verses and never get down, but that is not true; however, it helps when I am reminded of them. I am saying a prayer for you right now.


Leave a Reply

