13
May
09

Biggest Loser Finale. The good, the bad, and the sad.

the-biggest-loserOhhhhhh Boy!!!!  This wild and crazy season of biggest loser is officially over.  I really enjoyed this season although the finale was anti-climatic for more.  I was not quite moved as I have been in the past.  I am not sure why that is exactly but it is what it is.  There were many things that I loved about the finale though and many things that I very much didn’t like.  I am sure that many of the things I did not like you also did not like.  So here is my review of the outcome of 6 months of hard work by the contestants.

 

THE GOOD

There were multiple things that were good!  How about Mike.  HAHAHA  He looked like a movie star basically.  Very handsome, more humble, and as genuine as ever.  He just looked great and he glowed with joy about his new life.  It was great to see it.  I was also extremely happy with the results that Jerry and Kristenhad achieved while at home.  I did not care for Kristen’s hair cut much and I had a tiny suspicion that Jerry had been drinking before coming onto the finale, but boy did they do fantastic.  Their transformed bodies proved that it can be done.  Jerry not only changed dramatically on the outside but inside too. What new and vigorous confidence he had.

Tara is back in model form and she displayed much gratitude for her transformation.  Demonstrating that she is a winner at heart, she blamed much of her success on those who helped her.  That is truly a winner’s attitude.  I was also so happy to see that Danielactually kept at it.  He rate of loss was not what it could have been but it was phenomenal to say the least.  He stuck with it and I think he we keep sticking with it.

THE BAD

I think we all know what the bad is.  At least the major bad. HAHAHA  The only mom on earth that would vote her own daughter off the show only to leave her in the dust and embarrassment of not doing that great at home.  The mom who could not stop talking about herself and manipulated craftily throughout the season.  The mom whose tears were only regarding her own success rather than her daughter’s or others.  That’s right, Helenwon the grand prize of being the biggest loser.  I did not like this outcome much.  She did drastically cut the weight.  She was a bit too skinny looking but I am sure she will even out as far as her weight.  It is a given that the contestants dehydrate themselves the best they can prior to the finale weigh-in and Helen was a supreme case for this.  She was very dehydrated but it got her $250,000 dollars.  I could just see the sadness in her daugther’s face while she pleaded with us to believe that what they chose was the best thing for both of them.  Hog fooey and donkey dung.

THE SAD

I got sad for a few of the contestants.  I was sad for the two African American ladies who I cannot recall their names at the moment.  I really thought that the one would do great at home.  I was also sad for Daniels partner who seemed embarrassed by the fact that he really never cared about losing weight in the first place.  Finally, as you already know, I was sad about Helen’s daughter not having a great loss.

CONCLUSION

Now don’t get me wrong, every contestant did great.  Even those who appeared not to lose much weight lost enough weight to make most of us believe that we can lose the pounds at a healthy rate while living out our normal lives.  Even the ones that made me sad lost weight like normal people.  I just think that if I had to go on TV in front of every in six months that I could make sure I lost weight like a crazy man just to avoid the fear and embarrassment that would  be there if I did not do that great.

All in all it was a great season and I was proud of each of them for starting out on the life long journey of health.

12 Responses to “Biggest Loser Finale. The good, the bad, and the sad.”


  1. May 13, 2009 at 6:57 am

    I agree with *everything* you said here. I have nothing different to offer. Your synopsis of Helen is spot on. Seriously. I just can’t get behind her other than the fact that she is the same age I am and if she can do it, so can I. However, I still have fibromyalgia, and that hinders me somewhat – slows me down from time to time, but will not stop me. 🙂 LOVED Mike. He looked so great, as did Tara. Again, I agree with everything you said here.

    • 2 run4change
      May 13, 2009 at 7:12 am

      Little miss, I guess we are two peas in a pod this time on this topic. AHAHAHAHAH 🙂 YOu can do this and you are doing awesome. Mike and Tara both looked amazing. They must just laugh when they look in the mirror as they both look dramatically different.

  2. 3 amandacav
    May 13, 2009 at 7:12 am

    I totally agree about Helen. I think it is so sad that she sent Shannon home TWICE and when they played back the clips of Shannon crying about the decision because “This is what her mom wanted” made me so mad. I was NOT a fan of Ron, but he would have never sent Mike home!!!

    • 4 run4change
      May 13, 2009 at 7:15 am

      Ron may have been the king manipulator in the house but he did have his sons back all the way and that it honorable I guess. Helen was a poopoo. HAHAHAH Thanks amanda for the comment

  3. 5 donna
    May 13, 2009 at 7:51 am

    I am just thouroughly disgusted with the pick of helen,you know I am and my little mikey didnt win,but he sure looked like a winner.You know I am glad the man jerry won the 100,00 but I too felt like he was acting differently and probably you are right.When he won his wife didnt run over and hug him,thought that was weird.I am sorry for shannon to have such a selfish mom.Well cant wait for next season!See ya.

    • 6 run4change
      May 13, 2009 at 7:53 am

      I can’t wait either. Next season will be great too. Yeah maybe, Jerry’s wife was mad at him because he was buzzin’. HAHAHAHA

  4. 7 expertfitnesshealthclub
    May 13, 2009 at 7:58 am

    My hope is that the contestants on the Biggest Losser can all can keep that weight off. Losing weight is the easy part of the battle. Keeping it off is the hard part. Long term weight loss success includes sensible eating and exercising – NOT overdoing it or starving yourself!

    Anyone looking to lose weight the right way should consider my Ultimate Beach Body Weight Loss Program. I have helped thousands of people lose weight with my weight loss programs and keep the weight off.

    Program participants average 15-20 lbs per month – eating 5 times per day and working out 3-4 days per week for 30-40 minutes. The program is so simple and easy to follow and absolutely works! Learning how to exercise and eating smarter are the keys components of the Ultimate Beach Body Weight Loss Program.

    Please check it out http://www.90dayshapeup.com

    Barbara Vinciguerra, MS, NASM-PES, NESTA-FNC,

    • 8 run4change
      May 13, 2009 at 8:08 am

      Hello there Barbara. I too hope that all of them can keep the weight off. Keeping it off is the harder part of the journey you are right about that. I have had wonderful success with weight watchers at keeping the weight off. I hope that you can help many people in the future be balanced and healthy through out life.

  5. 9 Emma
    May 13, 2009 at 8:43 am

    Good recap! I’m disappointed that Tara didn’t win. Has any other contestant dominated a reality show so completely from start to finish? And she was pretty “real” in her struggles too, the bouncing from extremes and so forth. Her winning the whole thing would have been the icing on the cake as far as I’m concerned. I did think she looked very healthy and athletic though, not dehydrated like most people with a chance to win, which is nice.

    I can’t get behind the Helen criticism too much. Her daughter is 30 years old, not a teenager like Mike, and didn’t seem to have the drive that you need to stay on the show. I’m 32 and would have no qualms about my mother carrying on something like that without me. And if Helen had her kid at 18 I think we can safely assume she has sacrificed plenty along the way.

    And on a totally shallow note, MY WORD did Sione look good 🙂

    • 10 run4change
      May 13, 2009 at 10:22 am

      HAHAHA, Emma. My sister said the same thing about Sione. Tara did look much healthier than HElen

  6. 11 Sheila
    May 14, 2009 at 7:26 am

    I was waiting for your take on this! HAHA my real life and online life have officially merged!
    It’s hysterical that you think Jerry had a drink before the show~ I don’t remember Jerry’s personality enough to weigh in on that one. I’m soooo dissapointed about the final outcome, but that’s how it goes. To me, Tara looked like she really thought she had it in the bag and then had a big gulp of sour milk.

    • 12 run4change
      May 14, 2009 at 7:44 am

      Sour milk she got Sheila. That is so true. As much as I did not want Helen to win it, I think she completely and thoroughly SHOCKED Mike and Tara. Everyone for that matter. It is funny to me because Mike must have seen Helen backstage prior to his first appearance because his cockiness was completely absent. He was no longer sure he was going to win it after coming from backstage. I think he first saw her and went, “Holy SXXX. ” Then his cockiness crumbled under the pressure of fear.


Leave a Reply

