13
May
09

My weight watchers weigh-in results. Who would have known!

SJ40 me running

Here I am around the 20 mile mark of the Strolling Jim 40 Miler

I had my weigh-in last night.  I was figuring that I would gain 5 pounds and I was actually ok with that.  I skipped last week because I have always gained after a big race but I normally don’t keep the post race eating spree going for another week.  This time I kept it going my friends.  I kept my bad eating going from Sunday May 3rd to Tuesday May12th.  I am not proud of this but I wanted to tell you all the bare bones truth.  For this reason, I was expecting a gain but I was just going to take it for what it was.

How did I do you may be asking yourself.  WELL, I WEIGHED IN AT 183.4 LBS.  That means I stayed exactly the same weight.  I did not lose an ounce nor gain an ounce.  What an amazing thing this is.  I am so happy about it but I am not allowing this to proof that I can eat whatever and not gain weight.  My body is stabilizing at it’s happy weight but I know that I can make that weight go up in no time if I don’t care about what I eat.  So the eating spree is over for now.  I am back on WW track today and feel really good about that.

MY EATING SPREE’S.  NOW AND IN THE PAST.

One thing that I think might be the reason for why I did not gain is my perception of what an eating spree is.  Sure, these last two weeks have pretty much been off program but not in the same way as “off program” before WW.  Before WW, “off program” would have been a 3 foot log of summer sausage and half a pound of cheese each week.  It would have been a whole large pizza twice a week.  It would have been fried food after work but before dinner everyday.  It would have been a huge lunch out.  Now my “off program” is to eat pretty much on WW all day long and ate night I go off of program.  “Off program” now means that I might eat a small bag of chips on the way home from work before I work in the yard but I skip dinner because I am working.  It means that I go out to eat but don’t count my points but actually end up eating the salmon with veggies and might even have some of the bread.  It means that I snack on some crackers and eat several bites of my wife’s cake.  It means that I eat the more calorie packed subway sandwich instead of the loads of fried food.  I guess what I am trying to say but not justify, is that now when I go off program I am still eating a million times better as compared to when I was NEVER on program.

Does that make any sense.

18 Responses to “My weight watchers weigh-in results. Who would have known!”


  1. 1 AmyJoGo
    May 13, 2009 at 5:34 am

    That makes total sense and I think you can safely say that you have achieved your goal of living a healthy lifestyle. You’re not totally depriving yourself of the things you really want…you’re just eating smart.

    You are awesome 🙂

    • 2 run4change
      May 13, 2009 at 5:47 am

      THanks Amy. It is such a process. Much more of a journey/process than I ever imagined it would be.

  2. May 13, 2009 at 6:27 am

    Totally senseful. Sometimes off program is having full flavoured salad dressing when it used to be pizza twice a week. People change. Then, eating habits.

  3. 5 RobFitness
    May 13, 2009 at 7:19 am

    First let me say.. Only 1/2 pound of cheese per week. That’s all? i would seriously do 1/2 per day cause I love cheese and it’s what I ate all the time while watching TV. Those days are over with now and it’s NO dairy for me.
    man you did well. like you said what we think is off program really might not be. It’s all compared to like you said what we use to eat like. I feel the same way too. i feel I am off program if I have a diet soda and some crackers. In the long run it really isn’t compared to what could have been.
    I am proud of you still and I am glad that you had a great WI compared to what you thought it would be like. Plus I am equally proud that you went. Especially since you were going into it thinking that you were going to gain.
    I do like how you say that the eating spree is over with, for now… You are right on target there and you’re being real. i too know that I’ll slip up again and eat badly, that’s my reality. I am not perfect and I’ll digress on occasions. it’s learning from it, not dwelling on it so it continues for months, and moving forward that’s important.

    • 6 run4change
      May 13, 2009 at 7:30 am

      It is always “for now” HAHAHAHAHA 🙂 I know for a fact I will pig my face off again one of these days. HAHAHAHAHA Oh well. Who doesn’t. I bet even bob and jillian pig out sometimes. You are doing such a great job on your new program Rob. keep up the good work. I have been reading your posts I just have not been commenting lately. I have kept a bit quite recently.

  4. 7 Kim
    May 13, 2009 at 7:36 am

    Way to go friend. Yes it is all about perspective! I have noticed this phenomenon too…but you said it so well…Our off program days are so very different than what they used to be. Proud of you!

  5. 9 donna
    May 13, 2009 at 8:19 am

    Had to comment on this one too,jason I believe that you are heading towards being normal now,youre probably always going to THINK about binge eating for the rest of your life,but following through will be different for you because your mind has changed and your choices too.That is a great breakthru for you when you know that you think of eating bad but you pick good stuff because it is what your mind and body crave.Do I make sense?You are leveling out on your weight and this is where you are to be.You can eat something the old you use to eat and you feel guilty,but the new you has to be trained that hey that isnt so bad,if I binge then I will be ok anyway,cause now you wont let it get the best of you anymore.I have faith in You.See you are experiencing something a lot of us havent seen for years and that is being a normal person of normal weight and you can handle the situations and not let them get out of hand,I know you can do it.

  6. 11 Ms Oblivious
    May 13, 2009 at 9:10 am

    That’s great! Seems like your body is good at telling you what it needs and you are good at telling it when its had enough.

    Do you think you will ever go “off program” permanently? Not to say go back to old habits or whatever… but I wonder for myself, when does a person know when they have got it all down and can just let it be second nature to always chose/prefer the healthier stuff?

    • 12 run4change
      May 13, 2009 at 10:24 am

      Oblivious. I would never consider going off program permanently. I see WW as the same thing as AA. I will go forever. In fact it is both my WW and my AA as the two groups basically function in the same way kind of. They also cover the same roots causes. I will need to go forever.

  7. 13 Ms Oblivious
    May 13, 2009 at 11:38 am

    I was afraid you’d say that – does it get any easier??? I have to find a way to accept that this is something I’ll always have to deal with like it or not.

    By the way, I am so thankful that you are here sharing your stuff with us!

    • 14 run4change
      May 13, 2009 at 11:43 am

      In a way it gets easier but maintanence is harder than losing right from the start because there is not such a clear goal ahead of you. You have to both gain and lose to stay the same so that makes it hard. It is easier in the way that you have more tools but using those tools is still work.

  8. May 14, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    I just emailed my weight watchers leader this week because I’ve been in a WW slump. He has known me a couple years now. He emailed me back and told me my feelings were normal and that I would deal with these feelings from time to time and then he told me, “Melissa I’ve known you awhile now. You are dealing with this so much better than you would have a couple of years ago. You are doing it. You are changing your life.” This is what I needed to hear. Jason, you are doing it. COncentrate on where you have come from. Just because we are making better choices on our eating sprees doesn’t make them ok, but it really does show us that we are doing it, making life changes, and being able to make this work with our lives.

  9. 17 cq
    May 15, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    Thats great! Its all about the power of small, take it a little step at a time. And dont focus on the big amount of weight you want to lose but just take it one meal at a time.


Leave a Reply

