14
May
09

Chafing from running!

sports bra chafing

sports bra chafing

When we run, our body parts rub each other.  At first it is not a big deal but as a person goes further and further (for them) the body parts chafe.  The body gets used to a distance and won’t chafe anymore but when you increase the distance beyond what the chafing areas are used to, they will chafe again.  The body parts don’t even have to touch for

Thigh chafing

Thigh chafing

them to chafe.  They can chafe just simply by rubbing on your shirt,  your bra,  maybe your jacket is heavy because of rain, socks, etc.  This is all to common and for many people just starting out it is a painful surprise.

So how does a person prevent chafing. 

shirt and HRM strap chafing

shirt and HRM strap chafing

There are many ways to prevent chafing while running.  For small areas like nipple, tops of feet, points on the colar bones, etc. you can use a band-aid or moleskin.  This will just prevent the friction all together.   One larger spots, just covering the area won’t usually work.  For thighs and legs you can prevent it buy wearing running pants or special running short liners.  I

nipple chafing

nipple chafing

don’t like this method but many people use it.  There is also body glidethat you can use for both large and small areas.   During marathons and ultra-marathons Vaseline is commonly handed out on sticks so that runners can apply it to chafing areas to reduce the pain but by that time the chafing has already occurred.  Vaseline does work to prevent chafing if you put in on prior and usually you have to reapply it later on too.  My personal to prevent chafing is Vick’s Vapor Rub.  This sounds crazy but even for a 50 miler I only put it on prior to the race and did not have to put it on again.  At the end of the race I had no chafing anywhere that I had put the vapor rub.

What do you do with chafing once it happens.  Ouch!!!  It hurts, you walk bow legged.  Showers kill!!!!  HAHAHA  To prevent things from rubbing the chafing you can cover them with a lubricant like body glide or Vaseline.  This is just a way to reduce the pain of further friction.  I think the miracle drug to remedy chafing that has already occurred is Vick’s Vapor Rub.  I don’t know why it works but it does.  If I have chafing, I can put the vapor rub on when I go to bed and it is all better by the morning.  It is amazing.  You should try it.
11 Responses to “Chafing from running!”


  1. 2 darrellnurse
    May 14, 2009 at 7:46 am

    Speaking as a long term runner, you are bang on Jason. I wear nipple guards EVERY time I run!!
    If I didn’t I would bleed! I hate seeing runners without nipple guards!!
    Thanks for a great post.
    Darrell

    • 3 run4change
      May 14, 2009 at 7:49 am

      It hurts so bad when first getting into the shower after your nipples have rubbed off. HAHAHA I do not have to protect them anymore up to a marathon distance. I think they are immune now. HAHAHA I saw several bloodies during the 40 miler. I had band-aids on mine that day. No chafing at all.

  2. 4 RobFitness
    May 14, 2009 at 8:02 am

    Wow, those are some serious painful pictures to look at. It’s reality though and a great post. Since I don’t run the distances as you do,I still notice the chaffing of my nipples but they don’t get that bad becasue like I said I don’t run a lot. The area I have big and serious problems with is my thighs. Last year they got so bad that I couldn’t walk and it was bleeding and infected. As a matter of fact I think I even posted about chaffing problems as well, when that happen, becasue it side lined me for a bit. I have use Body Glide but it didn’t work that well. I never thought of using Vick’s vapor rub though. I really appreciate you sharing that bit of knowledge.

    • 5 run4change
      May 14, 2009 at 8:17 am

      I swear by the vapor rub. I guy at work told me about it and I made fun of him forever for telling me to try it. One day I rubbed the living heck out of my thighs and as a last resort I tried it. It was gone the next morning. It has worked just like that ever since.

  3. 6 annieb123
    May 14, 2009 at 8:45 am

    I don’t think I will try the vapor rub thing. It sounds painful actually. As a woman I chafe just at the top of my sports bra. The problem is that I always chafe there no matter what so it is leaving very delicate skin for sun exposure and sunscreen just hurts when it is chafed.

    • 7 run4change
      May 14, 2009 at 8:48 am

      HAHAHA Like I said earlier, nobody ever tries out the vapor rub thing. Atleast that I know of. HAHAHA Maybe a some moleskin would work there.

  4. May 15, 2009 at 3:45 am

    Okay, owe! Seriously though, good information and good things to know. Thanks for sharing.

  5. 10 Sheila
    May 15, 2009 at 9:47 am

    (Raising hand)…”Chronic bra/heartrate strap, underside of arm, waistband and potential thigh chafer here!” Haha…It’s just part of running for me. All Hail the wonderful combo of BodyGlide & Aquaphor Healing Ointment!


Leave a Reply

