29
May
09

5:41 and 7:02

I can’t believe it.  It is like the impossible is happening before my eyes.  Last Sunday I ran a time trial for the half-marathon.  I finished it in 1:32 which comes out to be a 7:02 per mile pace.  This just astonished me since when I started running I just hoped to be able to run a 7 minute mile “someday”!!!!  I also learned that one can keep going at a fast pace even though you are breathing hard.  It had nothing to do with the ability to keep going and for a hard effort on things like a time trial or a PR attempt, I guess that this is the way it is.

Another amazing running victory is the 1 mile time trial that I did yesterday.  I did not run on Wednesday like I normally do because I was completely mentally exhausted and totally fatigued due to some auditing that was going on at my work.  Be scrutinized for 12 hours a day is tiring.  Anyway, since I did not do my hill sessions on Wednesday I decided to add some quality running in with my easy 6 miler yesterday.  That quality was a mile time trial.  My last time trial for the mile was 6:13.  Yesterday I ran a 5:41 mile.  This is amazing to my feable little running mind.  I did what I thought I would never ever be able to do.  

AMAZING!!!

17 Responses to “5:41 and 7:02”


  1. May 29, 2009 at 6:21 am

    You ARE amazing! That’s just awesome.

  2. 2 Kim
    May 29, 2009 at 7:58 am

    incredible!! You are amazing!!! DO I hear Olympic trials in yoru future???!?! 🙂

  3. 3 Vani
    May 29, 2009 at 8:06 am

    haven’t commented for awhile (though I’ve been reading) — those are INCREDIBLE accomplishments!!!! congratulations!

  4. May 29, 2009 at 8:10 am

    You are an amazing running machine! Keep up the good work. Hope your audit went well, I know how stressful they can be. (just put the auditor in a closet with a light and give him only the info he want) haha (that doesn’t work) you need to kiss their butts!!!

  5. 5 seanv2
    May 29, 2009 at 8:30 am

    wow, congratulations! 7:02 for a half marathon is fast indeed, it gives me hope that I’ll get faster one day.

  6. May 29, 2009 at 11:40 am

    WTG Jason! That is too cool!

  7. May 29, 2009 at 11:48 am

    way to go… that is awesome.

  8. May 29, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    That is beyond amazing! Congratulations!

  9. May 29, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    Great job! It is awesome to see you still striving for and achieving new goals. Keep it up!

  10. May 30, 2009 at 4:34 am

    That is fast! Wow!

  11. 11 Sheila
    May 30, 2009 at 10:03 am

    Awesome, awesome, and MORE AWESOME! What great accomplishments!

  12. 13 RobFitness
    May 31, 2009 at 10:12 am

    Man.. You really are making great strides. 🙂 Keep up the great work that your doing. Maybe the time away from blogging and the computer is the reason why you are doing so well. Sure do miss your comments and posts though. I do understand and I hope that you are doing well in all areas of your life. Happiness is the key to success and from what I read and see you must be quite happy becasue you are doing great things in your life. Take Care and know you remain in my thoughts and prayers. Enjoy the week ahead and may it continue to be a healthy one.

  13. 14 Shannon
    June 1, 2009 at 5:48 am

    That is amazing Jason!! Great job!

  14. June 1, 2009 at 6:06 am

    That’s GREAT! It’s amazing what we can do when allow ourselves to believe!!!

  15. 16 the Ringmaster
    June 1, 2009 at 10:15 am

    You know, a lot of times on the running boards over at RunningAHEAD people ask “how can I get faster?” Experienced runners always patiently explain that the only way to get faster is to just *run more*–speed comes naturally as you become a better runner who has spent more time on the roads.

    You have just become exhibit A. Congratulations!

  16. June 3, 2009 at 9:10 am

    That is great inspiration to me!! I did some speedwork last night, as I am hoping to make some goals I have set for myself in fall races. The speedwork miles were so hard and “uncomfortable” but even though it was not a relaxing run, it was possible. GREAT JOB!!


Leave a Reply

