01
Jun
09

Note to self!!

Dear me,

Don’t ever freakin listen to people who tell you to relax on your eating.  To relax on  your fitness.  To relax or to take a break from the healthy life.  Just smile at them and tell them that you just might.  Then walk away and rebuke those dang thoughts and tell yourself that what you just heard was bullshit! (sorry for the language).  

When people say the following things, don’t even consider them as even a half of a truth:

  • Oh you ran 20 miles you can eat that.
  • Gotta have a little here and there.
  • It is just fine to take a week off from exercise, I mean you have been doing sooooo good.
  • One won’t hurt you…..
  • Don’t be so hard on yourself about this Weight Watchers thing
  • Your in great shape you don’t need to watch what you eat THAT much.

Just remember, this is all bull crap.  These kind words of wisdom will lead you right back to weighing 307 lbs and to an early death.  It will lead you back to being a fat guy with a skinny beautiful wife who just wishes that you would live healthy so that you can be with her for a long time.  It will take you right back to not being able to walk from a parking stall a long ways off.  It will lead you right back to hating the way you look with a passion.

You know what it takes to stay fit, strong, healthy, lean.  Not a single person can do it for you.  Only you can do it.

14 Responses to “Note to self!!”


  1. June 1, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    Right on! Well said. It’s so true. Sometimes those well meaning thoughts are from within too, right? Sometimes its old tapes in our heads that we need to shush as well, right? I got the biggest vote of support when my mom offered to go to Applebees for dinner the other night. 🙂

    • 2 run4change
      June 2, 2009 at 5:27 am

      That is awesome that your mom is supportive. Mine is too. Thanks for the comment lil miss

  2. 3 Shannon
    June 1, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Amen!! Well said!

  3. June 2, 2009 at 4:00 am

    I appreciate this post so much.
    Please don’t listen to them. You are doing so well.
    I am in a weight watcher meeting with about 10 life timers that come every week and have been for years now. One lady just hit 5 years as a life timer and never misses a meeting. People constantly ask them how long they are going to continue on weight watchers and they answer forever. People don’t get it. It’s not lose the weight and we are done. We’ve all done that and gained all the weight back. Americans just want the quick fix and then be done.

    You are doing great and you are right, DON”T LISTEN TO THEM.
    Don’t let them get in your head. I’m still a long ways off from my reaching my goal, but I still have people that tell me I should take a break. I did around my graduation and gained 8 pounds. NEVER AGAIN!!!

    You are doing it and you are AWESOME. Thanks for the reminder.

    • 6 run4change
      June 2, 2009 at 5:28 am

      Meepa, you are always a wonderful encouragement to me and me health journey. Thank you so much.

  4. 7 Colleen
    June 2, 2009 at 4:25 am

    Wow I wish I read this before I gained back 35 out of my 55 pounds I had lost recently. I am going to print it out and save it though so I can remember the next time!

    • 8 run4change
      June 2, 2009 at 5:29 am

      Good idea Colleen. It is a good thing to remember. So many people do not understand the seriousness of falling back into the old ways

  5. 9 Amy
    June 2, 2009 at 4:57 am

    I really relate to this! I’m staying with my mom right now who in one breath tells me what I need to do to lose weight, and in the other, tries to justify why I can have foods I say no to. I think your response is perfect; let it roll of your back and feel strong knowing YOU are the ONLY one who knows what’s best for you. Food addicts don’t do so well with “just a little, or just once…” that’s how we got heavy in the first place, we are the kings and queens of justifying poor habits!!!
    P.S. I like a little “bad language”, it just tells me how passionate you are, and anger/frustration is a hell of a motivator!

    • 10 run4change
      June 2, 2009 at 5:32 am

      Glad you liked the language Amy. 🙂 It is essential in some posts to convey the emphasis as you say. Those who are addicted to food cannot reliably take eating advice from people who are not unless those people are educated as to what is going on inside the fat mind. Even taking advice from a food addict who is not doing anything about it bad because they will advise you to follow the fat mind even if only for a moment.

  6. 11 AmyJoGo
    June 2, 2009 at 7:04 am

    Amen!

    ~amy

  7. June 2, 2009 at 7:23 am

    Jason – You rock my friend, you rock. I always love reading your blog, but today was special…sometimes I feel like, whats the use…even though I am doing “well” ~ it would just be easier not to have to work so “hard”…

    When I start to think that way, I have to remember what it was like to not be able to cross my legs. Or how I wouldnt go to stuff at my kids school, because I didnt want the other parents to see me…am within 40 pounds of my goal…and so excited to say that I WILL NEVER GIVE UP…thanks for all your support. Your blog helps so many people. Take care of yourself and your lovely bride, but keep bloggin too! Hugs! SAM

  8. 13 seanv2
    June 2, 2009 at 9:03 am

    YES. I totally related to this with regards to running. Friends will tell me I’m taking it too seriously and I need to relax and take some time off now and then. Well, when I have done that in the past, I’ve gained weight and gotten slower, so no thanks. I think I’ll stick to being passionate about this and going at it with everything I have.


Leave a Reply

