02
Jun
09

Speed vs. long and slow.

I have realized something of late regarding running and the training methods used to improve it.  There is a big difference in running to lose weight and running to improve conditioning.  Any and all running will burn calories very well and contribute immensely to weight loss.  It is a fantastic activity which in the end pretty much burns more calories than any other activity.  As you know, I used the Galloway method to start out with my running and finish many marathons.  This method is founded on long, slow, and steady paced running to develop endurance.  This worked wonders for me and allowed me to stick with running and accomplish great things that I never imagined possible.  But where am I at now……………..

Now I no longer use the Galloway method for my running.  Well, I kind of do in a way for the longer ultra-marathons but not so much during the training.  In the running world many people use the wording “high quality workout”.  This basically means fast running whether it be 400 meters at 5k pace, a tempo 6 miler with 3 of those miles at 10K pace, or maybe some time trials at short distances.  This quality work is something that I never really did in the past.  Now it is a very important aspect of my training and it has improved my overall fitness beyond belief.  I still do looooong runs to develop endurance for races 26.2 and beyond, but the quality work also benifits these races as well.  Running a faster mile will bring down the average pace that you can run longer distances. 

Here is how I see things now as I am evolving in my understanding of running.  I needed to the long and steady and slow running for the start of my journey.  I needed to know mentally that I could be a runner in the first place.  But looking back, if I would have started out running the way I am now I would be much further ahead of where I am today.  The Galloway method got me into running and the “quality method” is improving me I guess.  It is an interesting journey to say the least.

3 Responses to “Speed vs. long and slow.”


  1. June 3, 2009 at 3:40 am

    Jason. I have told you a few times, I am not a runner…however ~ I am wanting to give it a try. I have just started walking on a treadmill again. Normally I can do a mile in 18 minutes…without much effort. I walk for 30 minutes. As of Monday I have started trying to do the first mile as fast as possible…then finish walking the rest of the time at about a 3.0-3.5 rate. I am pleased to say that yesterday I did the first mile in 15.49…. I would love to be able to run the full 30 minutes. Guess thats my first goal….ideas on how to improve without killing myself? Smile ~ SAM

    • 2 run4change
      June 3, 2009 at 4:45 am

      Thanks for the comment Sam. If you don’t want to kill yourself, 🙂 I recommend inserting a little bit of running each time you walk. Maybe just 10-30 seconds here and there. When that feels good, go for 30-45 seconds, and so on and so forth. That is the best way to do it. After a while you will be running most of the mile and then walking for a minute instead of the other way around. There is also the couch to 5k program as well as Jeff Galloway’s conditioning program which you can find the links on my running/marathoning page

  2. June 3, 2009 at 5:12 am

    Well…sounds like that is what I am doing now…so I will just keep it up. Right now, I do a fast walk (3.5…thats fast for me….as I have short legs) and then bump it up to either 4.5 or 5.0 for 90 seconds. Then I go back down to 3.5 or 3.8…I do that for the first mile, up and down on the speed…guess it will just take some time to build to wear I am running more than walking. Thanks for your suggestions…makes me feel like I am on the right path. smile ~ SAM


Leave a Reply

