09
Jun
09

You better watch out.

CAUTION SignYOU ARE NOT, NOR WILL YOU EVER BE, IMMUNE TO TRIPPING, BACK-SLIDING, MESSING UP, GOING OFF PROGRAM, GAINING WEIGHT!!!!

This is just a simple fact.  There is a somewhat common phenomenon where I work.  There are a couple of positions at the company that utilize a large band-saw.  These employees are experts at using this saw.  They have used it in the same fashion thousands of times.  They can use this saw with there eyes closed.  But one thing is for sure.  THE MINUTE THAT THEY STOP RESPECTING THE SAW THEY LOSE A FINGER.   That is right.  They might not lose the entire finger but they will lose a good portion of it.  Why?  Because they stopped humbly respecting the fact that the saw does not care how good you are at using it.  It is going to cut what ever touches the blade.  So it goes with the health journey.  Eating bad and not exercising will take its toll regardless of how good you are at the journey itself.  You can’t change the rules.  Eating more than you burn will cause you to gain.  Eating crap will make you feel like crap.  Binges, donuts, large quantities of food will all make you move just a little further from health.  It might be slowly, but it will happen if you stop humbly respecting the fact that you need to use caution at all times.  Like with the saw.  New people never get hurt on the saw because they are scared to death of getting cut but the longer they use the saw without getting cut the more comfortable they get in their own abilities. 

Never stop being careful for your own health.

16 Responses to “You better watch out.”


  1. 1 lissa10279
    June 9, 2009 at 6:10 am

    Great analogy.

  2. June 9, 2009 at 7:00 am

    This is SO true. The further you get from the starting point of weight loss the harder is it to keep that same pace. It can be hard and challenging, sometimes even painful, but always worth it!!
    Thanks for sharing this Jason….

  3. June 9, 2009 at 7:34 am

    Well said! LOVE the analogy too. How perfectly true. 🙂

  4. 4 RobFitness
    June 9, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    What you said my friend is so true and forgive me for not commenting sooner and sorry that you’re going through a rough match. I am sure though that you have the strength from our loving God that will help you through this. Plus we all know you have the knowledge and the drive/determination to overcome obstacles that we come across. No journey is perfect and we do backslide. For me I always take it as a learning experience and a step back into reality. Yes, I might me doing and feeling well today, but I am only one donut away from going to a place that I don’t want to be. Will that happen? As much as I don’t want it to, it will happen though. We are not perfect my friend. We make mistakes, we learn and we refocus ourselves were we need to be to get us to the point of success.
    I don’t know if any of this made sense but I do know what you are going through.
    Keep the Faith!
    be back in the AM to catch up on some more comments here. 🙂 Need to sleep now.

  5. 5 Colleen
    June 10, 2009 at 4:11 am

    Wow Jason that is such good insight! I have printed out so many of your entries and keep them in a folder for reading when necessary. Thank you.

  6. 6 darrellnurse
    June 10, 2009 at 4:17 am

    Very powerful, very true entry!!
    Thanks Jason.

  7. June 11, 2009 at 3:16 am

    Very true! 🙂 Great post. 🙂

  8. June 11, 2009 at 4:00 am

    This is a great post and a great thing to remember. In fact, it is the one thing that probably ruins most dieting success.

  9. June 12, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Thank you so much for this reminder. It has come at a great time in my journey. It was just what I needed to be reminded of. You’re the best. Thanks for keepin’ it real and being an open book with us through the good, the bad, and the ugly. Take care my friend.

  10. 11 fitfan
    June 12, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    Wow. Harsh and apt. I’m sitting here having had Wendy’s for lunch (which is allowed in my current eating pattern), and feeling like crap, so this hits home quite strongly. Thanks for this!

  11. 12 charleshbaker
    June 12, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    Excellent post, Jason. You are exactly right. The saw does not care what touches it, it just cuts.

  12. June 14, 2009 at 3:32 am

    Boy is that the truth. No one is immune. Keep up the good work. Thanks for the reminder.

  13. 14 Sheila
    June 14, 2009 at 6:20 am

    As someone who has “lost a few fingers” I think this message ought to be plastered on everything like a tobacco warning! So many of us go back to our old way of eating after sliding slowly over time. It may be with the help of all of the: “Just ONE TIME?! You can eat that!” and “What are you talking about?! You are getting too skinny!” (Note…I don’t think I’ve EVER had a person who was ACTUALLY SKINNY tell me this…)

    All references to “crabs in a barrel” asside, I take responsibility for shrinking my life as I’ve expanded my body, but I wish these warnings to those of us who EXCLAIMED we were “results not typical!” poster children would have been more prominant than the teeny lettering at the bottom of every ad/success story. Like, I wish they’d devote some meetings every few months on the topic, but, then, I guess that wouldn’t keep people motivated and might be a financial risk to WW. After all, WW meetings reflect that despite the recent ad campaign, it is a weight LOSS company, not a weight maintenace company.

    Thanks, (as always) for keepin’ it real! (P.S. – your firepit looks FANTASTIC!)

  14. June 15, 2009 at 8:33 am

    Wow, awesome illustration. This is so true and I learned the hard way this past week.


Leave a Reply

