17
Jun
09

How to gain weight on weight watchers.

Hello everyone.  I know I have not been posting to much but I just don’t feel like it lately.  I still greatly appreciate the comment that keep coming in as they are very encouraging to me.  I had my weigh-in last night at my WW meeting.  I was pretty confident going in that I had lost at least some of the weight that I had gained over the last two weeks.  I was chipper as I walked to the scale.  Once I got on the scale all the “chipperness” went away very quickly.  190 lbs.  I gained another 3 something pounds over the last week.  I was sure that I was going to lose.  I could say that it was some random and odd reason that I gained but I am sure it is just the way I have been eating AND THINKING!!!  There are no excuses whatsoever for the gain.  I have been running a lot.  I have been working in the yard a lot.  I have been EATING A LOT.  That is that!!  That is how a person can gain weight even while training for a 100 mile endurance running event.  SUCKS!!!

Here is how you too can gain weight on weight watchers:

  • Listen to the lies that you can have a little here and one of that, etc. 
  • Believe that exercise will always make up for bad food choices.   I truly tested this over the last three weeks.  I took the hypothesis of “if you run a lot you don’t have to be careful with what you eat” and truly tested it.
  • Strictly count your points all day long until the evening and then stop counting.
  • Don’t go to some of your meetings.
  • Eat mass quantities of watermelon with the mindset that fruit is good for you.
  • Give sugary snacks enough room to creep into the door.
  • Don’t be strict with your choices.
  • Keep telling yourself that you are doing great when you know you are not.
  • Eat in order to feel better. 
  • Don’t prepare for your weeks food choices.
  • Don’t bring a nice lunch to work.

There you have it.  I have been doing all of these A LOT in the last three weeks.  I am depressed about it.  Not so depressed that I can’t see the truth of the situation but depressed  because of the cognitive dissonance that is occuring (This means I am not acting in accordance to my beliefs).  I will lose the weight because I am excellent at losing weight but I tested the overwhelming concensus that if you are an endurance athlete you have much more liberty.

NOT TRUE!  YOU STILL NEED TO DO YOUR PROGRAM JUST THE SAME.  EATING THE SAME OR LESS THAN WHAT YOU BURN.

25 Responses to “How to gain weight on weight watchers.”


  1. 1 seanv2
    June 17, 2009 at 8:47 am

    Though I don’t go to weight watchers, this list speaks to me. As I have been running more and more, I’ve thought it less important to watch what goes in my stomach and I’m paying for that on the scale. Here’s to both of us being smart with our choices in the future!

  2. June 17, 2009 at 9:38 am

    It’s soo true those little things definitely add up at the end of the week! At least you realized it and are trying to change 🙂

  3. 4 Sarah
    June 17, 2009 at 11:57 am

    Ouch…a lot of these rules apply to me, thanks for the wake-up call.

  4. June 17, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    It is very hard this journey we are on and I want you to know I”m praying for you.

  5. 7 RobFitness
    June 17, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Man I’m sorry to hear that you are going this a bit of a rough patch at this time. It isn’t always an easy journey that we are on. I myself have fallen off the beaten path as well as you may recall several months ago. At least you know why you have gained. Now you have to take that knowledge and reverse what you did wrong and before you know it you’ll be on track again. You have to nip in in the bud quickly though becasue before you know it , it can get worse as well and I’d hate to see that happen to ya.
    I know you can do this. You have all the tool and you just have to use them again to your advantage.
    I’m hear cheering you on and rooting for you all the way. Be strong brother and put all your Faith in HIM as well and He will lead you down the right path again.

  6. June 17, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    I don’t know anything about weight watchers except they have been a bit uncivilzed to Tony over at anti jared blog. (he still speaks hightly of them)

    Some things on your list would kill me on my diet also.

    Anyways good luck to you
    cheers

  7. 11 DouloScott
    June 17, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    Thanks for the honesty.

    In May I went on vacation and gained 6 lbs, not a big surprise…I expected 5 of them. Then I quickly lost 3.2 lbs over the next week. Then I gained 1.4 and lost 0.8. The fact was that until the last three weeks I hadn’t really been working the plan. If you work the plan, the plan works for you.

    You KNOW what to do as you have said, but you are right about the cognitive dissonance. I was there too. Keep at Making The Better Choice and consuming less calories than you are burning. Begin this by TRACKING and going to your meetings.

    Again thanks for the honesty…you are an encouragement and hopefully my getting back on track will encourage you to do the same. I am not yet at Goal, but I am 117 lbs into the journey…just 72.6 more to go.

    • 12 run4change
      June 18, 2009 at 7:00 am

      Thanks a lot DouloScott. Your comment was very encouraging and great job on the weight loss

  8. June 17, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    Don’t be too hard on yourself. Sometimes going off track is the best thing to get you back on track. It usually makes me more determined.

    • 14 run4change
      June 18, 2009 at 6:50 am

      Thanks Robin. Not being hard on myself at all really. It is just facts. I too am determined once again

  9. 15 mikki
    June 17, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    you are living it every day: before enlightenment, chop wood and carry water. after enlightenment, chop wood and carry water. you have great insight and experience, and thank you for sharing your downs and ups. your human-ness about it all is so very inspiring and helpful. you’re a real person and not a *results not typical person, you know?
    i’ve tested the run-eat-run-eat-gain-weight hypothesis, too, with the same results. keep on keeping on!

    • 16 run4change
      June 18, 2009 at 6:49 am

      Thanks mikki. I appreciate it a lot. You are right about before and after enlightenment. Still the real world to live in no matter how enlightened one becomes. This comment is perfectly timely for me. More than you would ever know.

  10. 17 athleticme
    June 17, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    Jason–thanks for sharing. I know you can turn it around and get back on track. I’m looking at a 50 pound weight gain since December and I’m pretty down about it. I appreciate hearing about your struggles because it helps me know that we all go through it and that I’ll overcome these challenges too. Keep on trucking. Teresa

  11. June 18, 2009 at 4:42 am

    I don’t go to weight watchers either. I do however think that this list speaks to ANYONE that is in maintenance stages. We are what we are, and it is TOO easy to slide back and make excuses. Hence why statistics show that so many people that lose weight gain it back in the first few years. There are some that keep it off, most I am sorry to say do not.
    We can never get lax in our choices to do the right thing. I know for me that without the exerccise, I would be in a much more dire situation. I exercise a lot (not like you) but still 5-6 days a week….
    Hang in there Jason…

    • 20 run4change
      June 18, 2009 at 6:48 am

      Thanks Carrie for your encouragement. It is easy to slip back but I am never going all the way back. HAHAHAHA :).

  12. 21 lissa10279
    June 18, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Just be careful with the black and white thinking … saying “I can never have this” is just as bad as eating a box of it. Moderation is best. Eating cleanly 90% of the time, and allowing yourself the occasional treats (or rest days) so you don’t go to town binging or whatnot, throwing in the towel.

    Glad you’re dusting yourself off now…remember, you’re worth it!

  13. June 18, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Your list cracks me up. I think the water from the watermelon must be where the 3 pounds came from! I lost 17 lbs on WW, about 3 from my goal. Then I started doing all the things you listed and bam! – gained 17 lbs… so depressing.

  14. 23 shannon
    August 14, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    Hi, I stumbled on your blog while trying to get more info on WW. I had lost 90 lbs with a trainer but couldn’t afford him anymore and gained 28 lbs back the past 8 months. My mom has had a lot of luck with WW so I decided to give it a shot in addition to keeping up my gym membership. One of my concerns (and I see it on your list with the watermelon) is that WW seems to allow for a high sugar intake with fruit, their little snack cakes and the ice cream products. I know from working with my trainer that this isn’t good and I feel like filling up my snack points with these items will prevent me from losing weight at a faster rate. So I’ve decided to keep my sweets to sugar-free items (with are still low points but don’t include the sugar) and when given the option of a white carb vs. a whole grain carb I’m going to go for the whole grain instead- even if WW gives them the same points.

    Good luck to all! I know changing a lifestyle is very difficult…especially when there are several options out there and it gets confusing!

    • 24 run4change
      August 14, 2009 at 1:25 pm

      Hi Shannon,

      According to the actual scientific research outthere on weight loss, CALORIES are the bottom line and not so much the make up of those calories. Now more meaningful ratios of fat/protein/carbs can make a slight difference but in the long run it is the calorie deficit that brings about weight loss. When getting way done in the body fat % ranges of “very lean” ratios make a difference.

  15. 25 Nat
    January 20, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    hello, I just started ww this last saturday, and now it is wednesday and I feel like i am gaining weight. I am very faithful to track all my points, and i did start my period, but it is very discouraging. I have several friends who are my accountability partners that I have to text on Sat. at my next meeting what my weight is. I have cut my points down by 3 today and increasing my water, I hope this works. I am not looking forward to Saturday, and I was glad to join, now I am not sure. perhaps my body is freaking out with all the vegetables I have been eating.:) I will try to do what your list says, especially with sugar. not all points are egual.


Leave a Reply

