01
Jul
09

Marathon 15 was a success.

map_marathon_lgThe marathon/training run went very well.  I got up at 3 a.m., ate my food, had my coffee and then headed out for my first 10 miles for the day.  Right after I finished my 10 miler I went over to the starting line to wait for the official start.  There were around 180 something people running the marathon and a multitude were participating in the half-marathon and half-ironman distance triathlon.

I paced very well throughout.  I did a 4:1 run/walk ratio with 10 minute miles for running portions and easy walking for the walking portions.  This was very manageable for the 36 mile distance.  I finished the marathon in 4:34 and my pace for the entire 36 miles was in the mid 10’s.  I was very pleased.  I ate about 300 calories per hour, took 3 electrolyte tablets per hour, and drank around 21 ounces of wate per hour.  This intake allowed me to do the last 2 miles at a 7:11 pace.

It was in the mid 80’s temperature wise when I finished.  THe heat did not bother me much although I could “feel” it. HAHAHAHAHA  After the marathon my sister and I went to the town of Bend and went shopping for a couple of hours before hitting the couch to watch movies and eat for the rest of the evening.  It was a wonderful weekend and the marathon organization and course were just perfect.  I would recommend this as a destination marathon for anyone interested.  Great race.

I will be skipping my WW meeting because my mom has had her hip replaced and I am going to go visit her in the hospital instead.

19 Responses to “Marathon 15 was a success.”


  1. 1 AmyJoGo
    July 1, 2009 at 5:13 am

    Congratulations!!! You did awesome, as always!

    I’ll be praying for a speedy recovery for your mom 🙂

  2. July 1, 2009 at 6:32 am

    Congratulations to you! Haven’t heard too much from you lately. I’ve been missing your posts. Hope your mom does okay with her hip replacement.

    Was good to read about your 4:1 run/walk ratio… because…. guess what? I HAVE REGISTERED FOR MY VERY FIRST 5K RUN! I am doing it July 11th. It’s the “Run of the Mill” in Mill Creek Wa. I bet if you Google, you can find it, and it has a video of the run course. I’m super excited and super nervous and you, my bloggy friend, are one of my inspirations.

    I’ll post pictures and stories about it on my blog when I’m done. Meanwhile, I’m preparing by walking/running/biking some about 5 days a week now. It will be what it will be. Right? At least I”m trying.

    • 4 run4change
      July 1, 2009 at 7:53 am

      Sounds like you are doing great little miss. It is going to be awesome to finish your race.

  3. July 1, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    Congratulations! I never have a doubt about your ability to do good in a run. I am sorry to hear about your Mom though. I trust all is going well in the recovery though.

  4. 7 RobFitness
    July 2, 2009 at 3:46 am

    Man, you did awesome. Way to go in pushing yourself forward. Nothing will ever keep you down, will it? I truly hope that your journey continues on the path you desire it to take. With you drive and determination I am sure you’ll continue to succeed in all this. Sure am sorry that I haven’t posted in a bit. I do stop by and check in on you. Miss ya man! Wishing you the best in everything. Keep at it bro..

  5. 9 Robin
    July 2, 2009 at 4:12 am

    Congratulations. Very inspirational. I’ve started training for the Goofy Challenge at Disney World in January and really enjoy reading about how you run 4:1 ratio’s. My plan is a 2:1 ratio still for the 2 days.

    Can you share what you ate for 300 calories/hour and what electrolyte tablets you took?

    Best wishes to your mother in her recovery.

    Robin

    • 10 run4change
      July 3, 2009 at 12:08 pm

      Robin, I ate Hammer Nutrition Perpetuem for all of my calories and I used three Hammer Nutrition Endurolyte capsules every hour too. The Perpetuem is a drink but it does not contain electrolytes. These are the best options in my opinion for endurance activities

  6. July 2, 2009 at 7:06 am

    That is awesome! I can’t believe you ran 10 miles before running the marathon! Crazy, crazy! Good for you. Sorry I haven’t been around lately. You gave me the running bug so I’ve been busy running.

  7. July 2, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    WTG, Jason!!!

    I just signed up to run the 26.2 with Donna (again).

    I have lost my mind.

  8. July 2, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    And, I hope your Mom is doing well.

  9. 16 charleshbaker
    July 2, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Congrats on the run, Jason! You are an inspiration. You just might get me on the distance run thing. Do you really enjoy it? What’s it feel like mentally to complete 36 miles?

    • 17 run4change
      July 3, 2009 at 12:05 pm

      Charles, I do enjoy the LOOOONGER distances. It depends on what ‘mental feeling” you are talking about. There is the side of it where you feel proud, in disbelief that you can do this, happy, accomplished. Then there is the suffering side of it. Like why did I do this again. Can I make it? It really hurts, is it injury or just pain? Etc, etc.

  10. July 3, 2009 at 10:54 am

    I found your blog recently when searching for “weight watchers” and endurance athletes. Thank you so much for creating this presence!

    My journey is through the looking glass of yours. I just completed my 4th Ironman 2 weeks ago and while I was thrilled to take over 30 minutes off my last time, I was ashamed when looking at my race pictures. I have been able to muscle my strong, but overweight body through some pretty tough training sessions and races, including ultra-marathons and qualifying for and running the Boston Marathon twice. Last week, I made the decision to join weight watchers again. I had joined years ago and lost 50 lbs and starting triathlon training and running. I quit WW because I figured all the training I was doing would keep me going. The pounds started to creep back on, and I would just hurl myself at my training harder, yet continue to give myself full license to eat whatever I wanted.

    So here I am now and I made the commitment to the WW program for one year. I am so glad to have your blog to read as I work towards this newest goal.

    PS: Have you ever thought of doing Comrades Marathon? I plan to be there in 2011.

    Seujan

    • 19 run4change
      July 3, 2009 at 11:43 am

      Most certainly Seujan. I desire to do the Comrades very much and plan to do it as a family vacation sometime in the future. I am not sure when, but it IS on the list. Also, thank you very much for your comment as if means very much to me. I needed to hear this so that I can stay motivated and not give into the temptation of eating “whatever” just because I am a runner. I look forward to more correspondence with you. Thanks a lot.


Leave a Reply

