10
Jul
09

Being honest about yourself.

honest-beggarI need to be honest about who I am.  This is basic stuff that is easily forgotten.  I can try and convince myself that I am like someone else or that I have more “will power” than I actually do or that I am in perfect control but this gets me nowhere.  Being honest with myself will get me “somewhere” much closer to where I am trying to go.  This post is a spin off of yesterdays post. 

Let me give you a “word picture” of what it looks like when I am NOT honest with myself.  In my mind I start to think that I can do what I want with minimal consequences.  I mean shoot, lots of other people do it.  I say people eat whatever they want and stay think all the time and since I am NOW thin I can do the same.  I run a lot too so I have even more fudge room.  Anyway, so I start doing this and it works out for a little bit.  I start to become confident in my bodies ability fight off fat and not gain.  A week or two goes by and I have a gain but I blame it on a marathon or a long run.  This allows me to remain dishonest with my true personality.

Now let me give you what it looks like when I AM honest with myself.  I count what I eat because I know that weight loss, maintenance, and gain are all just dictated by a basic formula.  I even count the points that I eat during long runs and keep counting my points for the rest of the day after a maraton.  I may go a little hog wild but the next meal is right on track.  I never weigh myself because I can look at my numbers and know how I am doing because I have been honest with what I have consumed and burned.  I realize that it is not complicated to keep it off as long as I stay away from the junk that send me into the deep end.  To this end, I stay away from those things regardless of what I want or how much activity I have done.

Are you honest with yourself or do you believe your own little deceptions.  I believe the heck out of myself I tell ya.  Here are some basic statements that bring me back to reality.

  • I am pre-disposed to being addictive with food that have a high abuse potential.
  • I try and feel better by eating these foods but don’t end up accomplishing it.
  • I am a happier person when I am more rigid and experience success.
  • Junk food develops an addictive cycle in my life.
  • I need scheduled and organized grocery shopping outings.
  • I love to eat large quantities so I need to eat really healthy stuff so that I can.  Junky food or not, I am going to eat larger amounts.  I like bulk.
  • I never really missed the junk food that I am eating now when I was not eating it.  I wanted it in the “bad” moments but 15 minutes later the temptation was gone.

What about you guys?  Do you know yourself as a person and develop your eating and healthy living routine around the truth?

11 Responses to “Being honest about yourself.”


  1. July 10, 2009 at 5:31 am

    My husband recently had a heart attack, so I went about researching nutrition, “smart heart diet”, etc. Despite buying a zillion books, I’ve found I learn more from browsing online than from all the books I’ve read! Thanks~

    • 2 run4change
      July 10, 2009 at 6:07 am

      Heart Gal. There is an abundance of Info. on the net isn’t there. It is like eating fish though. You have to spit out the bones. Keep on keeping on.

  2. 3 Becky
    July 10, 2009 at 5:36 am

    Great post! I have copied the factors that you list above to remind myself of the approach that I must take. Thank you for the inspiration!

  3. 5 Amy
    July 10, 2009 at 5:52 am

    Hi Jason,
    I just want you to know that I’ve read your struggles and triumphs and greatly appreciate your honesty. As a fellow food addict; one who lost 200lbs. and gained back 170 of it, I know the games well. First of all, don’t underestimate the power of physical activity. It is the number one reason I gained back all of the weight–(I was an “athlete” for a very brief year of my life, and now am starting at square one again) you continue to stay committed to running and working out: that equals better health, no matter what you weigh!
    Secondly, I want you to know that your willingess to look at yourself and your addiction is the other piece to fitting your puzzle together. Addiction is powerful, and it will some times trick us into fooling ourselves, like you mentioned. But you and I know different, we’ve experienced freedom from the chains… and that freedom is worth fighting for every single day for the rest of your life, don’t you agree? Be kind to yourself.
    Amy
    http://www.hungryhungryhipgirl.com

    • 6 run4change
      July 10, 2009 at 7:17 am

      Amy, your comment is fantastic. completely understand and agree with what you are saying. I don’t under-estimate exercise either. I respect its ability to creat and maintain health but I also know that it won’t keep the weight off if that is all I do. It is a HUGE piece of the puzzle though. I just think this comment is awesome and I thank you for posting it.

  4. July 10, 2009 at 6:42 am

    Hey Jason,

    I’m an avid reader of your blog, although I’ve never posted until today. I wanted to encourage you to keep going with your more “rigid” way of controlling your eating, by avoiding trigger foods. For me, it’s much the same- once I stop eating junk, I don’t crave it and don’t need it. But once it gets re-introduced, well, I’m not the type of girl to have one cookie and call it a day. So I too avoid the ones that do that to me, and fill up on larger amounts of grilled veggies or something like that. Much better for me! I think it’s definitely the mark of an addictive personality, but since we both know that, it is much easier to stay on track, if we choose to.

    You are a great example of a work in progress. I read your blog and see your struggles, and I feel like I’m not alone in my crazy eating habits and excuses (haha the “I ran, I can eat junk and be fine” one is my favorite). Thanks for everything and keep on being a success :).

    Cyndi

    • 8 run4change
      July 10, 2009 at 7:03 am

      Cyndi. Thanks very much for leaving a comment. I am glad to meet you. 🙂 I am so with you about bulking up with veggies and stuff. I also stop craving the junk if I never eat the junk but once I indulge in it I want to eat it every single and even multiple times a day. Must go for now but keep on commenting and we can converse more. Thank you

  5. July 10, 2009 at 6:48 am

    I think the majority of us can really attest to what you wrote here. The only thing is that not everyone is at the same level. In order to effectively get all of this going, I truly believe one must be able to start with a little bit, then move forward to pressing and making sure all of the pieces are in place for a lifestyle change. This isn’t just a short-term diet, but a change in how one looks at food and exercise for optimum results.

  6. 10 p4p
    July 10, 2009 at 8:40 am

    Hey jason — sounds like you have been struggling lately. I also have been struggling. I am more active now than probably ever and maintaining my current weight instead of losing because of the giving into trigger foods thing. I can’t just have a blueberry fritter. It fucks me up for like a month! I feel like I might sound like a heroin addict. Food addictions are just as serious. What we eat is so important for our physical and neurological health, it’s good to check in how honest we are being with ourselves if that will lead to better choices. I, for one, have not been honest with myself lately. So, thanks for the reminder.

    • 11 run4change
      July 10, 2009 at 9:05 am

      Thanks for stopping by p4. Food addiction is just as serious and it especially sucks that we cannot abstain. HAHAHAHAH


Leave a Reply

