11
Jul
09

Great ways to lose and maintain.

colorful-vegetablesI wanted to make a list of things that we can do to take the weight off.  Basically, the same things that take the weight off also keep the weight off so the list goes for both phases of the journey to health.  This is a great reminder for me on what I need to keep doing to stay healthy and live happily.

Keep in mind that the list is geared towards people who tend towards an unhealthy relationship with food.  Some people don’t have this type of relationship and can lose weight just by trying to “eat less”.  I am not one of those people and many of you are not either.  So here goes my little list:

  • Count what you eat.  Whether this means counting calories, points, portions, carbs, etc.; there is no way to know how much you are eating and if you are in a calorie deficit or not without it.
  • Eat a variety of foods.  By this I mean eat a variety of HEALTHY foods.  I have at times told myself that by eating junk food I was adding variety but this simply not what I mean.  Obviously a variety of junk food put the pounds on, not off.
  • Eat more color.  Most healthy and fresh foods have lots of color.  This is a simple little test especially at a salad bar.
  • Exercise a lot.  A lot= different things for different people but doing mucho exercise for where you are in the journey is very helpful in weight loss and maintenance.
  • Plan your pants off.  Having a plan helps tremendously.  Plan for unexpected outing or dinners.  Have a plan to deal with these things ahead of time.  Plan for your grocery shopping.  Plan for your week.  Plan for your loss.
  • Be open.  Being open with yourself and a few trusted others is a fantastic way to live life in the truth of the moment.  Living in the dark is no way to lose weight.  Live large and live in the open.  A double life is what got many of us in trouble.  How often to you binge or eat junk food with your trusted others.  Usually it is alone and in the car. HAHAHAHAHA
8 Responses to “Great ways to lose and maintain.”


  1. July 11, 2009 at 7:36 am

    I so agree with everything on this list 🙂 It’s how i try to live everyday!

  2. July 12, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Great list.

    Man that last point really got me. It is hard to be completely open but that is what is needed. You are so right about the double life being led in the dark that gets you in trouble. It’s the stuff I ate when I’m alone that caused my problems.

    • 4 run4change
      July 13, 2009 at 5:47 am

      It is hard Mary. But being honest with yourself is soooo important. It is a point I am working on all the time.

  3. July 12, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    You have a great blog site. I find that eating small amounts more often, say up to 3 hours, has worked for me more than the calorie counting (no good at maths) – but like you, healthy and colorful!

  4. 7 donna
    July 12, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    Hi Jason,heh you hit a note about binging in your car,well thats me all the way.I have actually stood in the closet and binged,but I came out of the closet(little humor,ha,ha) and got in the car.You are so right about counting what you eat,I wonder how many of us grab the bag of kettle chips and say Im going to count out 10 of them and put the bag down?The bag goes down alright only empty.Great post my friend.

    • 8 run4change
      July 13, 2009 at 5:23 am

      Not many count out the Ten I can tell you that. HAHAHAHA At least not with the dreaded Kettle Chips. 🙂


Leave a Reply

