17
Jul
09

25th anniversary! Off topic but a major part of my daily life.

mole_1

The above picture is a mole.  Most of us don’t like moles because they can cause mass destruction of a lawn or garden.  I moved into my home last August.  I have been living there almost one year.  When I moved in the moles had established a small kingdom in my lawn.  I hated it.  I felt helpless as to how to fix the issue.  Many of you may feel the same.  So what did I do?????????????????  I did my research.  I learned about the mole.  I studied the mole activity in my lawn to confirm what I had learned.  Then I set out on the war of attrition.  I set out to reduce their numbers.  I began to catch the moles.

In a little less than one year, I have caught 25 moles.  Last night I had my 25th anniversy.  I got my 25th mole.  What satisfaction it was.I have found two major and permanent tunnels used to enter my property.  I now catch the moles before any damage can be done.  Here are some fast facts about moles and what you can do to get rid of them.

  • Trapping is the only effective way to manage moles.  They eat insects and worms so they are not interested at all in poisons.  All research that says poisons work is performed by the poison manufacturer and is biased.
  • Moles can dig new tunnels at a rate of 18 feet per hour and they can travel through an established tunnel at a rate of 80 feet per hour.  This is true.  I have captured a live mole and put it in a box of soil to monitor.  They are quite fast and they can gobble up a worm in no time.  Very interesting.
  • When trapping a mole, you must find the permanent tunnel that they are using.  The mole hill IS NOT THE PERMANENT TUNNEL.  The vertical tunnel in a mole hill LEADS to the permanent tunnel that is usually around 1 foot to one side of the hill.  Use a steel probe to find this tunnel and put your device there.
  • Home remedies do not work.  Car exhaust in the tunnels, flooding, smoke, razor blades, glass, gum, etc.  These do not work.  Mole activity can be sporadic and this makes it “appear” that these strategies have worked but in actuality the moles are just moving deeper or to another location.
  • Moles are so soft because of their special hair structure.  Their hair is on a folical that can pivot in all directions so that it can easily move forward and backward in a tunnel without at problem.

Here are some great links to do your own research on how to deal with moles in your landscape.

Mole control from Ohio State University

General mole information

Washington State University mole identification and activity

Wildlife management

The best site for mole information: THE MOLE MAN.

Michigan State University how to identify a moles activity

The biology of moles

7 Responses to “25th anniversary! Off topic but a major part of my daily life.”


  1. 1 AmyJoGo
    July 17, 2009 at 11:00 am

    Ha! I just never know what I’m going to learn next on your blog. 🙂 Kinda cute little suckers…minus the human looking digits he’s sporting…that’s a little freaky. Do they bite or turn hostile in any way whenever you’ve caught them? And what do you do with them once you catch em?

    • 2 run4change
      July 17, 2009 at 11:09 am

      Amy- The moles will/can bite but their tendencie is to avoid us at all costs. I have read that if they hear you when in their tunnel they can stay perfectly still for hours on end to remain un-noticed.

      I throw the moles into the field once I catch them. There is a field behind my house. Then the neighboors cat will come and get them and put them on his porch so he thinks that his cat is catching the moles that are in his yard. It is hilarious when he tells me how many moles his cat has caught because it is exactly the same number that I have thrown into the field. HAHAHAHAHAHA 🙂

  2. July 17, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    This is as bad as the mice and rats and even bigger than the other picture. UGH!! I couldn’t even read the whole thing cause it was creeping me out. HAHA Could you please email me a small critter warning next time you put a pic in your post. HAHA

    Congrats on catching the 25th. I just have one question, cause i quit reading, how do you catch them and where do you release them?

  3. July 17, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    I was so grossed out I didn’t read the comment or your answer, so you answered my question.

    Just wanted to let everyone know that I posted my Triathlon race report from June on my blog with pictures that DO NOT include rats, mice, or moles. If you want to check it out you can at http://www.mommymeepa.blogspot.com
    Jason, if you do not want me telling people about my blog on here just let me know.

    • 5 run4change
      July 20, 2009 at 2:03 pm

      I don’t mind at all meepa. I am very sorry that your comment did not go up. It was for some reason sent to my spam area. I have moved it over now. Sorry about that. Awesome job on the Tri. Keep it going my friend.

  4. 6 Kari
    July 23, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    my gosh that thing is disgusting looking.

  5. May 3, 2010 at 7:52 am

    I can relate to your mole problem…my little blighter has caused absolute havoc in my garden over the winter months. Funnily enough I just put up a blog post relating to this problem.

    I have now decided not to feed the cat until she earns her keep……. 🙂


Leave a Reply

