20
Jul
09

Why not? Letter to my neighbor.

I saw a neighboor sitting in his front yard with his wife the other day.  This man is very over weight.  I always just hope for him that he will lose the weight.  It is not that I look down on him or think negatively of him in anyway, it is just that I understand how he must feel and I also understand how HE CAN FEEL.  I know that it can be better for him but it is hard you know.

Dear neighboor,

Why not go for it.  I totally understand how hard and impossible it might seem to lose the weight.  I know that you might not feel capable of doing this.  I know that you don’t like the way you feel about your weight.  I know that it is just uncomfortable to be in your own skin.  I promise you that I know.  You see, I was once over weight too.  I once felt all the same feeling both physical and emotional that you do.  I have now lost the weight but I have not lost the memory of how it used to be.  

So why not give it a shot.  I know that telling someone to lose weight just never works but I want you to see the possibilities.  I want you to see that a normal person who works and has a regular life can do it.  Just take it slow.  Just slowly improve your eating.  Just start to move a little more.  I see you working in the yard sometimes so I know you can do it.  Just go for a walk with your wife.  You’ll find that the lbs start to come off.  This will start the momentum to keep at it.  It will feel good to succeed. 

Why not?  You have nothing to lose.

Sincerely,

Your neighboor

10 Responses to “Why not? Letter to my neighbor.”


  1. July 20, 2009 at 3:49 am

    It would be nice if it were only that easy. Unfortunately, everyone has to get to that point on their own. Oddly enough, it often seems like any type of encouragement we offer goes on deaf ears. It certainly doesn’t make sense, but it sure seems to work that way. I have a lot of my family who are “healthy” as they call it, which has nothing to do with healthy, but instead has to do with being overfed. Unfortunately, most of them would rather make jokes about it than do anything about it.

  2. July 20, 2009 at 5:30 am

    I often want to write a similar letter to people I know. It’s difficult to see people who are not happy with who they are but don’t think they can do anything about it. As a former heavy person I know that they can do it but I don’t think they do. You letter was well written and not judgy at all.

    BTW I love reading your blog. I’m doing WW and have about 13 pounds to go until goal. It’s nice to see someone who has done so well with the program and keeps going even when things aren’t perfect. Keep it up. You are an inspiration. I love reading about your running (I’m a runner too). I’ll never run an ultra but I’m inspired to keep improving my skills.

    • 4 run4change
      July 20, 2009 at 6:16 am

      I often say regardin running ultra’s and marathons that this does not make one a “real” runner. I see that sometimes people (including myself at one point) feel that if they don’t run a marathon then there are not a “real” runner. The truth is, most runners, even the elite ones; don’t run a marathon ever. THe most important thing is to develop a life long relationship with running as an activity thats develps us both physically and mentally/emotionally.

      Thanks for your comment.

  3. July 20, 2009 at 6:57 am

    Loved your letter. I also loved your mole post. The things I learn on a weight-loss blog.

    Thanks for education!

    • 6 run4change
      July 20, 2009 at 2:02 pm

      Thanks so much for loving my mole post Dana. I researched and studied soooo hard to catch these things.

  4. July 20, 2009 at 10:42 am

    Hi Jason. I wish I would have been receptive to a letter like this when I had a lot less to lose. I can’t help but think that you write a letter like this everyday by writing in this blog and by living a good example of what can be done to those around you. Hearing of your successes and struggles certainly provides me with extra motivation. Thanks!

    • 8 run4change
      July 20, 2009 at 2:01 pm

      Thanks Athlete. I hope that what I write inspires and encourages. I would never send the letter to my neighboor but it was on my mind.

  5. 9 Angela
    July 21, 2009 at 9:33 am

    This reminded me so much of your entry last winter “Can you see it in my eyes?” (I think that was the name of it) I like the way you think. Compassion is so rare anymore.


Leave a Reply

