21
Jul
09

I am nervous.

My second 50 miler is coming up this Saturday.  I am a bit nervous about it.  There are so many factors that go into completing such a race and it is hard to go into it casually.  I certainly respect the distance, the terrain, and the elements.  These all have an impact on a runner over the span of time from start to finish. 

First off, there is supposed to be a significant amount of heat during the race.  The high is supposed to be 82.  I know this does not sound that hot but it really is for a race.  The heat makes things trickier because of what it does to your body.  My body will need to use more blood and such to cool my body.  This in turn leaves less blood for my digestive system to use the food I need which my muscles will use to keep going forever and ever.  When this happens, you puke or your stomach hurts like heck or you just have to go for hours in discomfort.  That sucks.  The only way to remedy this is to slow down.

The second thing are the two major hills.  Each one will be about 8 miles long and very very steep.  I have not been doing a lot of running on hills lately.  Last year it seems like I was doing more hilly runs but I am not positive of that one.  Nevertheless, it make me nervous.

Third, just the fact that it is on a trail in the mountains makes it hairy.  There are lots of trips, falls, and injuries from these.  I don’t think anyone is going to go with me so I have to drive myself home afterwards.  I don’t prefer trail running but most of these ultras are on trails.

Lastly, the race is simply 50 miles.  That is a long freakin way to run.  That is a lot of time on your feet.  That is a lot of thinking one can do.  That is a lot of organization that you have to accomplish prior to even getting to the starting line.

The good thing is that I have done the training.  I have put in my mental and physical time.  I am as ready as I ever will be.  Now is the time to do it. 

I am going to go eat a subway sandwhich now.  Bye bye.

13 Responses to “I am nervous.”


  1. July 21, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Like you said you have prepared mentally and physically. You are going to do AWESOME. You are going to ROCK IT!! I know you are, but honestly I think that it is good to go into events with a little fear or nervousness because the day a person goes into an event thinking they’ve got this one is the day it will blow up in their faces. What I love about you is you are so honest and so willing to learn through life. You are so awesome. I just might start calling you MR. AWESOME!!!

    Talk to you later.
    Melissa

    PS. Thanks for having a couple critter free posts. HAHA

  2. July 21, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    I feel your pain there. I was just cruising my usual blogs to ease my own anxiety. Having ran a few times now in the heat I can totally get why you’re stressed. The heat makes me really ill running in it and it’s been quite a challenge for me. And 50 miles, wowsers! I have no doubt in my mind whatsoever that you can do this. Oh I’ll just share my new mantra that I have been saying the past few runs. I just keep repeating to myself “just put one foot in front of the other”. Yes, I know kind of lame, but that’s what’s been working for me. Have a nice night Jason. I’m sure you will do just fine on your race. Sorry I haven’t been around as much.

    • 4 run4change
      July 22, 2009 at 2:04 pm

      That is the mantra of all Ultra-running mantras. I am sure I will put it to good use starting at about mile 6. 🙂 That is about when my legs start to feel tired. HAHAHAHA

  3. July 22, 2009 at 7:24 am

    I’m well aware of how the heat affects a race. I ran a 5K at 2pm on a June day when it was 95 degrees and about passed out. I love how you talk about respecting the terrain. It’s so true. Running a flat race is completely different than running a hilly race.

    Good luck and God bless as you run. It’s amazing to run that long.

  4. 7 donna
    July 22, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Great luck to you Jason,you really are superman.I hope that you can get someone to go with you so you can rest on the way home.How far do you have to travel?Well Gods speed my friend and be careful.

  5. 8 Kim
    July 23, 2009 at 5:33 am

    I now know what you mean about respecting the terrain. Tried to run here in Tennesee…can’t do it…give me my flat MI back!

    Good Luck Sat..will be thinking of you!!

  6. July 23, 2009 at 7:34 am

    Good luck in your race Jason! I’m just in awe that you are headed out for a FIFTY mile run haha. I’m debating if I should sign up for a 5k in my area. I’ve walked plenty of them, and I run them for fun, but I’m a bit nervous about running for a time… any advice?

  7. July 23, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Get it boy! My running has slowed down because of my knee, and for this very reason, you never cease to amaze me. Best of luck, I know you’ll do great.

  8. 12 RobFitness
    July 23, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    My friend, I know you can do this. You have proved yourself before and you’ll do it again. To be honest I think I would be nervous as well. This run that your doing amazes me, plus it sounds like something enjoyable especially being on trails. I know you probably can’t enjoy them as much because your running, but to me it beats running on pavement. Which do you feel is easier? Have a save run and drive to and from. My thoughts and prayers will be with you. You are an amazing guy!

    • 13 run4change
      July 24, 2009 at 6:03 am

      THank you very much Rob. I appreciate your encouragement. It is always so meaningful to me.


Leave a Reply

