03
Aug
09

Active and fun weekend!

This weekend was a golf-o-rama!!  It was a fun, challenging, angering, elating experience.  I enjoy the game of golf but it is, in my opinion, the most difficult game that exists.  There is so much strategy, tiny adjustments to the mechanics of the swing, so many different variables to consider.  In the end, I think it is best to think of this stuff when you are practicing and then when it is time to play to just go out and have a good time.  Here are some pics of my weekend and the I am going to talk about some lessons that I learned over the weekend.

This is a very of the Oregon High Desert and Mt. Hood in the background.  It was very hot and beautiful.

This is a very of the Oregon High Desert and Mt. Hood in the background. It was very hot and beautiful.

Here is a very of the typical fairway at one of the golf courses in Sunriver, Oregon.  Sunriver is an active resort that is quite popular.

Here is a very of the typical fairway at one of the golf courses in Sunriver, Oregon. Sunriver is an active resort that is quite popular.

The greens at Sunriver a very well taken care of and fast.  They are ALL surrounded by sand traps and this makes for a fun challenge.

The greens at Sunriver a very well taken care of and fast. They are ALL surrounded by sand traps and this makes for a fun challenge.

 

LESSONS I LEARNED

  • Lying to yourself about your score is the best way to make sure that you never know how good you really are.  At times, it is sooooo hard not to just hit another ball and pretend that you didn’t hit your first “bad” shot.  This relates much to the weight loss journey.  If you lie to yourself about how much you eat and/or exercise, you will never really know where you stand or what is causing your gains or losses.
  • Golf, although a very fun and physical activity, is not strenuous enough to be the ONLY exercise ones does for fitness and weight loss.  I used to think it would be enough.  I guess it is enough for weight loss but to become nice and physically fit, golf needs to be an added activity to a more strenuous exercise routine.
  • I found that golf is much like real life in that staying calm makes for a better decision maker.  When I start doing bad, I get all upset which tends to further reduce my ability to do good.  The “mental game” in life and golf is a major factor to success and good results.
  • Taking the easy way out reduces the quality of what you can gain from playing.  When behind a tree, or after a bad shot, or being in tall ruff;  it is so easy to just kick the ball to a better place.  Or so easy to just hit another or to improve your position somehow.  After doing this a million times, I realize it robs me of learning how to deal with the “difficult” situation and perpetuates the need to keep doing this because you don’t know how to deal with it later.

That’s all folks.

8 Responses to “Active and fun weekend!”


  1. August 3, 2009 at 8:06 am

    Love your lessons from everyday life, Jason! Spot on, as usual. 🙂

  2. 3 RobFitness
    August 3, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    Glad you got out and enjoy the beautiful weather and fresh air. What a great way to clear your head. I also hope that your are doing better overall as well, since we chatted. You are sounding well and hopefully these life lessons will carry you forward to greater strength inside when you struggle with other issue that hamper your progress. Keep up the great work and take care.

    • 4 run4change
      August 3, 2009 at 2:30 pm

      Thanks for commenting Rob. I am doing much better today. i am eating well and on track. I am journaling my food, exercise and feelings. I hope that this will help me break through this little temporary barrier.

  3. 5 AmyJoGo
    August 3, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    I joined the golf team my sophmore year of high school because I needed an athletic credit. I had never picked up a club prior to that year and really had no clue how to play the stupid game, but my coach went ahead and sent me to a tournament after a few weeks of practice. It was just a 9 hole tournament – no big deal. Except I didn’t know the rules of the game or understand what out of bounds meant since I’d grown up playing softball and understood ‘out of bounds’ in terms of foul lines. So my group is the last group to tee off…everyone else is kickin’ it in the pro shop while we wrap up our 9th hole. I forgot to mention that I had a powerful stroke which great if the fairway is long and straight. Not so great if the fairway is short, curved and close to the pro shop. Uh huh. I hit my ball straight through the pro shop window. Glass went everywhere! I felt horrible! I cried and even offered to pay to have the window replaced (didn’t know at the time that pro shops have insurance in case of people like me!). Goes without saying that I never went on another tournament. 😦

    So…I break my foot when I play basketball, break my leg when I hike a mountain and break windows when I play golf. Is there a sport out there that is ‘Amy proof’? 😀

    ~amyjogo

    • 6 run4change
      August 3, 2009 at 2:29 pm

      I feel your pain in other areas of my life Amy. Thanks for sharing. I would have cried too. 🙂

  4. August 3, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    I love your life lessons about golf. Its nice to see little lessons that can be learned everywhere.

  5. 8 amyjogo
    August 3, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    Sometimes it’s better to cry than stuff our emotions. Sometimes it’s better to cry than stuff our faces.


Leave a Reply

