05
Aug
09

Marathon #18 and a heck of a running week coming right up!

IMG_2483This weekend I have my 18th marathon.  It is called the Haulin’ Aspen Full and Half  Trail Marathon.  I was supposed to or at least I was planning to run the Crater Lake Marathon this weekend but the drive is twice as long to get there and the logistics were just to complication for me.

This weekend will be the ending of a LARGE running week for me.  Normally I do not run to many miles.  My coach and I do not blindly adhere to the more miles equals faster running approach.  But this week is higher milage than normal.  I will do a little over 60 miles this week.  Here is a small and simplified break-down of them.

Monday: 3 miles

Tuesday: Golfing

Wednesday: 6 miles with speed work at the track

Thursday: 6 miles with middle three at tempo pace

Friday: OFF

Saturday: 10 miles easy

Sunday:  36 miles (10 miles prior to the marathon start)

It will be a bit of a chore to do those 36 miles but I am sure I will make through it just fine and in one piece.  I do a really big week about once a month.  I enjoy them.  This weekend I will be totally solo as my wife has family in town.  She will be having fun with them while I will be having “fun” on the trail in the 90 degree heat. HAHAHAHAHA  Here is a map of the marathon itself:

Haulin-Aspen_MarathonMap1

2 Responses to “Marathon #18 and a heck of a running week coming right up!”


  1. August 5, 2009 at 10:29 am

    I love finding new ways to burn a few extra calories. It makes me feel good. And good for you for not cheating your score. It’s way to easy to cheat at scores or at food. We say things are one serving when they are really 2 or 3, we fudge our weight because of the time of day or that our shoes “weigh 5 pounds.” I have tried to become more and more real with myself on this journey lately and it is really paying off.

    • 2 run4change
      August 6, 2009 at 4:45 am

      Missryan, being more real with ourselves is a huge victory so great job with that. Keep it up


Leave a Reply

