05
Aug
09

More Golf!!

I played 18 hoes of golf yesterday after work.  I really enjoy playing golf mostly because it gets me out into some awesome natural beauty while challenging me as a person and athlete.  It is by far the hardest sport that I have ever undertaken.  Lately, this peculiar game has also challenged me as a person to be honest with myself so that I can grow and improve.  I have learned of late that if you lie to yourself and fudge your way through things, you just can’t really grow or improve at your potential.  You have to know the base line before you can improve it.  This goes the same for weight loss and health.  Maybe you are afraid to go to the doctors because you would rather lie to yourself that you are healthier than you are.  Maybe you don’t weigh or look in the mirror because you prefer to just believe some inaccurate construct that you have in your mind.  This is how I work sometimes at least and because of the crazy game of golf I am trying to change these things in me.  I am trying to get REAL HONEST so that I can know the truth and then work from there.  So although I did not play well yesterday, I kept score precisely according to the rules and shot a 103.  This is a far cry from my “FUDGED” high 80’s scores that I have been getting lately.  Now it was an off day, but it was a real day.  It also took so much pressure off of me to perform beyond what is realistic because I was just letting it be real.  Here are some pics that I took of the beauty.  And oh yeah, I burned around 700 calories because I walked the course this time.  Riding the course burns only around 400 calories per round.  Walking is much better for me.

Lewis River Golf Course 006

Lewis River Golf Course 001 (2)

Lewis River Golf Course 002

Lewis River Golf Course 003

Lewis River Golf Course 004

Lewis River Golf Course 005

2 Responses to “More Golf!!”


  1. August 12, 2009 at 3:31 am

    I hear you on the improvement thing with golf. I just do not have time to practice so I know that I am probably going to stay at the same level but I have accepted that. There are only so many hrs to work/run/spin/golf and still have your family talk to you.
    I have been finding that if I go out and walk/play after a long run (like I do on Sundays) my legs are no where near as sore the next day.

    • 2 run4change
      August 12, 2009 at 4:47 am

      Laura. You are right, a nice walk is healing and easy on the legs after a run. Oddly enough, after my last marathon, I had to sit in a car for 5 hours in the same position figitiing around. I ended up not being sore the next day


Leave a Reply

