11
Aug
09

Marathon #18 and more golf

tetherow7I had a good but slightly lonely marathon weekend.  I went to bend/sunriver, Oregon on Friday night so that I would be able to pick up my race packet on Saturday morning.  I went to bed as soon as I got there because I had to get up at 4 a.m. to do a 10 miler before I went golfing at a really special golf course in Bend.  My 10 miler went very smoothly with no hiccups.

Saturday I played two rounds of golf so I got in a lot of activity even after my 10 mile easy run.  I didn’t play well but I had a good time.  I got done golfing around 8 p.m. and again went to bed right away so that I could get up around 3 a.m. to do 10 miles before the marathon start.

Sunday came in a hurry as I struggled to get out of my warm bed.  I was able to fit in 8 miles and finished this run about 5 minute before the marathon start.  At 7 a.m. the race started and all 112 marathoners took off up the 14 mile hill.  At first the hill was not very bad at all and I was able to run most of it with no problem.  I did a 4:1 run/walk ratio for the entire marathon except from miles 11-14 where the hill was just to steep and I walked.  Once we got to the top is was smooth and fun sailing down to about mile 20 (my mile 28) where the course flattened out.  Over-all the marathon was not really hard and it was enjoyable too.  I finished in 4:50.  This pace has allowed me to have post-race days without much soreness at all.  That has been VERY nice.

It was a good weekend and although I played golf and ran with many great people, I was really lonely without my wife.  I love her so much and she is my best friend.  I don’t like going to bed at night without her.  I don’t like not being able to see her in the evenings.  The good things is that she was able to have fun with her visiting family while I was gone.  I was happy for her in this respect.  She loves her family and that is a great thing.

Bye bye now!

tetherow3

tetherow1

7 Responses to “Marathon #18 and more golf”


  1. 1 AmyJoGo
    August 11, 2009 at 10:05 am

    My goodness. You ran 10 miles before you played two rounds of golf AND you ran 10 miles before the race? Are building up to another long distance race or just decided you wanted to get in some extra miles?

    I’m tired just thinking about it. 🙂

    ~amy

  2. 5 RobFitness
    August 13, 2009 at 11:40 am

    You continue to amaze me with all the running you do, especially before a marathon. No wonder why you are fit as a fiddle. Don’t know how fit a fiddle is though 🙂 You also seems to find a great balance with your free time as well. Do you find golfing relaxing or is it or can it be a stress sport?
    Hope your doing well. it looks like you haven’t been on in a bit. Know that I am keeping you in my prayers.
    Have a great day and may your week-end ahead be relaxing , healthy and work-free.

  3. August 13, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    Great job on your race Jason! I am totally envious of the non-post-race soreness. It sounds like you had a good run to me!

  4. August 14, 2009 at 3:28 am

    I love the pic of you golfing. Very cool.
    Can I just tell you that I think you are amazing in all that you do. Keep up the AWESOME work?

    Melissa


Leave a Reply

