15
Aug
09

Leaving the blog: update!

leavingFirst off, I would like to tell all of you thank you so very much for all of your wonderfully encouraging comments regarding deleting/leaving/being finished with the blog.  Each comment really impacted the way I see the blog and also helped me feel better about an overall bad day yesterday.  Many of you asked me “what’s going on?”

Well, there are a couple of reasons why I am just getting tired of the blog.  Here are the main reasons:

  • I feel like everything that I am posting lately is of a negative nature.  I have not being doing so well and I almost feel dumb because of post after post regarding not winning the battle.  Now I know that these types of posts are helpful to MANY as they comfort those also losing more than they are winning.  It is comforting to see someone who has reached goal still struggling but at the same time pretty much maintaining their weight.
  • Second but also related is the fact that I just don’t seem to have the inspiration to write.  Sure I can plop down some general info. about the happenings of my days but this is boring to me.  I have discovered though that it is not boring for you.  This was encouraging to me.
  • Last but not least, I am just feeling generally negative about everything.  Your comments helped me lift my head up and realize that life is good, worth it, and possible.

So my final answer (HAHAHA, for the moment at least) is to keep the blog.  Not to delete it.  To let hang out and inspire as best it can.  Honestly, I had forgotten that it even helped and inspired people towards health and belief in the seemingly impossible.  I cannot give up.  I will not give up.  I will keep on keeping on.

15 Responses to “Leaving the blog: update!”


  1. August 15, 2009 at 6:12 am

    I am glad to read of your decision.

  2. 3 Lochans
    August 15, 2009 at 6:19 am

    Hi Jason,

    You are one of my greatest inspirations. I read your blog the first thing after my prayer in the morning. Yesterday I had been traveling and could not read, and was shocked to read your yesterday’s post and then when I read today’s post I am really really glad that you have decided to leave the blog on.
    I don’t find anything you write even remotely close to the term “boring” :), whether be it about running or about your backyard or just about life in general, it is interesting to read it all. I even go back and re-read your past blog entries every now and then for motivation.
    Its after reading your blog that I have started running, and running is something I thought I could never do, I signed up for my first 5K in September and am all excited about it!
    Most of all,the lesson I learn from your blog is that struggle is a part of life, its natural if I want to achieve or accomplish something, and it is only human to lose a few times, to feel bad and low,but the key is to keep trying.

    I am really happy that you decided to keep blogging 🙂
    Thank you very much Jason for all the inspiration.

    • 4 run4change
      August 15, 2009 at 6:37 am

      Lochans.

      Thank you so much for your fantastic and boulstering comment. It is a precious comment to be sure at this little stage of my journey. I needed to hear just what you have said. Thanks again.:)

  3. August 15, 2009 at 11:10 am

    Jason, we all need breaks from blogging every now and then. It’s such an intimate experience and sometimes we just want to step back and reassess. You’re totally welcome to do whatever you wish — it’s your own creation–but I’m glad to hear you’ll stick around. You’ve come so far and I think you just put too much pressure on yourself. Yes, you’re thin now – but that doesn’t define you. I think it’s a hard notion to get past; I know it’s something I struggled with a long time.

    Now I’m not my thinnest anymore, but I’m still smart, sensitive, compassionate, thoughtful, well-traveled, fit, healthy and sexy (well, to my hubby!). These things have nothing to do with my weight.

    I think maybe with all the crazy marathoning you were doing, maybe it was/is too much? There doesn’t always HAVE to be an addiction; addictive people like us tend to replace one addiction with another … and it’s not healthy.

    Today I wanted to be out and about, but my hubby is bleaching the tile in the bathroom and I decided I would sit here and just read a book. Nothing else. Not with the TV on, not with a snack, no — just reading a book.

    I wish you the best of luck, my friend. I’ve been reading your blog every day and I have noticed the negativity, which I take as a sign of depression (if not literal, figurative). Taking a breather will help you continue to be your best self.

    Best wishes!
    Lissa

  4. August 15, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    Jason,

    How about you take a “blog as the inspiration comes” approach? Don’t think of it as a chore but a tool to utilize to help you process your frustrations, your triumphs, and your ah ha moments?

  5. August 16, 2009 at 9:12 am

    Even if what you post is negative in nature you SHOULD still stick with it because it is a true representation of THIS part of your journey. I love reading your blog and I am so happy that you fought through the urge to quit. Think about how you will be able to look back on the negatives when you have emerged and found your confidence once again. Never, ever quit!

  6. 10 Sheila
    August 17, 2009 at 7:44 am

    I too read your decision to take down the blog with great surprise and am very (selfishly) happy you have reconsidered your decision to delete it. I don’t have anything profound to say, but echo the feelings that watching someone struggle YET still hang onto the new life you’ve created gives me hope that one day I will be able to emerge into a happier, healthier body/life myself.

    You are in my thoughts and I wish you many successes, big and small no matter what you decide to do.

  7. 12 Colleen
    August 18, 2009 at 4:32 am

    Thank goodness you are going to keep writing your blog!!! I always look forward to reading it – no matter what you write.

  8. 14 the Ringmaster
    August 19, 2009 at 5:56 am

    Hey, I’m just going to remind you of one of my favorite verses: “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.” (Hebrews 12:1) You don’t have to run anyone’s race but your own, J–or reflect or ponder or record anyone’s race but your own. It doesn’t always have to be record-breaking or awe-inspiring, though it often is the latter. The race marked out for you is the only one He expects you to run, and you’re running it well. Don’t ever think the race He picked out for you isn’t adventurous enough to share with others–the saints are watching you run it, and, as long as you let us, so will we! Thanks for letting us peek at it a little longer!


Leave a Reply

