24
Aug
09

15 miles @ 7:34 pace. My goal pace long run.

Goal paced runs are no mean to be easy.  In fact, they are in the running schedule to train the body to run at a particular pace and intensity.  They are “race specific” workouts that help your muscles, mind, and mechanics find that rythm.  I enjoy these runs yet I find them very challenging at the same time.  Yesterday was no different than normal, it was a tough workout.  I finished the run very well and felt pretty good for most of the miles.   The miles in the first hour seem to alway be my hardest and once I break the one hour mark it is as though things ease up and get better.  I fall into a state of being like a machine and it is more automatic rather than forced.

It amazes me that I can even run this fast for this many miles.  It is still foriegn to me that it is possible.  I feel like I am sprinting.  I learn that I can keep going regardless of breathing and body sensations.  It is amazing to me.  I am always so proud when I accomplish one of these runs.  It is funny that even the the first hour is harder, I tend to think that I can do a marathon at this pace no problem.  Then, as I near the end of the run, I start to think a little differently and that a marathon at this pace would be a big challenge.

Anyway, 15 miles at a 7:34 pace put me at a finishing time of less than 2 hours and I burned 2100 calories.  Pretty good for the days activity and it didn’t take me all day to do it so that is nice

15 Responses to “15 miles @ 7:34 pace. My goal pace long run.”


  1. August 24, 2009 at 6:57 am

    Wow! This is the first time I’ve ever visited your blog and I just have to say I am so impressed by you. Great job!

    • 2 run4change
      August 24, 2009 at 7:38 am

      Thanks for visiting. Also, your most recent post is great. I have had that same thing happen to me

  2. August 24, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    That is fricken amazing! I hope you gave and continue to give yourself mad props for that one. Or whatever it is the kids are saying these days.

  3. 5 Kim
    August 24, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    Great work Superman!!!

  4. August 25, 2009 at 7:10 am

    Whoa! 15 miles @ 7:34 mpm. Not bad at all. Good post. Found you via “Mile By Mile”.

    • 8 run4change
      August 25, 2009 at 8:36 am

      Hi bob. I have read many of your comments over there at that blog. The ringmaster is great isn’t she. Thanks for the comment and visit

  5. 9 Jac
    August 25, 2009 at 9:39 am

    15 miles at 7:34? That is an amazing pace!!

    How did you start running? (Did you follow a specific program? Or just start running?)

    • 10 run4change
      August 25, 2009 at 2:35 pm

      Jac. I started running using Jeff Galloway’s book on Running. I trained for my first marathon with his approach and finished many more. I still use his run walk approach especially for ultra-marathons. i started running after I lost 60 pounds.

  6. 11 the Ringmaster
    August 25, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    🙂 I’m glad you and Bob found each other!

    Great pace, Jason! I know you didn’t write the post to brag, but wow! Great pace workout–to maintain a tough pace for that length of time is an intense mental workout, too. Kudos for that!

  7. 13 Peter Braxton
    August 26, 2009 at 3:23 am

    Wow, I’m impressed!!! 15 miles at 7:34 is pretty good. Well, I probably can’t do that!!! And an other WOW for loosing 60 pounds!!!! Good onya!!!

  8. August 31, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    Congratulations on your progress. This is so inspirational!


Leave a Reply

