02
Sep
09

Running and weight watchers. The good and the horrible.

I have been doing great with my running. I have been doing horrible with my weight watchers.  I am still doing both so that is a good thing.  I have not given up completely on trying to eat healthy and that is also a good thing. 

Last weekend I had another 15 mile goal paced run which I accomplished in about a 7:40 minute pace.  It was a good run.  It did not seem as hard as the last time so I was happy with that.  I had some hard running scheduled last week but I decided to make them all easy 3 mile runs except for my 15 miler.  I was tired and my legs were telling me to take it easy for a minute. HAHAHAHA  I did what they said and I feel good about it.  My legs are alive again and ready to rumble for a 6×1000 meter speedwork out today.  This will be a very challenging workout but it will feel good in the end.

I have been addicted to reeses candy bars.  Fast breaks, nutrageous, crispy something’s.  Pepperoni is also tempting me day in and day out.  I am doing horrible with my eating.   It all sure tastes sooooooo freakin good though.  I am actually really scared about all of it.  Scared that I have failed and can’t keep my weight off.  Scared that I will end up as before.  Scared I will get fat enough that I won’t be able to run my 100 miler.  I have no excuses.  I am emotional eating.  Eating out of being bored.  Eating to feel better.  Eating for the fun of it.  Eating for the taste of it.  No psycho bable bullshit, just eat my face off for about 10 minutes a day and then it all fades back into an ok job on WW.  No excuses.  No major theory.  That is all I have to say about that. HAHAHAH

Have a great day ya’ll.

18 Responses to “Running and weight watchers. The good and the horrible.”


  1. September 2, 2009 at 9:23 am

    Congratulations on the running!!! That’s an amazing pace for 15 miles (or any mileage, really) hahaha.

    Is it just the TASTE of the foods that you’re craving? Or that 10-minute break where you don’t have to think about anything except eating? I definitely go through times where all I want is the TASTE of something “forbidden” . . .

    • 2 run4change
      September 2, 2009 at 11:21 am

      Fit- I think you hit on two reasons for me. I want the taste but I DO see it as a break from the world. Unhealthy as it is, eating this junk does give me a mental break and I have had a very hard time for quite a while now so breaks have been needed. Of course, there are many other healthier ways to take a mental break. 🙂

  2. September 2, 2009 at 10:13 am

    I hear ya on the WW end of things. I totally intend to do well each week and then crap hits the fan. I actually did pretty well last week until an incident with the pizza dough rolls at Bertuccis the night before the WI. And then this week I had to get the pumpkin loaf to go with my pumpkin spiced latte. I get so frustrated because I get close to goal and then seem to run the opposite direction. I go up and down the same 5 pounds. Maybe my body is just happy here.

    But I also hear you on fear of gaining back all the weight and failing. When I go to my meetings and hear about people coming back for the 5th or 10th time it makes me nervous that this won’t stick and I’ll be back up to 250+ in no time. I just want to be “normal” whatever that is.

    Sorry for hijacking your comments. I just wanted you to know you aren’t alone in this. God Bless!

    • 4 run4change
      September 2, 2009 at 11:19 am

      missyrayn- I love your comment and you are not hijacking anything. HAHAHA 🙂 You are welcome to comment as much or as many times as you like. I appreciate it and thrive off of it. It helps me put things in perspective to where i don’t feel so alone. And alone I feel much of the time. THanks again

  3. 5 the Ringmaster
    September 2, 2009 at 10:55 am

    I’ve gotten the same way too! And the scale shows it–eating just because the food is there! Back to those dreadful habits of eating out of boredom and probably because it’s a new stage of life and I’m emotional over it and haven’t dealt with it in healthy ways.

    Gotta get back on track. Counting points, if that’s what it takes.

    Hey, when you run those 15-mile pace runs, do you run them all at the same pace, or do you do some slower-paced miles at beginning and end? Just curious; I hope you don’t mind my picking your brain. Thanks in advance.

    • 6 run4change
      September 2, 2009 at 11:17 am

      Thanks for sharing with my ringmaster. It is comforting and helpful to me that an outstanding runner like you struggles along with me. I appreciate your encouragement very much.

  4. 7 Kim
    September 2, 2009 at 11:04 am

    I understand. That’s all I got. I do.

  5. 9 AmyJoGo
    September 2, 2009 at 11:36 am

    I share your frustration with eating the forbidden stuff. I’ve been in that same place for the last three weeks. And, I identify with missyrayn…I had to have a slice of pumpkin bread with my LARGE pumpkin spice latte this morning too. Only good thing about it was that I got it with FF milk/no whip – I’m sure it’s loaded with sugar though. I wouldn’t know because uh…I haven’t checked and for that matter I haven’t tracked in about 3 weeks. 😦

  6. September 2, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    As always, your running is an inspiration!

    I have to say that I admire your admitting that you still struggle with the nutritional side. That’s a tough thing to admit; and it’s also scary to realize that it doesn’t ever really go away.

  7. September 2, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    Your running is amazing! I am in awe of that.

    I too understand the eating thing! As a former morbidly obese person, I struggled with my overwhelming love of all foods. It certainly wasn’t easy to break those emotional ties, but over time it got easier and easier.

    You have a great attitude towards the whole thing! I’m so impressed!

    • 14 run4change
      September 2, 2009 at 2:42 pm

      Thank you so much Diane. I always love your comments and I appreciate them greatly. Thanks again for your wisdom

  8. September 2, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    Jason, like the others, I am tremendously impressed with your running. I have to admit though, I am concerned for you. There was a time several months ago where I warned you about letting yourself slip back into your old ways. If memory serves me right, you assured me that would never happen. I honestly feel like you have a better grasp on this situation than you are indicating. I don’t know why I believe that way, but I do. The thing is, you gotta draw that line in the sand. From what I can tell, you are where you need to be with your weight. If not, you are very, very close. That means you don’t have to be as strict any more. However, it also means that you cannot let yourself fall back into the habits of yesteryear. Let me repeat that – you CANNOT let yourself fall back into the habits of yesteryear. Jason, if my comment is out of line, please forgive me. I believe in you. You have had an incredible journey. You have affected many other people’s lives. You have greatly increased your capacity to live and to enjoy life. There is no reason to ever look back. Fix your eyes back upon the goal, and leave those bad habits behind forever.

    • 16 run4change
      September 2, 2009 at 7:33 pm

      Thanks Steve. YOu know how I think of this comment. GGGGGRRRRREEEAAATTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  9. September 3, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    Running does burn a lot of calories. Those calories that you get from food whether they are good or bad can be burned right away. Athletes eat a lot. Don’t worry about it unless you are really serious in losing more weight.

    • 18 run4change
      September 4, 2009 at 4:34 am

      IT does burn a lot of calories for sure but when I burn 1000 and eat 1200 that does quite equate for maintenance or loss


Leave a Reply

