02
Sep
09

Running is bad for your knees? Don’t listen to it!!!!

I have read many time that running is particularly good for the knees and joints.  Even marathon running.  I have also heard countless people say that running is bad for your knees and they all tell me that my joints will just give out at some point.  Of course, when you ask for scientific documentation to validate these claims they never seem to have it.  In my line of work, I have to have scientifically valid arguments for every decision I make.  If I don’t, I get in trouble.  So I have it on hand for every question that could be directed towards me about my work.

So I wanted to share with you some actual scientific research regarding knees and joints and their relationship to running.  Turns out that running is very good for you in many respects.  Turns out that your knees will fare much better as a  marathon runner than they would if you were sedentary.  So here are the links to some science in running for you.

Long Distance Running and Knee Osteoarthritis A Prospective Study

Changes on magnetic resonance tomography in the knee joints of marathon runners: a 10-year longitudinal study.

Does marathon running cause acute lesions of the knee? Evaluation with magnetic resonance imaging.

2 Responses to “Running is bad for your knees? Don’t listen to it!!!!”


  1. September 2, 2009 at 10:10 am

    Thank you for these facts. So many people have told me not to run because of my knees. They say “You already have had back problems you don’t want knee problems too.” It’s frustrating to try and tell them that the opposite is true. Now I have some facts to point to. Thanks again.

    • 2 run4change
      September 2, 2009 at 11:19 am

      HAHAHAHA. That’s right. Running is actually good for you. I may have said those things in the past as well but now I see the light


Leave a Reply

