04
Sep
09

OMG!! Run fast what a blast!

tempo_runWhat makes a tempo run good?  What makes fast running a blast?  What brings on a good run day?

To be totally honest with you, faster paced running just kicks butt.  Not sure if it kicks everyones butt, but I know it kicks mine.  Running is the most strenuous of activities and that is why all other sports use it to train for their sport. 

Anyway, today was not hard.  Yes, the pace was hard but it seemed to go so well with minimal pain and mental effort.  Most of the time on tempo runs (which for me are 3 miles) I am wanting to quit EXTREMELY bad by mile 1.75-2.0.  I am not joking either.  I want to just yell out bad words and sit down. HAHAHAHA  What a difference today was.  Why was today different you may ask?  I don’t know. I liken it to a good hair day.  Your hair just looks better.  Today was a good run day.  Everything came into line just perfectly: training, experience, condition, weather, traffic, etc.  I kicked butt.  Hey, I just thought of this but maybe it is influenced by eating healthier yesterday. HAHAHAHAHAHA

Here are my stats for the run

Distance: 3 miles

Time: 19:17

Average pace: 6:26 per mile

Emotions:  Good

Weather:  A beautiful cloudy 63 degrees

When:  My lunch break at work

Just as an interesting side note on my breathing:  A lot of times I think of my breathing during a run and I think about the rythm of it.  Today and at this pace, I was taking a breath in for every two steps I took and breathing out the next two steps.  2 steps in and 2 steps out the whole way through the 3 miles.  I actually do it in a choppy fashion like steps are.  It is not smooth for the two steps it is more like:  In, In, Out, Out instead of Innnnn,Outttttt.  You get it.  Weird I guess

12 Responses to “OMG!! Run fast what a blast!”


  1. September 4, 2009 at 9:56 am

    This is cool info. I did 3 miles the other day in just about 1/2 hour. How’s that for cool. Some of that included some hills too. You inspire me to keep going even if it hurts when I run – and sometimes it does with my fibromyalgia. Sometimes my legs feel really heavy like I can’t lift them. Do you get that too? I also liked your info on the breathing. I’ve never had a running coach, so I don’t even know if what I’m doing is right or not.

    • 2 run4change
      September 4, 2009 at 10:03 am

      Hi claire

      No I have never talked about breathing with my coach so I don’t know if what I do is good or bad. I was just sharing it because it seems funny to me.

      Also, doing your three miles in 30 minutes is major booty kicking. I love it. Great job. 30 minutes for three miles was one of my MAJOR goals in running. Just to run at a 10 minute pace for 3 miles IS great. After I made that goal, I wanted to run 4 in 40, 5 in 50, 10K in 62, etc. The 10 minute mile was just really significant for me. Not sure why?

      DO MY LEGS EVER FEEL HEAVY? Bwaaaa ahahahahahahaha!!! 🙂 Oh heck yeah. In fact, they were feeling so heavy last week I made the entire week a very easy running week. And because of those heavy legs last week I am still only going to be running like 20-22 miles this week. Sometimes the legs just feel heavy and lethargic. You are not alone. It is something all runners experience especially as they grow in distance and pace. Your legs get a residual tiredness sometimes and just don’t move so “lightly” as they did before. It takes me a lot to get my legs like this but when I feel it and it lasts for several days, I take a cut in milage and do more easier and slower runs (slower and easier for me).

      Also, when in the long runs or races, my legs will get heavy. Then I look like I am running without even bending my legs but the good thing is that everyone else outthere is running like a robot too. 🙂

  2. September 4, 2009 at 10:14 am

    Oh, man, that is soooo good to know. I didn’t even know a 10 minute mile was a good thing or not. I thought I ran like a snail. LOL. I will take pictures today when I go out so you can see the hills I go up and down. 🙂 Would love your feedback once I post it.

    • 4 run4change
      September 4, 2009 at 10:25 am

      Evil Hills 🙂 I do a lot of my running at my worksite because it is so flat. Where I actually live is ALL hills. YOu are either going up or down there is no flat whatsoever. I don’t really like hills. HAHAHAHA I would love to see the pics. Let me know when they are up

    • 5 run4change
      September 4, 2009 at 10:27 am

      And one more thing Claire. Hills do slow you down substantially. Not that this is a bad thing at all but I am just saying that if you were to be going on a flat course your pace would be even faster.

      And one more thing: A 10 minute mile pace is GREAT.

  3. September 4, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Okay, Jason – I posted my running route for all to see. http://www.cadenceoflife.com/2009/09/my-running-route/

    You’re encouragment means so much! Thank you.

  4. September 4, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    I can’t wait to get to the point I can breathe at all while I am running! 🙂 j/k I do struggle a bit with that, but nothing I like I did a year ago. Now I just gotta work up to where I can talk to you about running three mile tempo runs.

    Glad to read you had a good day!

    • 9 run4change
      September 4, 2009 at 6:27 pm

      Isn’t it great steve to have a concrete thing like breathing to look back and see the difference fitness and conditioning can make. I do it every time I do a faster paced run. I am honestly kind of in disbelief about it all. I hope that does not sound like bragging because it is not. Faster running is such a novel experience for me still and it is fun to look back but most of all I am just happy to be thankful that I can run at all regardless of pace. That is what I try to focus the most on . 🙂

  5. 10 mikki
    September 4, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    Yikes. I just read you’re “going to quit the blog” post. I hope you don’t. It’s an inspiration, and maybe you don’t see it because you write it everyday, but it really is uplifting. And the “negative” stuff is part of what makes it that way. You’re real, and that is the thing most of us want to see, not Jenny McCarthy (though she’s done well, too). It’s not all fluff and jollies–and it’s the impression that nothing is supposed to be hard/everything should be easy that leaves so many Americans fat and unhappy. “I hardly eat a thing, doc! Can you prescribe some pills so I can lose this weight?” I hear it several times a day. People need to know it’s NOT easy. Anyway, thanks for your blog. I steal some of your stuff and tell it to my patients–maybe that should be a secret confession–and they think I’m smart or insightful. So there’s your credit-but I do tell my patients to look at your site.

    Re: breathing. I read a story about Mark Allen (6x ironman winner), and what he thought about when running the marathon part of Kona, and he said 1-2-3-4, which I love. We expected some crazy deep victorious thought, and it’s just plugging away, simple rhythmic thought. I’m like you, I breath in-in, out-out, not innnnn, ouuuutt. Helps me stay with the 1-2-3-4 mantra, which I also use when I’m nervous or stressed. Silly, but simple.

    Keep the real-human inspiration coming, please!

    Chop wood, carry water.
    Mikki

    • 11 run4change
      September 4, 2009 at 6:35 pm

      Hello there mikki. I just got chills reading your post. And I am thoroughly happy that you do the in-in, out-out. The way you wrote it out seemed to make so much more sense to me. In-in, out-out! 🙂 That is the rhythm. 1-2-3-4, 1-2-3-4. HAHAHA kind of fun!!

      Anyway, I really appreciate you sharing your thoughts about my blog with me and that some of my little insights might help your patients. That is a wonderful thing. Many say that you have to blog for yourself. Well, I do kind of do it for myself but if I thought nobody would be helped I would stop doing the blog. Helping people is what I really want to do and I somewhat envy your ability to do that with your job. I on the other hand, got my masters in marriage and family counseling/study and ended up doing a job that doesn’t even come close to helping others the way I would like.

      I also hear the “I hardly eat so how can I lose weight”. HArdly eat is very relative and usually the bottom line of calories is not in the equation. It is normally the thought of: I skip breakfast. I eat candies for lunch. then I eat a big dinner.” This means “I hardly eat” to many because they don’t know about the calorie thing. that is why tracking is good. I still say this stuff when I don’t track. 🙂

      thanks again for your comment. I highly appreciate it and it made my evening. thanks for helping people

  6. 12 slim
    September 5, 2009 at 3:46 am

    i do the choppy breathing thing as well! although when i kick into a higher gear i go 1:1, in on the left foot and out on the right. it sounds like a hairdryer when i’m doing intervals in the gym and it gets a ton of attention too :).


Leave a Reply

