04
Sep
09

Who works alot? This is for you to answer.

I was wondering who of your readers works alot.  Where I work, we go 6 days a week and about 11-12 hours each of those days.  It is now worked out to where I can take every other Saturday off so that is huge for me and my wife.  Sometimes we won’t work Saturday’s but for the most part we go months and months and months working 6 days a week.

Do any of you do this?

Do any of you work 6 or more days a week?

Do you guys work 12 hour days?

Take the poll AND leave a comment.  I am very interested in this.

8 Responses to “Who works alot? This is for you to answer.”


  1. September 4, 2009 at 8:59 am

    My job is different. I don’t work an hourly job and my hours are different each week. I”m a pastor so our office is open for social services from 9-3 M-thursday. But I’m in the office before that most days and stay until around 5. And this doesn’t include the fact that about 3 nights a week we have other ministries that can last from an hour to 2. ALso we have sunday stuff that we have to prepare and lead. This can take another unimaginable amount of time depending on the topic I’m preaching on and what kind of lesson we are teaching the kids. My technical days off are Friday and Saturday but neither is ever truly off. Today I’m in the office working on stuff for sunday because I didn’t have time this week to do it. And tomorrow I’ll be finishing it up and setting up after I get back from helping a friend move. I like the hours off I take on some nights but it’s the job I signed up for and I love it. I actually feel weird when I take vacation and don’t do any work. It’s a weird concept to me.

    • 2 run4change
      September 4, 2009 at 9:10 am

      I relate to the concept of vacation feeling odd. And I know that being a pastor is a full time job. All the things you mentioned and not to forget the calls, the funerals, the weddings, the hospital visits, etc. That is great that you are doing it though. I was a youth pastor for a while and also preached a lot prior to that. Things sure have not turned out the way I had hoped but life goes on and God is always there no matter where I happen to work. HAHAHAHA 🙂

  2. 3 RobFitness
    September 4, 2009 at 9:35 am

    I have to admit that I am blessed with my work. I work only 40 hours a week and am not allowed to work OT due to the fact it cost the company to much money to pay me for it. While I might have a job that is 40 hours a week, I have to add in 12 hours a week I spend working out with my trainer and doing my cardio. It’s my way of getting ready to take the ACE exam. Then I have to study the books for that as well. I hope that your situation improves or that you find ways of dealing, in a healthy way, of the added hours and stress. Golfing is sure a good start.
    It seems like your running is continuing to go well for you. Now all you need to do is concentrate and with the same dedication you have for running, you need to show the same, if not more, dedication, focus and determination with your eating as well. I have all the faith in you that you will work through this and get to were you need to be mentally and physically. You can do this, Jason. That’s one thing I am sure of.

    • 4 run4change
      September 4, 2009 at 9:51 am

      Hi Rob. Great to hear from you. You ARE blessed with your work hours. I would feel like I was on vacation almost if I stopped at 40 hours. Not that I don’t want to because I would love to. HAHAHAHA

      You are doing great by the way and I have enjoyed catching up on your posts. I have renewed my resolve for eating also, atleast for now. 🙂

  3. September 4, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    Mine seems to go in spurts, but I am in the longest spurt ever right now. 🙂 This week has been a really, really long week, and it doesn’t look like it is going to lighten up much until the end of October.

  4. 7 mikki
    September 4, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    I’m a family doc that does OB and hospital work, so I work in clinic 3 and 1/2 days a week (this is part-time), and take full-time call, which is a 24 hour shift (with usually guaranteed 2AM deliveries of babies) 1-2 times per week, or a weekend a month or so. So even for part-time, the hours work out to over 40. Though some days, a day at work is easier than a day at home with my 2 year old! 🙂 Most of the docs I know work pretty long, hard hours. It’s 8 pm on Friday, and I’m just now finishing up with my charts and patient phone calls for the day. Six days a week would be pretty rough, though!

    • 8 run4change
      September 4, 2009 at 6:37 pm

      My wife is a nurse mikki. She had worked hard long hours before. Now she has the dream nursing job in a heart clinic with some wonderful doctors. 4 days, 40 hours, three days weekends every week, all holidays off. No wonder she thinks I am not home that much because she is at home so much. HAHAHAHA Me, I get to work at 4:30-5:00 am and leaving at 5pm just about everyday 6 days a week. Hoping to leave someday though. Kind of like to become a nurse. 🙂


Leave a Reply

