08
Sep
09

Two goal paced runs.

On Sunday and Monday my running schedule called for an 8 mile goal pace run for each day.  My goal pace for the Portland Marathon on October 3rd is 7:40.  So on these goal paced runs my goal is to keep my pace between 7:30-7:50 minute miles.    Surprising to me, this is getting easier and easier for me to accomplish.  My first run at this goal pace was a KILLER.  Now, the pace is starting to feel a little comfortable but not like a long run pace.  It is still a good hard effort to keep this pace but it is just easier now.

I was able to finish both runs within the paces desired.  The weather was very windy but the sun was out so that made both runs very enjoyable albiet hard.  I like these runs because each one that I finish succesfully, my confidence in my ability for Portland increases a bit.  This is essential because running is a serious mental challenge along with the physical.  I have never run a marathon “for time”.  I did try and set a PR some time ago in the marathon and I was able to do that, but it still was not an “all out” pace.  This will be a very new experience for me.  Although it will be a very rich experience, I am sure it will not be as enjoyable as past marathons.  However, the finish will be much more enjoyable.

8 Responses to “Two goal paced runs.”


  1. September 8, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    First of all, congrats on meeting the goal pace for both runs. I have said it before, but I am so envious of your determination with running. While this may not be as enjoyable as past runs, you are right in that crossing the finish line in a time that meets your expectations will be very rewarding!

  2. September 9, 2009 at 4:23 am

    I just got back from the gym where I a ran two miles in my personal best time. The first mile was 16 mins and the second mile was 18.9 mins. Previous to this I was running an 19 or 20 min mile. You are running a 7 min mile – YOU ARE A MACHINE! hahaha. Keep up the excellent work!

  3. September 9, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    This seems a very inspirational blog and I am sure that you will do really well with your marathon and times. I will definately keep posted to see how you get on!

  4. 7 RobFitness
    September 10, 2009 at 8:44 am

    Great job on the goal pace my friend. Now I am thinking about doing a 10K as well and upping my ability to do maybe even more. See what a great inspiration you are. Your awesome man! I do need some help though. Since I do want to get more into running what suggested reading or help can you recommend? What is a goal pace and how is that determined. See how much of a newbie I am 🙂 I do love learning and what to be able to really go into all this well prepared. Any help would be appreciated. Who knows maybe one of these days I’ll make another trip in your neck of the woods and we can do a good marathon together. You’d kick my butt though:)


Leave a Reply

