14
Sep
09

Marathon #19 is in the bag!

skagit flats finish line

My 19th marathon went just as I expected.  It was a no-frills “long run” as my final long preparationg for the Portland Marathon.  I usually will do my 100 miler pace on these “long run” marathons but this time I didn’t.  I walked every 15 minutes for about 1 minute.  I also found that my legs and body are more comfortable at a faster pace rather than a slower one.  The slower one conserves energy but at the same time makes my legs feel tired too.

washingtonSo I had to work on Saturday and the marathon was on Sunday in a town 4-5 hours north of my home.  I got off of work at 5 pm and then had to take my wife to her annual employee appreciate party at one of the doctors house.  So I did that, had some food and fun, then left for Burlington, WA around 7:30 pm.  I finally arrived at my sisters house at around 10:30 (she lives about 45 minutes south of marathon start).  I talked with her and her husband for an hour and hit the hay.

Woke up bright and early at 4 am, had coffee, ate two small chewy granola bars, and waited for our time of departure.  My sister took me to the marathon and was amazed at all the “regular” looking people who were running it.  By regular, she meant people who were not “rail skinny” like the elite distance runners you see on TV.  Yep, that’s right.  We are just regular people conquering the miles.  Doing what we can with our regular bodies.

I finished the marathon in 4:10.  I did 10 minute miles for the first ten miles.  I did 9:30 minute miles for the second ten miles.  Then I did 8 minute miles for the last six miles.  I was a hot sunny day and the marathon maniacs were out in full force.

6 Responses to “Marathon #19 is in the bag!”


  1. September 14, 2009 at 7:13 am

    Good job! It was a gorgeous weekend. You probably drove right past my exit up here. You’ll do great in the Portland Marathon, I’m sure. 🙂

    • 2 run4change
      September 14, 2009 at 7:25 am

      I bet you I did. It was a nice weekend wasn’t it. It got kind of hot there at the end. I could feel the heat building up in me. There was a guy with his wife in their 80’s there. They were both doing their 450th marathon. WOW!! 🙂

  2. 3 the Ringmaster
    September 14, 2009 at 11:25 am

    That’s fantastic, J! What a way to hammer out a “long run”! Congrats on your 19th–here’s to wonderful success in Portland!

  3. September 14, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    Congratulations on another marathon well done!


Leave a Reply

