17
Sep
09

Wonderful way to do speed

I had a speed workout planned for the track today.  I did not want to do it at all.  Not so much the running but the track.  I just did not feel like running on a track today.  It gagged me actually.  The track seemed so repetitive and boring.  This is not normally how I fell at all.  But does this have to stop a person from doing a track/speed workout.  NO WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  What did I do instead???????????

I actually did my exact track workout on the road.  This is possible because of my little friend Garmin 405.  You can also do it with another little friend called Polar Watch.  By using one of these friends, you can monitor your distance, interval time, lap time, and current pace.  So I did just that.  I had to do 12×400 at my 5k pace which is 6:08.  So I went out during my lunch break and did a nice warm up before diving into some hard running.  I did 1:30 minutes of my 5k pace and then I walked for one minute.  1:30 minute run and 1:00 minute walk.  That is what I did for 12 reps each.  Now the relevance of 1:30 is that at my 6:08 pace that would mean I would have run about 400 meters (1/4 mile) in that time.  It was a joyful time and I felt extra smooth today.  I focused heavily on what it “felt”  like to run this pace.  The sound of my feet and their rythm.  The sound of my breathe and it’s ability to mold into the rythm of the feet.  The sound of the wind.  The way my muscles felt when they contracted.  The way my shoes felt on my feet.  The way my arms moved.  Anyway,  I think you get the point.

I also had a great eating day yesterday and am doing very well today too.  I have once again took up the purpose of quitting the chewing tobacco.  This is going as good as I can expect it to be going.  Only one day so far.  AGAIN!  🙂

6 Responses to “Wonderful way to do speed”


  1. September 17, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    Jason, it is amazing to me how you get in tune with your runs. There is no doubt you are understanding your body and your exercise and how it all flows together. I am sure that helps you keep appropriate paces when you are doing a marathon. I’ll have to check out the little friends you mentioned. It sounds like either of them could be really useful.

    I hope all is going well with you. Have a blessed day!

    • 2 run4change
      September 18, 2009 at 4:24 am

      Those two watches are very helpful with running. Even if they are not that helpful, they are really fun because they give the information that you have always wondered about regarding a run. True distance, calories burned, elevation gain of hills, pace, average pace, north/south, etc.

  2. 3 Kim
    September 17, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    dude…your title was intriguing…:-) Way to go on this workout and your eating!!!

  3. September 18, 2009 at 2:07 am

    Im so slow getting runningstarted I wonder if I will ever EVER graduate to SPEED WORK!

    Im the tortoise…but thats ok.
    there are plenty of hares already.

    • 6 run4change
      September 18, 2009 at 4:26 am

      No problem with being a tortoise. In fact, I don’t think there are tortoises, just runners. Slow or fast, we all just run. If I run a mile in 4 minutes or 15 minutes, I am running nonetheless.


Leave a Reply

