18
Sep
09

Soreness and my recovery.

Marathons can make a person very sore.  My first marathon made me sore sore sore for about 7 days.  My first ultra made me so sore that I could only walk like I didn’t know how to walk for a while.  How is it now after doing 19 marathons/ultras?  Now I get sore but the soreness is always gone after about three days.  On the third day I am able to run again.  Sometimes it is a hard run and sometimes it is an easy run.  THis of course is a marathon at a very comfortable pace that is not pushing my limits at all.  I am sure that the Portland Marathon, where I will be going as fast as I can for that distance, will make me very sore for quite some time.  We will see.

So I am not sore from my marathon anymore.  My run yesterday seemed as though I was running on fresh and awake legs.  That was nice.  Today my legs are a bit sore from the speedwork of yesterday.  I may have not been sore from such a workout normally but with residual effects of the 26.2 miles, the addition of speedwork produced some soreness.  Nothing major but still a little sore.  It will be gone by afternoon or tonight.

My eathing went well once again yesterday.  I did not count perfectly at night but I only ate very healthy food and ended up eating no more than around 39 points.  Probably less but certainly no more.  I am feeling a comfortable groove again with abstaining from the evil junk food.  It has not been tremendously difficult the last couple of days so I hope that is a sign of the old(new) habits taking over again.  I have also been sure to drink my gallon of water everyday as to ensure that I am not eating due to dehydration cues.

So long ya’ll

6 Responses to “Soreness and my recovery.”


  1. September 18, 2009 at 6:27 am

    I ran a marathon once too, but i fell down half way through and never got back up 😀

    • 2 run4change
      September 20, 2009 at 6:09 pm

      HAHAHAHA.. HAni. In the orange country marathon you run on the main freeway for awhile. I remember I tripped and fell flat on my face because one of those white line. 🙂

  2. 3 RobFitness
    September 18, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    You know a 5K can make a man sore too 🙂 Still a bit sore in my glutes, for soome reason and my 5K was over 2 weeks a go. I think I might have pulled a muscle as I was doing a sprint on the last 100 yards or so. Something that I didn’t do before. Glad to hear that all is going Ok with you. I have to keep reminding myself as well regarding drinking water. I think a lot of times we are juts really dehydrated and not hungry. So thatnks for that reminder.

    • 4 run4change
      September 20, 2009 at 6:07 pm

      Rob, my speedwork, which is pretty much like running a 5k, ALWAYS makes me sore. HAHAHAHA So true dude. THe sprint, which occasionally do, Definately makes me sore too. Just that little added pressure does it I think.

  3. September 19, 2009 at 9:00 am

    Hey there ~ Sorry I havent posted in awhile…have been reading your posts…glad to hear that you are doing well. I went to a WW meeting today for the first time in about 2 months, was thankful for a 7.5 pound weight “release” ~ have learned that I want to say “release” and not lost…when you lose something, you usually try to find it again…I am not going to find it again…smile.

    Am sure you have heard this before but…The lady at WW today gave a great example, about getting back on track…I wont tell the entire story, but basically, if you get a flat tire, you do what you need to do to fix it…in regards to eating, if we have a “bad’ day…lots of us just decide to blow it for the rest of the day/week….she said thats like noticing that you have a flat tire, and then slashing your other 3 good tires. Made me go, hhhhhhmmm.

    I am drinking lots of water too, and it sure does help.

    Have a great weekend!

    Smile,

    SAM

    • 6 run4change
      September 20, 2009 at 6:05 pm

      My leader says that if you fall off your bike you just don’t lay there for days on end. HAHAHA 🙂 So true but for some reason we all get stuck down there for longer than we want sometimes.


Leave a Reply

