28
Sep
09

Progress in running and marathon #20

portland-marathonI have been waiting for this moment now for a long time To be exact, I have been waiting and running now for 2 years and 7 months.  For some reason 20 marathons is a major milestone in my head.  It is a big deal to me.  Not only is it a big deal to have 20 marathons under my belt, but this will be the first marathon that I really go for it.  It is also neat that for my first goal paced marathon and for my 20th marathon, I will be doing my 3rd Portland Marathon.  It is kind of an anniversary marathon I guess since it was my first marathon ever back in October 2007.  My time in that first marathon was 5:45 or so.  I can’t exactly remember now but I am pretty sure it was in the 5:40’s.

There are many areas of running that a person can see improvement and I am going to share some of the growth in running that I have experience.  My goal is to inspire hope that sooooo much more is possible for us than we think when we are first starting out.  I remember that when I first started out with a long run of two miles that I wanted so bad to someday be able to run a mile in the 7 minute range.  Now I will be trying to run a marathon with 26 consecutive miles in that range.  I hoped to be able to run a marathon in about 6 hours, now I will be running one in hopefully half that time.

My goal was to run injury free and still love running after a long time.  I have done this.  I have not sustained an injury nor have I given up the most basic of exercises.  Despite my general sense of low self-esteem, I have been proud of what I have accomplished with running and weight loss.   This is possible you guys.  It is possible to be transformed from an overweight person who hates exercise to an athlete with many accomplishments.  Here is a little bullet list of what is possible.  At least this is how it worked for me.

  • All out mile: 9+ min., 7:52, 7:07, 6:56, 6:41, 613, 5:41 is now my new PR.
  • Half-marathon: 2 hrs, 56 min, now it is 1:32 (7:02 pace)
  • Marathon: 5:45, and my new PR is 3:58.
  • 50K:  5:35 to a new sub 5hr
  • 41.2 miles: 7:51 to a new 6:56
  • I breathe about as hard running 8:30 minute miles as I did running 13:45 minute miles in 2007.
  • My legs heal faster and my soreness is gone on the third day compared to being sore for almost 6 days after my first marathon.
  • I increased my long run from 2 miles to 50 miles.  That two miles seemed just about as hard as 50 at the time, at least mentally.

I am a new man.  I hope that this little changes that I have made can inspire you to believe that you can make sure strides yourself.  Thanks for listening.

12 Responses to “Progress in running and marathon #20”


  1. September 28, 2009 at 6:30 am

    You *are* inspiring – at least to me. I improved my 5K run time Sunday by 2 minutes. Small, but still an improvement. 🙂 It’s good to follow you and know that what I’m experiencing is normal and even an accomplished runner like you experiences similar things even after 20 marathons. I can’t imagine doing 5 miles straight, let alone a whole marathon. But maybe someday I will…

    • 2 run4change
      September 28, 2009 at 1:15 pm

      Oh yes claire, the running experience is much the same throughout. it is the ability to deal with the experience that changes.

  2. September 28, 2009 at 7:13 am

    Sometimes numbers like that stick out and are goals for us no matter how great we are doing. Big accomplishments like that are great milestones. Congrats on hitting this huge milestone and surpassing it!

  3. September 28, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    This post made me so excited. It’s this type of transformation that makes me keep my head up and trucking forward. You are truly an inspiration and a wonderful person!

    • 6 run4change
      September 29, 2009 at 7:58 am

      Sarah, this is that type of transformation. A possible one. A real one. A truly attainable life change. I can do it, you can do it, we ALL can do it. Thanks for your encouragement

  4. 7 Meg
    September 29, 2009 at 5:40 am

    You are a rock star! Your numbers and journey are so inspiring. Congratulations on reaching this milestone AND on the incredible progress you’ve made!

  5. September 30, 2009 at 8:36 am

    Wow, I can’t run a half mile right now, let alone a marathon, but I do hope to be able to someday. Congratulations on reaching such a huge milestone in your journey. I’m only one Day 3 of my journey to lose weight and become ‘an athlete with many accomplishments’, so it’s encouraging to see someone who has done what I aspire to. 🙂

  6. 11 Lochans
    October 2, 2009 at 4:59 am

    You are so inspiring Jason, its really encouraging to read your statistics and about your transformation experience. You inspire me to run, something I thought I could never do. I have long ways to go, but I am sure your story is going to be inspiring me and pushing me all the way.

    Congratulations on your accomplishments and good luck for the upcoming Marathon!!

    Lochans


Leave a Reply

