28
Oct
09

Taking care of ourselves.

massage and spaI often wonder why it is so hard for so many of us over-eaters to take care of ourselves.  I find it odd that many times we chose to hurt ourselves rather than build ourselves up with good choices and actions.  We may know what we should do but we still jump right into the false belief that over-eating, weight gaining, emotional eating, will make us feel better, cure our problems for the moment, etc.  Of course I don’t have the answer at all!!  I don’t exactly know why I do this or you do this but I do know that we do do it.  We act contrary to what we really want.  We act contrary to who we really want to be and probably actually are on the inside. 

Filling the gap with food is pretty much a compulsive and addictive behavior.  I am very familiar with behavior like this. HAHAHAHA  How do we stop it?????????????  I guess the only way is to develop good habits AND start a healing process for our inner world.  The inner healing process is of course the trickier part of the journey.  The inner world is what brings us to using food to cope.  Feelings of low self-worth, abandonment, shame, hurt, anger, fear, codependency, hanging everything on how other people feel, caring more about how everyone else feels and stuffing our own feelings.  All this stuff triggers our hopes that food will cure it all.  That food will be there when others aren’t.  That food will not leave us.  That food will not be mad at us.

Starting a couple of weeks ago, I really started on a deeper journey of this inner world.  I find that I so much of the way I feel about myself is based on my perception of how others are feeling either good or bad.  I struggle with all of the above issues and I am taking a stand against this head on.  I want to be healthier now more than ever in both mind and body.  I will begin to take care of myself.

4 Responses to “Taking care of ourselves.”


  1. 1 Angela
    October 28, 2009 at 6:09 pm

    Good Lawd, how true this is. Thank you for continuing on your journey of bettering yourself, and always searching for ways to learn and improve. You inspire me so much. And P.S. love the pic here, soooooo beautiful!

  2. 3 teresa
    October 29, 2009 at 11:19 am

    good thoughts, Jason. I hope I can figure this out for myself too. I’m tired of the struggle. I’ll be checking back to see how you are doing.


Leave a Reply

