05
Dec
09

Really taking what life has to offer you! Deep from my heart.

You have heard it a millions times in some form or another.  People talk about it all the time.  TV, movies, books……………  They all allude to it.  You only live once.  You have to take ALL that life has to offer.  Take life by the balls. Go for all you can in life.  EXPERIENCE LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wow.  What inspirational words.  What a way to live life eh!  Experience life.  I see a problem here though.  Honestly, I have always thought this way too, until now.  Oh yes, I still say experience all that life has to offer but that is not what MOST people are talking about.  Most people are talking about experiencing all THE GOOD THAT LIFE HAS TO OFFER.  Most people avoid hurt, pain, insecurity, and deep issues like the plague.  I used to be one of them.  UNTIL NOW.

We all have problems, we all have issues.  Nobody is immune to the bad.  In a sense, we are only experiencing half or some of what life has to offer.  Sure, I know that hurt and pain and issues are not fun or enjoyable but they do offer each of us more life.  Avoiding, escaping, avoiding, escaping really cramps your style after a while.  And in the end, it seems that you’re robbed of all you can be by escaping the hard times in life.  Facing the bad and working through it in a process towards healing is life changing.  How life changing is a vacation to your most fantasized destination.  It happens, it’s over, you have pictures, you have something to talk about.  But what I am trying to say is that humbly and humanly facing deep hurts is a most fascinating way to COMPLETELY CHANGE YOUR LIFE.

You are scared, you fear what is deep inside.  You enjoy escaping and avoiding it.  It can be ugly in there (you/me) but it is not bad.  It is a propellant towards change.  Real, lasting, and fulfilling change.  For example, I was fat and obese.  I know this as it is no secret.  Others might not even see it like I do but I KNOW it is there.  The issue is there but I keep avoiding it and trying to escape the pain of it being there.  The more I avoid and escape from the reality of it the worse it becomes.  I live on happy and content but DEEP down I wasn’t because I always knew it was there and I didn’t like it.  It was undeniable truth that I was fat. I was so scared of facing it.  THEN, one day I said F__K it.  This has to stop.  I must bear this pain, this humiliation, this insecurity, this fear of what my own choices have caused.  I weighed in at 307.6 lbs.  AHHHHHH!  It was over, but it had also just begun.  Finally facing it, finally admitting the reality that was right there gave me a fighting chance to heal.  To change, to be the person I so desperately wanted to be.  This never would have happened had I not faced the issue head on despite my fear and pain attached to it.  I worked through this same process with alcohol.

So, don’t get cheated in life.  REALLY, take ALL that life has to offer.  Reality is tough sometimes but it can be ever so sweet to receive all the gifts that it has to offer.  Don’t sell yourself short by avoiding and escaping the pains and the issues.  Dive in, see it for what it is, heal, live, change, become.  It hurts, I have to admit, but in the end you will become that person you REALLY are.

Have a great life.

8 Responses to “Really taking what life has to offer you! Deep from my heart.”


  1. December 5, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    You are writing some awesome posts these days, Jason. Seems like whatever pain you are going through it is making some life-defining changes in you. My father used to always say that the worst things that ever happened to him always turned out to be the best things that ever happened to him. Boy was he ever right. Often we don’t know it at the time, sometimes we do though. Sometimes, like what I think you are also saying is that by facing things we admit what we knew all along and were trying to avoid or deny.

    Good for you!

  2. 3 Sarah
    December 5, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    Great post, so very true.

  3. December 7, 2009 at 3:16 am

    so so so so true and completely what I tried to focus on this year.

    life is so ephemeral and none of us are promised a tomorrow.

    trite? YES
    true? for sure.

  4. 7 Angela
    December 13, 2009 at 5:12 am

    Life by the balls. Tee hee….hugs my bfadm.


Leave a Reply

