17
Dec
09

Time is short.

Today I am realizing that I don’t have that much more time until the 100 miler.  I am getting more excited.  Staying healthy and un-injured is my main goal for the next 50 days.  I will have some very serious long run weekends coming up.  I think I have 4 weekends of 55+ miles for each.  I have two weeks where my weekly total will be pretty high towards the end of this gigantic training cycle.  I have, in a sense, be working towards this goal for two years once the race hits.  I have been doing much more focused training this year for the 100 miler.  I am also getting more confident (while still retaining great respect for the distance) regarding my attempt to finish the run.

I am also starting to focus in my mind on what I will need to bring to the race.  I am going to need things like large quantities of my calorie drink,

lots of electrolyte pills,

duct tape,

vicks vapo-rub,

bandaids,

extra socks,

second pair of running shoes,

extra shirt,

some hand towels to wash my feet,

pain medicine,

flash lights,

2 head lamps,

Extra batteries,

and the list goes on quite a bit.  This does not include my regular clothing to wear on the plane.  I don’t look forward to the plane flight after the race.  It is going to be very uncomfortable probably and I will most likely be a bit sick.  So goes the world of ultra-running.  I always get asked the question, “Do you actually pay to do that!!???”  Yes I do.  I am paying for it but the monetary price is very insignificant compared to the time and effort paid prior to the race.  That time and effort can change your life, your body, and your mind.  No matter what happens, I will never EVER regret this attempt at a glorious life time goal.  My preparation season is coming to an end and it is time to reap what I have sown.

0 Responses to “Time is short.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

