20
Dec
09

Choice and growth.

I see the canyon above as a turning point.  A type of obstacle to life.  When you reach it, you have to stop.  You can’t jump across.  You can’t just jump on in and die.  You just stop there at the edge.  Yes, it is beautiful in the picture but the canyons or obstacles in our lives are not so beautiful sometimes.  Yet they produce the same kind of effect in me.  I reach an obstacle, then I stop.  Many times I don’t try and figure out a way THROUGH it because I am so disappointed that the obstacle is there in the first place.  I am finding that using the gift of choice that God gives me, allows me to move through the obstacles to a better place within myself.  Not only is the gift of choice awesome, but so are the obstacles as they remind us that we CAN choose.  The obstacle itself may be the greatest gift our lives can receive.

Since I have reached this gigantic canyon obstacle in my life, I have grown a lot because I have learned that I do have a choice.  I have a choice that allows me to grow.  I also have a choice to allow myself to go backwards.  That is why I call it a turning point.  I reach my canyon, then I have to choose.  Do I stay here and stagnate until I die without growing, do I turn back to old ways, or do I figure out my own heart and make it through, over, or across the obstacle.  I think I reach my highest potential when I choose to go through rather than the other two options.  However, this is not easy at all.  It is more painful in the short-term to start the process of going through it but in the long run it is much more painful to stay sick inside.

I guess what I am trying to say is that I have choices.  I can choose to grow and I have found that personal growth is ACTUALLY a choice itself.  I have to be conscious of my need for growth so that I can choose that path.  Looking back, I see that this is how it has worked everytime I made big break throughs.  I looked at myself and said, “look Jason, you need to grow.  Growing is uncomfortable.  You have to choose to be uncomfortable to get where you want to go.  Now go and make the choice to grow.”

2 Responses to “Choice and growth.”


  1. December 20, 2009 at 7:03 am

    Wow, what an excellent post, Jason, and what an excellent analogy. I’m sorry I’ve been quiet on commenting, but I’ve been following your posts. I admire how you are continuing to follow your dreams of running despite the personal emotional pain you are going through. I also admire how you are blogging about it and the life lessons you are learning along the way. If there is anything I can do to help, feel free to send me an email. You have a lot of supporters here in blogland!

    • 2 run4change
      December 20, 2009 at 8:02 am

      Claire, thanks for your comment. You comments are always very meaningful to me because for some reason i relate to you a lot. Or, maybe it is that it always seems like we agree. HAHAHAHA 🙂 I don’t know but I do know I love the comments. Thanks


Leave a Reply

