02
Jan
10

Back from vacation with a big post.

After 7 days of yearning that I lived in Hawaii, I am now back to reality. Well, I never really left reality, as it has it’s ugly way of sticking with you through most of life. HAHAHAHA. I had a nice vacation despite my loving situation. I went to Maui for the first time. I have been to Kona, Hawaii many times but never really had the chance to visit Maui so my wife and I decided to go somewhere new. We had went to the big island for our honeymoon and were ready to change it up. We planned a lot of fun for the trip. We had a fun activity to do everyday and on day at the end for massage and relaxation. I had a good time there. I really want to live there. It would be great but as we all know that living there and vacationing there are two HUGELY different things. No looking forward at all to going back to work on Monday. Dread it actually. I will go nonetheless though. We arrived in Maui on Christmas day at the Westin Spa and Resort.  The hotel was well equipped and very busy for the holiday season.

This is the pool area of the Westin Resort

The room was nice and the grounds were beautiful.  It was right on the ocean in Kaanapali, Maui.  The whole beach there is lined with resorts which is not really our style but we went for something different this time.  It was expensive too.  The vacation in general that is.  The hotel was pretty normal for what it was but it cost about 4.50 for a grande sized cup of brewed coffee.  DAMN!!  We ate at the buffet for dinner that night and it was pretty good but expensive as well.  Of course I still liked the all-you-can-eat aspect of it.  HAHAHAHA  I ate a lot on the trip but ended up staying the same weight over the whole vacation.  I also got my running in.  I ran two 4 mile runs, one 21 mile run, and one horrifically difficult 6 miler.  After the 6 miler I called it quits on running in 82 degree humid sun.  That was the hardest run I have ever done.  Maybe?

Day two was scuba diving with my wife and Shaka Doug.  Shaka Doug was a great guy and made the whole experience great for us.  He had this great “short bus” that was his scuba shop.  He took us to some great places to scuba and on our three dives over two days we saw MANY large sea turtles, played with an octopus, saw lots of fish, and actually saw three reef sharks that were only like 5 feet away or less.  Anyone going to Maui who wants to try out scuba for the first time or just go to the best spots if you are already certified should look up Shake Divers.  Shaka Doug will not disappoint.

This is the "short bus". It was an actual "short bus" for schools.

Day three was a leisurely cruise to Lana’i with Trilogy Tours.  This is a family owned outfit that was EXTREMELY attentive to detail and did a most outstanding job with the “sail” to the smallest inhabited island in Hawaii.  They fed us twice on the way over, fed us one full meal while on Lana’i, led us to great snorkeling, and gave an awesome tour of the island by van.  Another highly recommended company to use.  I loved this tour.  We saw uncountable whales on the way to Lana’i, many of them breached right near us and one was about 10 feet away.  It was awesome.

This is where we went for our sunset sail with Trilogy

Day four was another full day of scuba with shaka Doug.  It was a great time and he took us to this place that was just amazing.  The water was not that great and the visibility was not good but we finally got to the place where the visibility was about 80 feet.  It opened up a whole new world to my eyes.  The whole sea floor looked amazing.

Day five was the Kaanapali Zip Line.  If you have never zip lined before I recommend it.  I was scared.  VERY scared to do it.  But I did it.  I even jumped head first like superman off of a platform who knows high off the valley floor.  It was an empowering experience that I enjoyed and cherished so much.  We drove in a stinking hot van for 15 minutes up a dusty mountain road with 10 other people.  The van was packed and the guides were very sarcastic.  I recommend zip lining but the guides were not kid friendly at all as they CONSTANTLY talked about topics and joked in very inappropriate ways.  Very un-professional.  I enjoyed it for the most part but some of the other people were getting pissed off by the off-color humor and sarcasm.

Day six was a day at the spa.  We went to the spa at the Grand Wailea.  This place was not a joke.  They built the 55,000 square foot spa for some Japanese billionaire.  It was WAAAY beyond normal.  Very luxurious but it was neat to be able to partake of the spa facilities and get a massage.  The whole experience lasted about 2 hours but it was a great time and very memorable.  And yes, the lady in the special aromatherapy spa is naked.  Men on one side and woman on the other but clothing was optional.  My wife said almost every lady had a bikini on but on my side every dude was naked.  Kind of funny really.

The last day we went to the famous North Shore of Maui.  The surfers paradise.  Oh yeah, I forgot about my favorite time in Maui.  I got surfing lessons from this guy named Sharky.  He was my favorite part about my whole trip.  He was so nice and he did a great job at teaching us how to surf.  I actually did it.  Anyway, we went to the north shore to see some surfing before we left for home.  It was a good trip.  Maybe more pics later.

North Shore Maui

7 Responses to “Back from vacation with a big post.”


  1. 1 cecile
    January 2, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    Great pictures, I’m going to dream about Hawaii tonight and pretend I’m surfing or snorkeling.
    So glad you had fun. You both deserved a vacation with fun and relaxation. Sorry but we all have to get back to reality, its sucks though!!!

  2. January 3, 2010 at 12:00 am

    Last time I went to Hawaii, I went to Maui. I have also been to Oahu, but I love Maui. So pretty and relaxing. We stayed in Kihea. I was with my mom (who was about 87 at the time) so I didn’t get to do all the fun stuff you got to do! Glad you had a great time.

  3. January 3, 2010 at 7:51 am

    Love the photos! Looks like an awesome getaway!

  4. 6 Angela
    January 4, 2010 at 9:26 am

    Is Shaka Doug related to Chaka Khan?


Leave a Reply

