04
Jan
10

I couldn’t do it yesterday……….

I did 20 miles on Saturday evening.  It was the easiest 20 miles that I had ever done.  I had no problems at all and I was very comfortable the whole time.  I had no soreness from the run afterward or the next day really.  I had to do a 35 miler on Sunday.  I was feeling very down emotionally when I took my first steps out the door.  Basically, by the time I got to the .75 mile mark I was crying and just could not do it anymore.  I bagged the run and walked home.  It was not the best of days but it did end up better than expected.  I guess I am just a sensitive guy or something.  I had no mental strength to do that run. 

Some days you have it and some days you don’t.  I will keep on though.  Never giving up.

6 Responses to “I couldn’t do it yesterday……….”


  1. January 4, 2010 at 9:20 am

    Your honesty is refreshing about being unable to complete the run. I like knowing that some runs are better than others and that it’s okay to give yourself permission to bag the run if you don’t have it in you – particularly after a long run the day before!

  2. 3 Angela
    January 4, 2010 at 9:24 am

    Lord haste the day when I can do 20 miles. You inspire me so much!

  3. 5 the Ringmaster
    January 4, 2010 at 11:47 am

    How funny–I was just writing about a 20-miler that I probably shouldn’t have done but muscled through anyway. And I was really sore the rest of that day! It’s instructive, isn’t it, that some days the wise thing is to turn around and head for home. May God give us, along with the strength and health for endurance running, the wisdom to know when not to do more than we should.
    Hoping for better running in the days ahead, and more sunshine for you in general.

    • 6 run4change
      January 4, 2010 at 7:16 pm

      Sometimes it just happens that way you know ringmaster. I am hoping for much strength from God.


Leave a Reply

