09
Jan
10

Strong 6……8……..?………?

Since my last post I have had two good runs.  They were solid easy runs where I did not push the pace at all.  This week is very much about time on my feet.  This week as all about endurance really.  My entire weekend will be eaten up with running and work.  No time for fun this weekend.  Just run, eat, sleep………………..

So on Thursday I did 6 miles slow.  That run went pretty well and I felt good about completing a run.  Then on Friday I did an 8 miler.  This run also went very well but noticed some stiffness in my knee.  It was not really alarming but I will keep and eye on it.  It was kind of a bummer because it was like 38 degrees and pouring down rain for the whole run.  No optimal weather for running but certainly far easier for me than running in Hawaii.  So what is coming up today and tomorrow.  Today I am at work so will have to freaking do my long run aftwards which I have found to be very taxing to my ming and body.  I will be running 20 miles today after work.  Then, I will be getting home pretty late from that run to basically just go to sleep.  Early the next morning I will procedd to embark on another 40 mile long run.  This is really the main goal run for the week.  It is the most important single run to do but the entire 60 miles in the 30 hour period is the training effect I think I am going for.

I am going to change things up on this run.  I am going to try and eat more during the run.  I normally eat around 300 calories per hour while running and I am burning around 800 per hour.  This 40 miler I am going to try and eat some other types of food and more of my liquid drink.  I hope to crank it up so that I can see if I can handle eating more than 300 calories per hour.  This will help a lot during the 100 miler.

As far as my feelings are going, I think that my situation has changed.  I feel a bit more secure with my decisions to live healthy within my emotional and mental world.  I have decided not to let my situation hurt me anymore.  I have made my decision as to what I am going to do in it and it will most certainly be for the better without any doubt in my mind.  So I am happy for this new direction.  Very relieved.

On the weight watchers front, my sister has kindly invited me to get back on track and take me shopping for my weeks of groceries.  I have not felt up to this for at least a month and probably longer.  I haven’t even been to WW for at least one month.  Maybe like 5 weeks.  I just could not muster up the strength to go because this shit that is going on just takes to much out of me.  So on Sunday I will go shopping with my wonderful sister and she is going to make some chicken and tilapia while I am running that I will eat throughout the week.  I hope that this little kick start will help me get on track.

3 Responses to “Strong 6……8……..?………?”


  1. January 10, 2010 at 4:06 am

    Great plan! I love the quote I’ve heard at Weight Watchers meetings and from others. It is as follows:

    Today is the first day of the rest of your life!

    Like my daddy always says…you can do it!

    BTW – http://weightwatchers.com has wonderful articles and resources to help you online, until you are ready to go back to the meetings. Just in case, it’s called their e-tools! Even if you don’t have a monthly membership, there are tons of other free resources you can access without logging in!

  2. 2 Sheila
    January 10, 2010 at 8:33 am

    Jason, thanks for sharing your training details for your 100 miler – so interesting! Will be interested in reading how you do with more fueling during your training runs.

    It takes a lot for some of us to accept help. It’s a good, positive thing that you’re letting your sister help you with your food shopping/planning/prep. Really, this is healthy I think.

    Do what you CAN do until you can do MORE and go from there, right?

    Warm thoughts,
    Sheila

    • 3 run4change
      January 10, 2010 at 8:52 pm

      Thanks Sheila. I had a great time tonight going out with my sister for shopping, dinner, and much talking. I love my sister


Leave a Reply

