10
Jan
10

strong 6……8……..14………41.5

I had several days of heavy running.  I feel really good about it.  I discovered much about my body, my running, and my emotions.  I had a great experience doing all of these runs.  Extra special though was the LOOOOOOOONG one.  I of course LOVE those long runs.  I mean, sometimes I don’t look forward to them but they are so good for me I think.  I have to concentrate and push and step and walk and run and eat and drink and do it all again and again.  Pain comes heavy, easy , then nothing, then elated joy and amazement, then back do boredom, and on and on.  As many of you have read my knee has been bothering me.  I have never been injured.  I am still not injured thank GOD.  And for some odd reason I don’t push if I think I am about to be injured which has saved my running life many times.  This wisdom is contrary to my normal obsessive desires but I have such a desire to be a life long runner that I don’t want to jeapordize my future in running.  Not that I have a future competitively but I want to be able to run looooong in to the future you know what I mean.  It is an important activity for mind and soul and body for me.  Here is a picture of my knee and where it hurts.  Then I will tell you about my 20 miler turned 14 and then my 40 miler.

So there is my knee.  HA!  I thought I did not have really hairy legs.  Weird.  Anyway, on Saturday night after work I had scheduled a 20 mile long run.  I headed out and my knee hurt from the start.  It does not hurt real bad but I know that my knee is there if that makes any sense.  I had a couple of fast spurts across the street and a jump up to a curb that hurt VERY bad.  This caused alarm in my little heart and I called it short at 14 miles so that I did not do any damage that would hinder my ability to run 40 the next day.  Basically, I knew I could have finished the run if I shortened up my stride, went slower, and babied it but I did not want to chance it because the 40 is the staple of my running diet for the 100 mile race prep.  So on to today.  I got up at 7 a.m.   I had a fabulous mental and emotional break through.  It was exhilarating.  I was so happy to realize the things that I realized.  I felt totally liberated for the moment so I figured that would be a good time to go tackle the mental and physical trials of a 40 miler.  Once again, I headed out and my knee hurt right away.  It hurt a little more than the day before but I shortened up my stride and slowed it down a bit like I realized I could.  One step after the next, I made it to the marvelous moment at 1:54 into the run.  THAT IS RIGHT.   YOU HEARD ME RIGHT.  I RAN IN A BIT OF  PAIN FOR 1 HOUR AND 54 MINUTES BEFORE THE JOY CAME.  AT 1:54 ALL MY KNEE PAIN WENT AWAY.  NO MORE.  IT WAS GREAT. I proceeded to keep on keeping on until I reached home at the 41.5 mile mark.  I had to go that extra 1.5 just to put a middle finger up to my current life events.  I also went that extra 1.5 as a show of gratitude for those same life events.  I hate them but I appreciate them.  Does that make sense to you guys.

BIG MISTAKE OF THE DAY

I drink hammer nutrition perpetuem for my calories and hydration during my longer runs.  I usually use the orange flavor.  No problems at all.  This time I only had the delicious flavor of LATTE.  It tastes great but it has caffeine.  Lots of it.  So image drinking like a four shot every hour for 8 hours straight.  I almost had a fit out there.  At the 6.5 hour mark I could not take anymore in.  It was just to much caffeine for me and I have a HIGH tolerance as it is.  By the time I hit the 7 hour mark I was collapsing bad.  No water, no calories, and still running.  At the 38 mile mark I was dizzy, just about to throw up, and barely making it.  I did make it though.  I kept on.  Readjusted.  One foot in front of the other until I finished.  Then I had a king size fast break candy bar.  MMMMMM.

Total miles: 41.5

Total calories burned: 6,528

Total calories eaten: 2,080 (not enough)

Total hydration: 147 ounces

I was victorious again.  I only have 27 days until the starting line of my 100 miler.

3 Responses to “strong 6……8……..14………41.5”


  1. January 11, 2010 at 2:43 am

    Awesome! See, you are on your way to doing it!

  2. January 11, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Now that’s what I call working thru the pain. Amazing to think it just went away, must have just needed stretched out a little more.

    Did you ever in your wildest dreams think that you would be burning thousands of calories in a day? That just seems so huge for me, I get excited when I hit 300!

    Oh and side note:I won a 3month membership to WW-so excited! Think I’m gonna try meetings and see how they feel. Thanks for sharing some of your WW successes/misses.

    • 3 run4change
      January 11, 2010 at 10:50 am

      Thanks mendie. You are right. I get amazed sometimes just thinking about it. I never really would have dreamed of such calorie burning or miles before.. It is crazy. Have fun at the meetings. I am going back this wednesday


Leave a Reply

