17
Jan
10

20 miler done

I got my 20 mile run finished today.  I finished all on luck too.  I have two people in my life who know when I go on my long runs every time.  They are my sister and Audrey.  If I fall into too much trouble during a long run I am always able to call one of them to come and pick me up.   They have always been available to rescue me if the run goes way out of control and I can’t make it.  Well, today at mile 13.5 I called both of them and they were both busy.  they could not come and get me. HAHAHAHA.  Funny how things turn out.  So I had to forge on.  I usually don’t eat during a run 20 miles or less so I had only brought minimal water.  I was planning on stopping at the store for some candy to liven me up after they could not come and get me.  I felt in my pocket for the money that is ALWAYS there and I could not find it.  It must have fallen out.  Dang it again.  So I bypassed the candy and the store to forge on.  Finally, I reached home sweet home in one piece.

Lesson:  Sometimes only you can rescue you.

4 Responses to “20 miler done”


  1. 1 Audrey
    January 17, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    I would have totally came and got you! You were just too determined to accept my help. You drew on your inner strength and pushed through because you knew, somewhere, you had it in you.

  2. January 18, 2010 at 9:33 am

    That’s awesome…reminds me of a quote I have on my wall of motivation (in my last post) that says you have to quit waiting on someone to do it for you….be your own hero. Yesterday…you were that HERO! Great job!

  3. January 21, 2010 at 4:26 am

    I love your lesson learned SOMETIMES ONLY YOU CAN RESCUE YOURSELF. That is so true and I am facing that in a certain area in my life and it has taken me WAY TOO long to realize that only I can help myself this time. Thanks for that reminder and I’m glad you made it through your run.

    I was thinking about how you always find cool stuff on your runs, I’m thinking some other lucky runner is going to be pretty happy when they stumble upon your money.

    Have a great day today and be great today.
    Melissa


Leave a Reply

